We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic sleep spot, Central train handy.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Great Southern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Great Southern Hotel
Ranked #89 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Basic sleep spot, Central train handy.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

The room was small, one step up from prison cell. Not much to work with. Staff was nice and helpful, clean lobby and fair restaurant food. It is a block from central train, which is the best thing to recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    409
    223
    86
    49
See reviews for
108
361
127
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I have been staying at The Great Southern at least six times a year for the last 4- 5 years and would not stay anywhere else. The location is ideal just a short walk from Central Station and a bus stop at the door. Rooms are not large but quite adequate, clean and well appointed with spotless ensuite bathrooms. The hotel is quiet and you can be assured of a good sleep. A sumptuous cooked buffet breakfast is served in the dining room, and delicious meals can be ordered from an extensive menu from the bar at other times. The staff are friendly and always of assistance. The hotel also offers to safely store luggage on the day of departure for a small fee.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel in February 2014. It was a perfect location & 2 minute walk to central train station & Paddy's market. We could get any bus outside the hotel to circular quay. It was very central to anything in the CBD & capital theatre. The hotel was clean, minimum noise could be heard from outside. Although the interior furniture is older it is still comfortable. One thing is when we came back to the room one day, the cleaner had cleaned the room but is stunk of body odour, which was a little off putting. I would definitely stay at this hotel when I return to sydney in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank binky94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingara, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

breakfast was all you could eat so great value for the money.had a variety of different dishes so don't need to have lunch after eating this.will be definately having this again when we go back for a longer stay next time.

Helpful?
1 Thank karen z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingara, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

stayed there previously so went back again.first room was smaller but had a much better room the second time we stayed.only problem had to lift leg up very high to get into bath to have a shower.the room was very clean.the bed was 2 singles zippered together but was ok.the breakfast was good value. very close to railway station, markets,china town and cbd.will definately be going back for longer stay next time.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking markets so ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

3.5 not 4 star. Good location for train or bus. Very clean, decent sized bathroom, hand wash (no soap), shower cap, shampoo, towels, washers, bathmat (no hand towel). Bedroom has good lighting, bed comfortable, simple older style timber furniture (which we like). Small fridge, fairly basic tea/coffee making facilities.

Room 216 was quiet, does not overlook George Street, has no lift noise, a heavy curtained window as view is basically to other rooms. Back entrance (Thomas Street) is near the Market and easier for a quick taxi/vehicle stop.

We were given our room early at no extra charge which was great. Fees were $10 an hour if checkout after 10 am. Staff were pleasant and efficient.
Only criticism - carpet looked clean but was in need of a good vacuum, perhaps an oversight.

Room Tip: Room 216 was quiet, not overlooking George Street, no lift noise, not much of a view from window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maclaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Jetty, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

It’s our second stay at the Great Southern, chosen because of its proximity to Central Station. We were flying out the following morning so it’s a short walk from the hotel to the station.
China town and Haymarket are around the corner with a multitude of different eateries on offer. We grabbed some fruit before the markets closed and were able to see the Chinese New Year procession and fireworks in the evening.
Check-in was pleasant, friendly and efficient and our room 430 was clean and neat. The floor carpet however had several stains on it along with 2 highly visible square patches. The room provides a king bed (two singles pushed together) ample wardrobe space, spare pillows and blankets, table, chair, tea & coffee and a mini fridge.
The bathroom is huge and equipped for a disabled person. However, some of the wall fittings were loose, but we didn’t have to use them so it was not a problem for us. The shower had good water pressure and shampoo and body wash were provided. It too was clean and adequate. One fault was the lack of shelf space in the bathroom Regular travellers usually carry a small bathroom bag but there’s no shelf to put it on. This problem was the same in the room we stayed in previously.
One extremely annoying thing was the television. For some inexplicable reason, the sound volume on some channels was very loud to the point where it could have bothered guests in adjoining rooms. The sound volume on those channels could not be adjusted with the remote control so that meant we were very restricted in our choice of TV. I didn’t report it to the desk as it was a Sunday evening and I thought no staff would have been available to rectify the problem. Breakfast at the markets is substantially cheaper than the hotel and its only a 3 minute walk.
While the Great Southern is one of the oldest hotels in Sydney, and has been refurbished many times and I think it’s just about due again. The room and corridor carpets are starting to show their age. WiFi is available for a fee which is way in excess of the cost to the hotel. With so many travellers requiring internet usage its high time that enlightened hotel management absorbed the fee in the room rate. If we had been staying for a longer period, we would have chosen other accommodation that provided free internet access.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BL1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#73 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#103 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#99 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Southern Hotel

Property: The Great Southern Hotel
Address: 717 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Hotel Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Great Southern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Great Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing