We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service Extraordinaire !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks on Castlereagh
Ranked #70 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We had family staying at the hotel for a very special birthday. I emailed the hotel 2 days prior to see if they could kindly supply a bottle of champagne, balloons and a card. They explained that they are not a full concierge hotel but would be happy to go buy it all for me and place it in the room. True to form, after several emails back and forth.....it was done and I had an email confirmation from them that it had been placed in the room. The Oaks staff was out standing and could n't have been more helpful and obliging. It made a birthday very special. It is rare to have people go above and beyond like that and I can't thank them enough ! Amazing service and human effort !!!! Thank you Oaks on Castlereagh !!!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks on Castlereagh, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your reveiw regarding your experience with Oaks on Castlereagh. I am happy that we could be of such assistance to you for the special occassion you have mentioned here in your reveiw. Please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything else we can do for you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

616 - 622 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

We had a studio room, very small kitchenette (2 pan cooktop, microwave, sink, small amount of cutlery, plate, glasses etc), clean room and bathroom on the 24th floor. It looked like it had just been done up. The openable window was great, meant it was a bit noisy, but enabled the breed to ease the Sydney humidity. Good location, close to central, walking distance to Chinatown, QVB and even only 30 minutes brisk walk to the Opera House. Frankly, you don't really need a kitchenette as there are so many great cheap and quick (takeaway) eateries near by. I was reluctant booking after reading some reviews, but it was more than fine.

Room Tip: Up higher to avoid some street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mapipem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks on Castlereagh, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at Oaks on Castlereagh. It is great to see that you enjoyed your time here and the use of your room whilst in Sydney. As you mentioned we are centrally located in Sydney CBD which is a great advantage. Our Team at Oaks on Castlereagh really appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We rented an apartment on the 18th floor. The overall space available, quality and condition of fittings & soft furnishings, and cleanliness, were all 'above standard'. However, the windows were only single glazed, and the consequent noise of train horns arising from the adjacent Central station, and from road traffic horns in the streets below, was all pervading; having donned ear plugs for the first time during 5 weeks of touring Australia, sleep quality due externally generated noise, remained poor.

Room Tip: Rooms on the West side would be quieter in relation to the railway station. In short, unless you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelJA767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks on Castlereagh, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay at Oaks On Castlereagh. Although it is dissapointing to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay due to the noise from the train, I am happy to see that the quality and cleanliness were above standard. I would reccomend that you request a room on the other side of the hotel to avoid the issue you had with the noise should you wish to stay with again in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We had a two bedroom apartment on the 23rd floor for five nights for 4 adults. We loved the spacious rooms, two bathrooms, kitchen and laundry. The pool and spa were great. When we arrived we had two king rooms but wanted one with two single beds, I called reception and even though housekeeping had left for the day, the receptionist came up and made the beds up. She was very helpful and friendly. We arrived at 12 noon and was allowed into our room immediately. The only problem we had was the middle lift was never working and we had to wait a few minutes longer for the lift. We had tickets to see Lion King and only had to walk one block, it was close to everything. We would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vdenny13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks on Castlereagh, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your reveiw regaring your recent stay at Oaks on Castlereagh. I am pleased to hear that you like your room and that you enjoyed your stay and we are happy that we could assist you through out the time you were here. We look forward to accomodating you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

special treat for family, "lets stay in a four star apartment" ??? well I can tell you this is NOT a four star and how it got this grading I would like to know. two nights cost $600+. I reported all my complaints to the receptionist and also invited her to come and look at my complaint but she declined saying they can not do that. She gave me a broucher with the email to send my complaint and straight a way I said the photo on it was a LIE. I agree with what ever other reviews that has been posted and it is about time this company was answerable to all these complaints, I myself would like compensation for the upset it caused for the beginning of my holiday to Tasmania. I was answered by email about my complaint and was offered when I come again would be given the best care... Well I told them there would be No chance of my family and I returning, and will consider if I will ever use OAKS company again. Please take tripadvisors advice and DO NOT STAY here. Yes it is a Sxxt hole

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suitcase09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks on Castlereagh, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you again for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your experience. Again I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. As discussed with you previously we would like to welcome you back to our property in an attempt to salvage the impression this has left on you. Please feel free to contact me directly on 02 8217 6200 to have this arranged.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Large Room with a bed and coffee table and chairs no other furniture , looks tired and grubby, air conditioner was noisier than the trains, most complicated front desk arrival ever experienced and parking the car was a real treat
This place is a real Sxxt hole

Room Tip: book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greg k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks on Castlereagh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is dissapointing to read such comments. Firstly i would like to apologise for the check in process you have described as being confusing, I have spoken to the front desk staff that were on shift at the time of your check in to identify the areas in which could improve to avoid confusion for anyone. I hope that this has not tarnished your veiw of the Oaks and I do hope that you would consider coming back to stay with us so I can ensure that you are allocated a newly refurbished room. If you are ever staying in house with us and there are any issues as mentioned in your comments please do not hesitate to call the front desk as we are 24 hours and our freindly staff will be happy to assist you to resolve any issues there may be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Situated right beside the Central Railway Station, the biggest and busiest railway station in Australia, is close to amenities and what the city has to offer, but it comes with excessive noise. Sadly, the rooms do not have double glazed windows or any other noise suppression. And trains in Australia for some reason blast their air horns upon entering or leaving or passing through the railway station - and man, they are loud! It's like a shipping lane! Blast after blast permeates your room, every minute. Each short but intense and big blast vibrates through your skull and shocks you into a levitating state from the otherwise quiet comfortable room. It's impossible to get a restful nights sleep. If it wasn't for the trains, it would be a reasonable place to stay, but it has trains and lots of them, so I won't be staying here again and wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barney_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks on Castlereagh, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw your recent stay with us at Oaks on Castlereagh. It is dissappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay due to the noise of the train. Please feel free next time when booking to call us directly to request a quieter room and we will be more than happy to try and accomodate your request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
#110 of 179 in Sydney
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4,387 reviews
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#49 of 179 in Sydney
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Castlereagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Castlereagh

Address: 317 Castlereagh St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#62 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £77 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Castlereagh 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Castlereagh provides guests with deluxe, self-contained accommodation and premier facilities, making it ideal for holidaymakers and corporate travellers alike looking for a luxurious base from which to explore the cosmopolitan metropolis of Sydney. Spacious fully self-contained apartments, most boast private balconies leading off the open plan living, dining and kitchen area. Whether you choose a studio, 1 or 2 bedroom apartment you are guaranteed superior service and comfort. Facilities include an indoor heated pool & spa, fitness room, table tennis area, outdoor barbeque area and secure undercover parking (fee applies). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oaks on Castlereagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regis On Castlereagh Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing