We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIGHTMARE ON MACLEAY STREET”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Lodge Hotel
Ranked #168 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“NIGHTMARE ON MACLEAY STREET”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

In all honesty, my experiences at the Holiday Lodge Hotel in Potts Point has not only left me disgusted and repulsed, i have been scarred for life. Utter filth! And im not just talking about whats behind the reception desk. The lady at reception named SALLY was ghastly and unprofessional to say the very least. We were asked to leave a 150 security bond which was never mentioned in the confirmation email. The room was revolting - holes in the walls - tv did not work - bathroom was rancid. I was appalled at the bedding as there was 1 sheet on the bed - no quilts whatsoever - what little sheets we had were unsanitary. The email said checkout BEFORE 10.00am, although sally didn’t show her face until well after that time. My guests and I were forced to leave due to the fact we couldn’t wait around for Sally to stroll in whenever is suited her. We had to call Sally numerous times and were told to leave both sets of keys on the back of the door and she would deposit the 150 back into my account. When I arrived home, Sally called to say id only left one set of keys and would not be getting my bond back. Sally is liar, a thief and personally I think she is deranged. All I can say is DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL UNLESS YOU WANT TO BE DISGUSTED, ROBBED AND TAKEN ADVANTAGE OF.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank meganjh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    6
    10
    10
    46
See reviews for
14
15
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This place is disgusting. The workers are so dodgy and will steal your money. I cannot even describe how unproffesional they are. It is dirty, smelly and should be knocked down. i would rather stay in a jail cell! i was disgusted and strongly recommend for no one to stay there otherwise you will be extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nukeynat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

No staff on duty when we arrived at about 9.30am
Smelly corridors (like insect repellant)
Staff member requested 150 dollars deposit for room key (he didn't get it!)
Very run down outside and inside and not as it looks on website

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Everything about this experience was negative. The staff were incompetent. Despite paying for specific bedding requirements, the staff presented a quaint bunk bed and trundle bed configuration which was exactly the point of my paying an additional cost, which was not refunded. There was no tv reception. This "hotel" was the worst, most delapidated, ramshackled, eye-sore I have ever had the misfortune of staying in. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The beds are riddled with bed bugs, there were old cigarette butts and dirty tissues on the floor in our room.
the lady who runs the place was unhelpful, dismissive and rude at the best of times.
The television did not work.
there are termites that have eaten away the majority of the skirting board around the room
the sheets had not been changed on one of the beds from the last people that stayed, probably the reason for the bed bugs.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ahn36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed there during our world trip back in January. The owners were very accomodating when we missed our flight and we had to delay our arrival for one day.
The hotel itself is ok. It is very hot, they don't have any AC. If you can try to get a room on the street side, yes it is a little noisy, but you will take the noise over the heat in the summer time. The room never got cleaned in the one week that we were there. We had to ask for fresh towels after 4 days, which were handed to use without any issues. They could at least pick up the trash on a daily basis. The in room microwave had some issues. Overall the rooms are worn.
The Wifi, which is not free is spotty and had several issues.
The location of the hotel was good. It is about 5 minutes from the metro station and close to restaurants and shopping.
We would recommend the hotel to young travelers who are budget conscious. Overall for the price we paid and compared to other hotels in Australia I think it is ok.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the street side. Those are not so sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nola76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Hostel prices in Sydney are pretty steep, with many of them focused around Kings Cross. If you are travelling with one other person And prefer private/twin rooms, then this might be the accommodation for you. It will cost you roughly the same price as a 2 person room in a hostel, but it is quieter and you will have your own ensuite and tv in the room. However while it is clean, it is one of those places where the furniture hasn't been updated for 20years and the staff are generally never around did you have an issue (but they do give you a mobile num to call them). Wifi Internet is extra costing $5 a day or $20 a week. It's a 5 minute walk to kings cross but thankfully not in the middle of it like some hostels. Trust me when I said the place is a nightmare at the weekends! Unless of course that's what you're looking for!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philipstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
DeVere Hotel
#142 of 179 in Sydney
510 reviews
Surry Hills
Abey Hotel
Abey Hotel
#117 of 179 in Sydney
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City West
Woolbrokers Hotel
Woolbrokers Hotel
#128 of 179 in Sydney
139 reviews
Song Hotel Redfern
#123 of 179 in Sydney
375 reviews
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Lodge Hotel

Property: Holiday Lodge Hotel
Address: 55 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Lodge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing