We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, authentic”

At Bangkok Restaurant
Reserve with
At Bangkok Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #352 of 5,832 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good value, authentic”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Thumbs up from the wife and I, $50 for 2 starters, 2 mains and rice. Really liked the Khoa Pod Tod (corn fritters) and Phad Phed Ped Yod Ma Prow (duck and heart of coconut) neither of which we'd tried any else before!

Actually on this point, the menu is worth a mention as it's quite interesting, containing many dishes I wasn't familiar with, which suggests they are being true to their tag line "authentic thai cusine", so thumbs up there.

As others mention, the restaurant doesn't have an especially great vibe, its basically under a staircase leading up to the arcades and computer shops on L1 of the capitol theatre complex and the student wait staff were more interested in their phones (and friends) then anything else, but I think the price reflected all of this - its casual dining - you wouldn't go here for a date!

Ultimately the food we tried was really good value, no doubt due to a lot of direct competition in the area. And it was quite busy, on a Monday evening!

So would recommend as a place for an informal/quick eat, especially if like us, you have your heart set on Thai but couldn't be bothered to wait out in the cold drizzle for Chat Thai across the road!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisO81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    53
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly, inexpensive”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is not a place for an elegant dinner, or even one where you can talk at a reasonable voice level, but it makes no such pretensions: it is good food, served quickly. The tables are tightly spaced, so comfort is not a premium. If your goal is to eat well prepared Thai cuisine at a reasonable price, without the intention to linger, this is the place to be.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MHSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

A colleague and I were looking for a nice place for lunch that was not too expensive but tasty. We found this little restaurant and gave it a try. The food was nice and the service prompt, friendly and efficient. We will go there again and for a $10 lunch, you can't go wrong. Enjoy like we did.

Helpful?
Thank The67Yak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Below average food, non professional service.”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I'm usually a fan of Thai food and have eaten at many Thai restaurants (definitely over 20 different restaurants). We got chicken Panang Curry, the Tom Yum Goong, the seafood Thai Fried Rice, the Pad See-ew, and the banana Roti. The food took forever to come out and when it did, it was NOT worth the wait. The flavors were just not there and tasted like something was missing. As for the service, the waitresses would just stand there and talk to each other and not really pay attention to the customers. I was so surprised seeing all these positive reviews and maybe my experience was limited to just that service. I don't know. I would, however, return to order the Banana Roti which was absolutely delicious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food/service, poor location”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

The welcome, menu, food and service are really good. I had soft shell crab with sweet chilli sauce for entree and duck in red chilli sauce for mains. Both delicious and good, attentive, quick service. I was offered different levels of "hotness". Went for hot but not hottest and it was as I expected. However, the location in a mall with electronic games was noisy and detracted somewhat from the overall experience.

Helpful?
Thank Signalsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed At Bangkok Restaurant also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to At Bangkok Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing