We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Great Southern Hotel
Ranked #95 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location! It is right next to central station and there is a free shuttle that stops right by the hotel that can take you pretty much all over the city. The hotel has it's own bar with an extremely reasonably priced and fun happy hour! Hotel itself is nice and new, the staff was friendly and helpful, and we really enjoyed our stay there!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mody3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,003)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

672 - 678 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

Sydney is expensive and central sydney is busy! A last minute trip made it hard to find accommodation for our first few nights (Saturdays are crazy busy and expensive). We chose great southern hoping it would be ok and it was fine. Nothing special but clean and central. We paid an average of $275 per night and it was one of few hotels that could offer twin beds. Other hotels were $375 and more if they were even available. It is basic and we had to pay in full upon booking no refund for any reason. No WiFi unless you pay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnyWestKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Modestly sized rooms, slightly expensive but a fantastic location - 5 mins from Central Station and Hyde Park

Breakfast is plentiful, good variety, hot and included in the room price

Staff are almost all excellent - only one grump spoiled the otherwise 100% good service

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohforfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I've just spent a total of 10 nights at the Great Southern Hotel for two separate work trips. For the price, The Great Southern Hotel is quite sufficient. Very central (about 2 minutes on foot from Central station, 5-10 mins on foot to the exhibition centre), friendly and helpful reception staff and clean rooms. Don't expect to be blown away, but for the price, you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biddiebride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed here for one night on our arrival before embarking on a cruise ship. The hotel is on George Street, which is one of the main shopping roads in Sydney. Not very impressive frontage with a couple of small glass doors next to a bar as its entrance. We arrived at 10am and were worried after over 24 hours travel that our room wouldnt be available until 2pm as we had only booked the one night following our arrival. We were fortunate that the room was available and we were able to crash out and get some sleep.
The rooms which are all above ground floor, up to 10 floors I think, were basic, but adequate for a one night night stay. When we opened the room door my wife and I both said 'circa Blackpool 1965'. The room reminded us of a B&B boarding house In Blackpool in the 60's. Basic but adequate. The toilet and shower room were very small but again adequate. I would not have wanted to stay there for any more than one night. The gap under the door onto the landing was about 4 cm so we heard everything and everybody that passed by our room.
Location of the hotel was excellent, right next door to Paddy's Market. This is a shopping mall with food court and five times a week stages a conventional market with stalls selling all the tacky souvenirs.
Being on the edge of China Town, many restaurants were available, with other options within a five minute walk.
On the day we checked out we were required to pay $2for each case to leave it in the left luggage. As seasoned travellers, we have come to expect that as a free service from hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RotherhamRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This is an old building hat has been converted into a more modern hotel. The room was very small with only windows near the ceiling but it was comfortable enough.
The thing that I thought was very poor was their service. I travel a lot for work and most hotels in Sydney have a 11am check out. However this hotel is 10am and if you want to stay longer its $10 an hour plus if you want them to store your bags its $2 per bag. Now I know these may not seem like large amounts but its the principle i though it was poor.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Yet another overpriced dump of a hotel in central Sydney. I can't believe I spent $250/night to stay here! The rooms are tiny and can barely fit one person, let alone two. The staff are not very helpful or friendly. The bathroom was one of the smallest I've ever seen in a hotel, with barely enough room to turn around in the space. And they don't even provide a hand soap for the sink or hand towels, which is especially cheap. Not to mention - you have to pay by the hour for in-room internet access? Ridiculous! The only plus side is the location - it's right on George Street, directly across the street from Central Station (perfect for getting down to the airport quickly and easily), and it's within walking distance of a number of fun areas in Sydney - Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Oxford Street, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roygbiv81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#50 of 180 in Sydney
355 reviews
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 180 in Sydney
2,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#30 of 180 in Sydney
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Southern Hotel

Address: 717 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Hotel Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £74 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Great Southern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Great Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing