We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent comfy apartment at prime central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks on Castlereagh
Ranked #79 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I love this place, it has all the food and shopping places within walking distance, as well as museums. There are free city buses that get you to the harbours to get to the main attractions as well as all around the city. Clean and good room service and just a couple of mins walk to central station which is 15 mins to sydney airport. Amazing stay!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the city and not the railway tracks for a more quiet experience and great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edmund_001_kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks on Castlereagh, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

We really appreciate your positive feedback. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave your comments.It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am delighted that we were able to offer you such great service and facilities.It is always rewarding to recieve such positive feedback. We do look forward to accomodating you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

662 - 668 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

The good: The staff were very friendly and the location is close to Chinatown, where you'll get good eats. That's about it.

The bad: Our room, in fact the entire floor, smelled like stale cigarettes coved up with cheap cleaning fluid. It was almost overpowering, a headache-inducing odor.

That possibly explains why our window was broken, held together with a clip, such that it didn't close properly. Perhaps a preious guest had ripped it open in desperation for fresh air. Unfortunately this meant that every time the wind blew (which was quite frequently on the 26th floor) it whistled and whooshed and sounded like you were camping on the side of the Grand Canyon. My friend, who stayed in another room, was woken up repeatedly in the small hours by the same problem, so maybe all the windows are just faulty.

The room also had a shared vestibule entry, so we could hear very clearly any time our neighbour came or went. Or breathed.

The Foxtel appeared to be in name only, as most of the channels were disabled.

There was a fridge and a hot plate, which I guess would be useful for some travellers, and tea and coffee facilities. The shower seemed to go hot and cold and was hard to master.

The area seems difficult for taxis - the one who brought us there from the airport said he'd never heard of the place before, and every time we tried to get one after that we were told to walk a few blocks because "they never come down here".

I stayed here as a business traveller, the room was booked for me by a host company. I wouldn't have booked it myself. Perhaps for budget travellers who need to be close to Chinatown, this would be an option.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank SystemE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks on Castlereagh, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay here at Oaks on Castlereagh.Thank you for acknowledging our helpful staff and the location. We value your feedback as this is how we are able to isolate areas of concern to rectify them for the future.I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused. I have followed up and addressed the issues you have mentioned in your feedback with the houskeeping supervisor and our maintenance officer in order to prevent them from re occuring. Again I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property again in future and show you a true reflection of the services we provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Location was good, close to the Hilton for the function and the reception staff were very friendly. The 2 bedroom room was very spacious and the rate was also good, but both showers were absolutely terrible. They either scalded you or they were freezing cold, there was no way to get the water temp correct and the shower head in the main bathroom was loose and was just running water down the side of the wall. There was what appeared to be a large water leak outside our room in the foyer and the carpet was wet with a couple of holes carved into the wall! Otherwise for one night it was cheap enough and close to everything we needed but if I stayed for a week, with those showers the way they were it would have been very bad! Oh and the traffic horns started around 5am, but that's again ok for one night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks on Castlereagh, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

We thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay at Oaks On Castlereagh. I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused.I have followed up and addressed the issues you have mentioned in order to prevent them from re occuring.Again I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

5min walk from Central or Museum stations or Hyde Park or the Sydney CBD. Room was nice, 2 single beds as ordered. Foxtel was limited in terms of channels. Enjoyed the indoor spa. Difficult to get into or out of the spa due the height of the step. Liked the hidden microwave mini kitchen. There is no restaurant but a great $10 brekkie a few doors up at the Internet cafe.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roachie1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks on Castlereagh, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave your comments regarding your stay with us.We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our apartment facilities and the location.We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I note a mixture of reviews of this hotel but you take as you find, I suppose. For us it was ideal, obtained through Wotif at a good rate for the Sydney CBD. Circular Quay is a half hour leisurely walk or there is a free bus about five minutes stroll away that circuits the CBD all morning up until about 3pm. Room was clean and spacious and equipped for self catering, if desired. Check in was quick and efficient but don't get mixed up with any coach groups or that might not be the case! We never noticed the noise that some have referred to but then we were up high and on the opposite side of the building to the railway line. There are food and liquor outlets in close proximity, incl a Coles around the corner.
Why not five stars? The room air con seemingly had a mind of its own and was noisy and there are no communal toilets in the reception area so if you are hanging round for a bus or taxi at the end of your stay, be aware! Would not hestitate to stay here again in future.

Room Tip: Ask to be on a high floor.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks on Castlereagh, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

We thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay at Oaks On Castlereagh.
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed our apartment facilities and the location.We are happy to know that our apartment catered for all your needs during your stay.It is always rewarding to recieve such positive feedback.We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We had a 3 bedroom apartment room 638 29 th floor with a great roof top terrace, it was fantastic. Everything was well maintained ,the apartment was very clean and everything was in great operation order. This apartment is in a great location to visit the entertainment centre and the china town and paddy market area. It was great value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks on Castlereagh, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave your comments regarding your stay with us. We really appreciate your positive feedback.We are very pleased and delighted to hear that you enjoyed our apartment facilities and the location..We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Great location, but unclean (mouldy tiles)bathroom. We booked a 1 bedroom apartment with a trundle bed as we had 3 adults, they only provided 2 towels. We will probably pick somewhere else next time. Location is perfect and can easily walk to entertainment centre and shopping precinct.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikki_purcell84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks on Castlereagh, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I apologise for the experience you had described in your comments. We are doing everything we can to rectify any issues in the apartments so it is helpful to receive guest feedback. I also note that there was a shortage of towels supplied in your room during your stay. We do supply towels per person so I would like to extend my apoligies for the error when setting up your room for you. I would like to welcome you back to our property so that we can have the opportunity to show you a much better experience than the one in which you described.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
#113 of 181 in Sydney
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#51 of 181 in Sydney
405 reviews
Central Business District
Veriu Central
Veriu Central
#152 of 181 in Sydney
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Castlereagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Castlereagh

Address: 317 Castlereagh St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#71 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £70 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Castlereagh 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Castlereagh provides guests with deluxe, self-contained accommodation and premier facilities, making it ideal for holidaymakers and corporate travellers alike looking for a luxurious base from which to explore the cosmopolitan metropolis of Sydney. Spacious fully self-contained apartments, most boast private balconies leading off the open plan living, dining and kitchen area. Whether you choose a studio, 1 or 2 bedroom apartment you are guaranteed superior service and comfort. Facilities include an indoor heated pool & spa, fitness room, table tennis area, outdoor barbeque area and secure undercover parking (fee applies). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks on Castlereagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regis On Castlereagh Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing