We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i'd rather stay in king cross station!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Lodge Hotel
Ranked #168 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“i'd rather stay in king cross station!!!”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!! EVER...
FIRSTLY, about the room, We knew we had paid for a pretty basic accomodation, however this room was the size of someone's bathroom. i equate it to a jail cell in Thailand. The appliances provided were a tv from 1968, didnt work, microwave was the very first phillips from1953. there was a desk and small bar fridge, a rancid heater, and bunk beds, with minimal linen on them, uncomfortable pillows, bathroom was rotten, toilet seat was ancient, just DREADFUL

SECONDLY, we paid for three nights in a single room and we checked out 7 hrs later due to the woman's behaviour and abuse. She accused us of having more than one guest in the room and told guests to leave immediately if they wern't staying there, i felt like i was in jail and couldn't have visitors. She started swearing at us, saying we were sneaking people in to the room behind her back, but what sort of hotel doesn't let you bring visitors to the room?????. This was in the middle of the day!!!! she was like a warden from hell
Bottom line is do not stay there unless u wish to be taken full advantage of and scammed and ripped off, My cheap accomodation turned out to have cost me well over what it should have due to misrepresentation on the website of EXTRA GUESTS and cancellation fees.

Room Tip: read bedding configuration and price per person before entering or they ll start charging exta mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    6
    10
    10
    46
See reviews for
14
15
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Looked like an old run down brothel.
Place was disgusting and infested with disease.
We ended up leaving because it was so terrible I would rather sleep in my car.
I would never ever ever ever in 100 million years recommend anyone to stay here.
Not safe at all - definitely not safe for children.

Room Tip: simple, don't choose a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Mainz, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I could right a novel on how bad this place was but I will shorten it. First, our room had never been cleaned for 20 years. The amount of filth on the floor was soo built up that we had to wear shower shoes and turn off the lights so we could not see how nasty it really was. Second, the window was covered in mould as well as the walls, the showers, the floor, the microwave and the tables. These people who run this place are disgusting. Third, the window was broken, the door had fist holes in it, the microwave and all kitchen utensils were unusable becuase no amount of soap could clean them. I felt dirty just being in the hotel. Fourth, the staff was none exsistent, and were completely rude. I have slept outside and felt cleaner then I felt in this place. On the way out we saw the exterminator come to deal with the bug problem. No air conditioning and even if there was I would not use because you might contract TB. I would not let my dog sleep here. Furthermore, I have never written a negative review about any hotel, but this place needs to be condemmend. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

Room Tip: "This place is disgusting do not stay here"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We liked the location could walk to Harbour Bridge and botanical gardens.

Service non-existant. Bed comfortable. Two thin towels for three days - never changed. Noisy even after we changed to a back room. Garbage never collected or room cleaned.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kornelis356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This place was terrible, I have stayed in Sydney many times and enjoyed the place. This place, however put a dampner on the trip.
Staff were almost non-existent, the woman who eventually opened the door to us, immediately wanted us to try somewhere else as there had been a leak in one of the rooms (There was no signs of a leak).We wasn't happy with this and a room was found.Straight away! There seemed to be no one else in the 'hotel' whilst we were staying.
Ensuite was the worst I've ever seen and I do Bathroom renovation for a living.
Room decor was skanky at best.
This place needs to be shut down, fumigated and have some owners that give a s***t installed. It is in a great location, very close to underground, eateries, bars e.t.c. Still not worth staying in it's current condition.

Room Tip: Go through the door you came in, up the road and into another hotel/bed and breakfast/house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Beni81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

This hotel should not be called a hotel. It is utter filth and I would not wish this mess upon anyone, not even my worst enemy. The rooms smell like mould and the bathroom is even worse. I have felt distressed the whole time staying here. Upon arrival we found dead cockroaches on the floor with more popping up throughout our stay. The only good thing about this place is you want to leave the room all day. No air con/ dirty microwave and toaster. Do not stay here!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Traveller1010101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Paying for the location, it is old and dated. But clean and friendly. Ideal location, close to everything. And late checkout at no charge much appreciated.

Room Tip: expect basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank danien j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
DeVere Hotel
#141 of 179 in Sydney
508 reviews
Surry Hills
Abey Hotel
Abey Hotel
#115 of 179 in Sydney
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Song Hotel Redfern
#120 of 179 in Sydney
371 reviews
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
498 reviews
City West
Woolbrokers Hotel
Woolbrokers Hotel
#127 of 179 in Sydney
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Lodge Hotel

Property: Holiday Lodge Hotel
Address: 55 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Lodge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing