We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile paying for a guided tour”

The Rocks Walking Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$21.64*
and up
The Rocks Walking Tour: the Original Guided Walking Tour of The Rocks
Ranked #26 of 341 Tours in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Tours everyday 10:30am and 1:30pm conducted by friendly local guides that specialise in The Rocks, and its surrounding areas, $25 per adult/ $12 per child departing from our office handily located in the heart of The Rocks at Shop 4a - Clocktower Square, Cnr Argyle & Harrington Sts. Conducted in intimate groups of no more than 25 people for a duration of 90 minutes at a leisurely pace covering approximately a couple of kilometres. Come hear stories about how ordinary people came to do extraordinary things and so began the British Australian story!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
auckland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worthwhile paying for a guided tour”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Glad we paid to do the tour as our guide (Bruce) took us to places in The Rocks that we would never have found from our street map. Family of 4 (2 adults, 2 teenagers) thought it was value for money. Bruce was extremely knowledgeable about The Rocks area and the convict history - obviously very passionate about his area of expertise. Very enjoyable tour.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank kasto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    50
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Informative”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Excellent walking tour (Friday, January 10, 2013) through the historical area The Rocks! The guide was outstanding; she was informative, engaging, and humorous with excellent pronounciation. Emphasis was placed on interesting historical anecdotes and highlights versus a list of dates; entertaining and unforgettable!! Highly recommended. (We would not have done the 'Bridge Climb' the next day, had she not talked about it in her tour!)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fascinating and well worth the ticket price!”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

As a history buff I loved this tour, as did all the members of our group. At one & 1/2 hours it might have been a tad too long for our kids (13 & 11), but we had enough adults that they could duck out for an ice cream along the way. The guide was very knowledgeable and informative, I learned a lot about the settling of The Rocks, the lifestyle of the time and the history of the buildings. This was not a "touristy" type thing (full of cheesy jokes, etc.), but an interesting, fact-filled presentation. If you are interested in history - I highly recommend this tour.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GalFamilyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tour”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about the Rocks area and the history of Sydney and NSW in general. You could tell that her information was taken from primary sources such as journals and documents from the time period. The use of pictures in the binder put buildings and streets into perspective. We didn't actually 'walk' too far on our tour as there were some guests who weren't particularly mobile, however, I appreciated that our guide was able to adapt the tour at such short notice and still make it an interesting and informative journey for all involved.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
186 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Informative, Well done”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We found the information provided, along with the accompanying pictures in the binder, very well done. We learned so much and were able to be transported back in time, to experience what life would have been like in the early days of The Rocks. It helped us connect many historical dots as we continued our touring of Australia. The tour is certainly worth the price charged, however, we found it very disheartening that three women attached themselves to our group (without paying) at Nurses Walk/Suez Canal and only peeled off just one stop before the end. During this time, they stood in front of us snapping their photos and poked their heads before the rest of us to see the binder. I am sure that the guide thought they had been with us from the start, but I overheard several of the group asking each other if they were part of our group. Perhaps placing stickers on the paid tour member's shirts would identify who should be having the experience of the tour guide and who should not. Left a bad taste in our mouths about the tour...but it was an excellent tour other than that.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank justmyopinion1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rocks Walking Tours also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Rocks Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing