We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Let Down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Great Southern Hotel
Ranked #102 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 24 February 2012

When we were dropped off by the Taxi in the back street of the hotel this was not a good start, we then had to drag our cases quite a way to the reception desk. the Great Southern Hotel at George Street is listed as a 4 star Hotel not up to the standards of 4 star we have been in very disappointed. The Hotel does need a good face lift there was a lot of Old Memorabilia around the reception the reception desk area was a very small counter. The room that we were given at first was a very small and not very clean except for the bedding and towels. We went down and asked if we could be upgraded, the receptionist was not helpful saying that they had not got any other size rooms. After a big discussion the receptionist agreed to move us the next day after 15.00hrs to a suite at an extra cost of 300 AUD for 6 days 50 dollars a night this was a much better room. To go for breakfast we had to get a ticket from reception this is then charged to your room as the restaurant as this is a separate company.
We did have breakfast on the first day the food was not up to a very good standard and a poor selection, when seated at the table we noticed that the floor around the carpet area was filthy and dirty with dirt etc:.On this basis we had no more meals at the restaurant, the bar that was also run separately which done light meals midday and the evenings was excellent value and the the staff were excellent.
The location was perfect for the shops, central station and the buses. It was only a short walk to Darling Harbour and the Circular Quay and the Rocks , Harbour Bridge Etc:. The ferries ran to many locations and were excellent.
We found the reception staff were most unhelpful and looked like they did not want to be there except for one of the staff. It was unbelievable that what we asked for did not incur and extra charge or they did not do that service, even to posting a card which most places do they just showed us a map and said that is were the post office is. When leaving we were told there was a room we could put our cases but of course there would be a charge. Internet was also charged for. It really makes you think is the hotel being run on a shoe string being that they had to charge for every thing. NOT A PACIFIC INTERNATIONAL HOTEL OF OLD.
The Taxi mini bus that collected us from the back of the hotel was not very good the driver thought he was at Brands Hatch we were cramped in we leaping over the traffic control humps and everybody was very uncomfortable with his driving, glad to get out at the airport. Would defiantly not go to that Hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't know as the rooms were not very good okay for a one sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whiskey176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

804 - 810 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed here for one night upon arriving in sydney after a long flight. The location is excellent, 5 mins away fromthe central station. Our room was very nice and quite spacious. Our rate did not include breakfast, but there is a pubstyle resturant downstairs which does breakfast, so that was ok.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmb987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed for 3 nights prior to a cruise.
Because we arrived before 2.00pm our room was not ready - that was fine except, being made to pay for storage of our luggage until it was. I consider that a stay of 3 nights warrants free storage of luggage!!
The breakfast has plenty of selection but as has been previously commented on, is lukewarm and soggy AND expensive.
The room we had on floor 4 was not spacious but ok, was dark and gloomy looking onto a inner centrum of walls and windows. Very uninspiring and miserable. However it was spotlessly clean.
As has also been said, the location is perfect for getting around. Trains and buses all within a stones throw.
Would I stay again or recommend - no. You will find better and more exciting accommodation for the same money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cattylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

e stayed in a small very clean and very basic room.The location was great and we were able to explore Sydney from this base using excellent public transport that was easily
accessed from the hotel.I loved the wood paneled walls in the lift lobby.

Room Tip: My room had no view so maybe you should ask for a room with a view when you are booking. I will do t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emomum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

This is essentially an old pub (hotel) but has been tastefully renovated. The hotel is located just near the Chinatown and theatre area and is only 250 metres from Central Station and the interstate coach stops. The hotel is comfortable, quiet, clean and well maintained. A warning though - the rooms are small.

If you're simply looking for somewhere inexpensive (its often possible to get a room for $70) to use as a base to explore Sydney, then this is a great option. The restaurant offers a good range of quite cheap quality meals and you can relax over a few beers in the bar at the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the central section - no view but quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dooragan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This was the second time I have stayed here. Both times have been just a very quick overnight usually checking in after 9pm and checking out by 6.30am
I was impressed both times.

The location is perfect, pratically running distance to Central Station which is great for those early morning trains.

The staff are always friendly and helpful with quite a bit of knowledge of the surrounding area.

It is also walking distance to china town which is great for a late night meal.

Really well priced for how lovely and clean the rooms are and how close it is to everything.

Only thing I didn't like was the shower which in my room was over a bath which had quite a bit of a step to get up and over into the bath and back out.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mish84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

i love this hotel i stay here all the time when im in sydney,,,the rooms are fablous and its close to paddys...10/10...love it

Room Tip: ask for a room with a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecca w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Veriu Central
Veriu Central
#85 of 181 in Sydney
0 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#109 of 181 in Sydney
1,983 reviews
Kings Cross
The Bayswater Sydney
The Bayswater Sydney
#82 of 181 in Sydney
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#28 of 181 in Sydney
178 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Chinatown
Valentine On George
Valentine On George
#121 of 181 in Sydney
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Southern Hotel

Address: 717 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Hotel Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £61 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Great Southern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Great Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing