We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hunter Valley Wines, with limitations.”

Boutique Tours Australia
Book In Advance
More Info
US$226.09*
and up
Australian Wildlife 4WD Tour from Sydney
Ranked #14 of 89 Food & Drink in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you're looking for something personalised, flexible and unique, then welcome to Boutique Tours Australia! Our multi award-winning, small-group tours are designed to get you away from the tourist traps, and immerse you in authentic experiences - showing you the very best of Australia, on Sydney's doorstep. From our wine tours visiting the boutique wineries of the Hunter Valley, to our exceptional wildlife tours which take you into the bush to see Australia's "Big 5" in the wild. In the Blue Mountains we stay away from the crowds to show you the beauty and solitude of this World Heritage-listed wilderness area. Luxury vehicles and enthusiastic, informative guides create a tailored, real experience. Boutique Wine Tours - our focus on the smaller, boutique wineries of the Hunter Valley ensures a personalised, relaxed feel as we meet the winemakers and winery owners themselves. We vary our itinerary daily, depending on the preferences of our small group of travellers, while flexible lunch options allow you to join us for a fabulous two course gourmet meal, a quick, tasty cafe lunch, or to do your own thing. Winner, Best Tour Hunter Valley four times! Boutique Wildlife Tours - travel to the stunning bushland of the Southern Highlands, just 90 minutes from Sydney, to see Australia's iconic wildlife in the wild - kangaroos, koalas, platypus, emus, wombats and a whole lot more. This afternoon / evening tour includes lunch or afternoon tea (seasonal variations), plus dinner in one of Australia's oldest pubs, before night-spotting in the Australian Bush. Boutique Mountain Tours - get away from the crowds and see the world famous Blue Mountains as they should be seen - from remote lookouts and peaceful bush walks. A focus on Aboriginal culture provides insight into this fascinating ancient culture, with lunch in the quaint mountains town of Leura, and return by stunning Harbour cruise. Small groups only, limited seats so please book early to avoid disappointment! Winner of numerous Tourism Awards, including Best Tour Operator in NSW. Please - come join us!
Gata de Gorgos
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hunter Valley Wines, with limitations.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The company organises one and two-day tours to the Hunter Valley, with three visits to Cellar doors each day. Three of us booked the two-day version with an overnight stay at the Hunter Valley Crown Plaza. We were dropped off at 1530 on Day 1, and collected the following day at 1030. Cost was 400 Oz dollars each for the trip and hotel B&B: not cheap.
We had a different guide on both days and both were excellent, knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. The three visits each day were excellently organised: Ernest Hill, McGuighan, Mountain View, Irongate, Tempus Two and Lambloch. Good tastings. And informal visits to Cheese and Chocolate shops.
On the other side:
-we asked for a local pickup which was not available so we had a ten minute walk, only to find that the bus passed our front door on the way out of Sydney
- the bus on the first day was poor with bad seats and missing seat belts
- being left at the Hotel for so long, without our own transport, was an issue although the hotel was excellent.

Overall, taking the total cost into account, we would recommend just the single day option.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    50
    12
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unprofessional 100%”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our travel agency recommended us the excursion to Blue Montains during our stay in Sydney in July 2014. They were who booked with Boutique tours, and what was our surprise when we realized that the guide began to improvise the tour. He didn´t know what to do first, he only asked us what we really wanted to do. It can sound flexible, but the reality is that he didn´t know what to do, he hadn´t planned the excursion.
We couldn´t have lunch at a normal time because he hadn´t booked anywhere. And finally the worst experience was when at the return of the excursion the guide didn´t find our hotel to leave us. He spent more than 30 minutes going around Sydney and finally, in spite of our insistence to let us in three different places to go walking to the hotel, he refused and left us farer away and just stop the van when he wanted, five or six blocks away from we told him, and throw out us the van.
I regret to book this excursion due to the unpolite treatment.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonioesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiqueToursAust, Owner at Boutique Tours Australia, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We are sorry that your tour experience was not as enjoyable as it should have been due to the set of circumstances which occurred on this day.

It is a feature of the Unchartered Blue Mountains tour to offer a flexible itinerary with choices for key parts of the day. The group chose to take the Bells Line of Road through the Botanical Gardens and take the “back way” into the mountains. Unfortunately part way along the route, the guide was advised that the road ahead had been closed due to a car accident and he had to turn around and rearrange the whole itinerary. This extended the tour by approximately one hour and meant that the planned lunch booking needed to be changed due to circumstances beyond the guide’s control.

At the end of the day, a hotel return was requested instead of the River Cruise. The delays during the day caused the bus to arrive in the Sydney CBD in the middle of peak hour traffic with several stops to be made. The guide acknowledges that he accidentally took a wrong turn in an effort to reach the hotel more quickly but due to the traffic congestion this took a further 30 minutes to get near the final hotel. He could not legally stop in the traffic to let guests off the bus as was requested of him so had to insist that he make his way to the nearest safe bus set down area – which was still around five blocks away from the hotel.

We sincerely apologise for any upset that was caused and the circumstances that the reviewer found themselves in and trust that the group were still able to enjoy the sightseeing aspects of the tour whilst in our amazing Blue Mountains.

We respectfully ask that this review is considered in light of the specific circumstances and the content of other reviews for a balanced perspective on the consistently excellent quality tour experiences provided by Boutique Tours Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very flexible and adapted to our interests”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had requested a hike as part of our tour and we were very happy they accommodated us. Howard was our leader and he recommended an awesome 2 hour walk away from the crowds with phenomenal views along a ridge. He walked with us on the first part of our hike until there was no chance of us getting lost, then he returned to the van to meet us at the end. Howard also sprinkled everything we did with interesting facts about Australia and the Blue Mountains. We had a great day seeing the majesty of Blue Mountains and the company went way out of their way to adapt to our interests.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank gildagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annalise A, Owner at Boutique Tours Australia, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We had a lot of fun helping you put together your perfect Blue Mountains experience, so thanks so much for reviewing us and we're so glad you enjoyed it! Howard will be delighted, as will Francesca in our office who made the lunch all happen.

Happy Trails!
Annalise - Owner, Boutique Tours Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Magnifique with Boutique" - You cant get better”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

What a wonderful week-end we had with Boutique Tours to the Hunter Valley. Michael was our tour guide on day 1 and Keith our tour guide on day 3. Perfectly on time, every time ...... informative and extremely pleasant professional group of people. Happy 70th Birthday Keith.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annalise A, Owner at Boutique Tours Australia, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Frances - thanks so much for sharing your experience with us all. Always happy to pass on great reviews to guides, and I'm so glad you enjoyed the weekend so much. We really appreciate you taking the time to share.

Annalise - Owner, Boutique Tours Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgerton, Kansas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“These folks really took care of us”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Our tour was booked months in advance by our travel agent. We were Picked up at our hotel exactly on time. The guide and driver introduced all us on the tour, only 8. We were on a wine tasting tour of vineyards in the Hunter Valley near Sydney. The coach was clean and comfortable and the driver made comfort stops as necessary. We stopped at 3 vineyards and tasted wine at each. The staff was always expecting us and our group was exclusively attended to. The country was beautiful and our guide was excellent. I would highly recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annalise A, Owner at Boutique Tours Australia, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thanks for letting everyone know you enjoyed your tour Gary, and we're so delighted that you did. Great to hear that it all went smoothly so you had the chance to relax and enjoy your day.

Come see us again some time!

Annalise - Owner, Boutique Tours Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boutique Tours Australia also viewed

 

Been to Boutique Tours Australia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing