We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh the noise” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of APX World Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
APX World Square
Ranked #104 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Oh the noise”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Despite standard Quest decor and layout my room was shockingly noisy due to the poor seals on the doors leading to the balcony. In addition the service was more like checking into a hospital rather than an overpriced hotel. Won't be staying there again if I have a choice.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SBW09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Srinivas K, Manager at APX World Square, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at Quest World Square. Please accept my most sincere apologies for your dissatisfaction with your recent experience.

Your comments have certainly outlined areas for improvement and I have addressed each of the areas with the relevant department managers.

In the meantime; thank you again for taking the time to write.

Kind Regards
Karim El-Khateb
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    120
    67
    30
    31
See reviews for
64
85
21
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Our apartment was absolutely perfect. It was great size and being on 6th floor down side street nice and quiet. The staff were wonderful and so helpful and here we must particularly mention Kamal who couldn't have done more to help. The location was perfect for 2 friends staying 3 nights to see The Lion King, go shopping and enjoy the local area. Easy to get everywhere such as The Rocks by free bus, Darling Harbour a 10 minute walk, Chinese quarter 5 minutes and so many great shops and placed to eat all around. We felt safe wherever we went no matter what time of night it was.We had a small problem of being unexpectedly charged for 2 singles but the management refunded this when told this had not been quoted at time of booking, so excellent customer service.

Room Tip: Rooms facing onto small side street are quiet. You don't see so much of the sun but if you'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Srinivas K, Manager at APX World Square, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting to stay at Quest World Square and taking the time to provide us with your feedback pertaining to your stay.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have shared the same with all our team members. Positive comments such yours are also huge motivational factor for the team who strive hard to please our valued guest.

Kind Regards
Karim
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Due to a oift malfunction, our arrival was chaotic. Our after hours access was granted by another guest asvthe sole receptionist was away from the desk at the lift. Ourvallocated car park was occupied and we had to walk up from the basement thanksvto that broken lift!
Once ensconced in our room all went well. The room was clean and quiet and well serviced. Sadly there was only one breakfast kit in a room booked for 2.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Srinivas K, Manager at APX World Square, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at Quest World Square. Please accept my most sincere apologies for your dissatisfaction with your recent experience.

Your comments have certainly outlined areas for improvement and I have addressed each of the areas with the relevant department managers.

In the meantime; thank you again for taking the time to write.

Kind Regards
Karim El-Khateb
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We booked a two bedroom apartment, which ended up being 2 studio apartments with a connecting door. We had stayed at the hotel 12 months ago in a 1 bedroom apartment and found it comfortable.

The hotel this time had a putrid smell of garbage (the garbage chute was blocked) and no explanation was given of the smell to guests. Our rooms had new carpet installed that was all bubbled and not laid properly. The walls were filthy and there was also a large plaster repair near the front door that wasn't finished. The bed throw had stains on it, furniture was tired and looking old.

We mentioned to reception of our disappointment and the manager called. He said that they are in the process of painting rooms and that he would look at transferring us to a freshly painted room and would call me in the morning to confirm, we received no call?

The gym has poor facilities, there are free weights but no bar and the equipment is old. There are no towels in the gym which means that its not very clean.

The location of the hotel is central and easily accessible to Darling Harbour and the CBD. It is unfortunate that the property has been allowed to deteriorate to such a poor condition. Its not what I expect from the Quest group.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Srinivas K, Manager at APX World Square, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at Quest World Square. Please accept my most sincere apologies for your dissatisfaction with your recent experience.

Your comments have certainly outlined areas for improvement and I have addressed each of the areas with the relevant department managers.

In the meantime; thank you again for taking the time to write.

Kind Regards
Karim El-Khateb
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Was happy to stay at this hotel. It is close to Southern Cross Station which suited me and the shops are only minutes ride away. Our room was clean and comfortable. Staff were helpful and friendly . Would definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Srinivas K, Manager at APX World Square, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting to stay at Quest World Square and taking the time to provide us with your feedback pertaining to your stay.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have shared the same with all our team members. Positive comments such yours are also huge motivational factor for the team who strive hard to please our valued guest.

Kind Regards
Karim
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton Uk
Level Contributor
175 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

The location was fine as I needed to near Hyde Park and I know the area. BUT this is not a good area! Quite stroppy reception Demanding a $200 deposit when my credit card had been deducted over a week previously and they had all my details. very lame excuses given by the staff. A lot of disputes at the reception area over this, one family walked out! The apartment was well equipped the views terrible...,into neighbours living areas! The public areas were dirty and i did not use the pool as it seemed lacking a cleanliness standard. No business centre, but I made use of the internet in the next building run by a charming chinese helpful manager. My transport arrived to take me to the airport and could not park outside the entrance so I left without tipping him . So sorry...

Room Tip: can not advise any
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sidonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Srinivas K, Manager at APX World Square, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at Quest World Square. Please accept my most sincere apologies for your dissatisfaction with your recent experience.

Your comments have certainly outlined areas for improvement and I have addressed each of the areas with the relevant department managers.

In the meantime; thank you again for taking the time to write.

Kind Regards
Karim El-Khateb
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Clean, and a great location. Easy walking distance to everything.

But seriously, NO WIFI?? They claim to be a business centre, but in this day and age, which hotel/service apartment doesn't have wifi! Even starbucks round the corner has wifi!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Specopspaintball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Srinivas K, Manager at APX World Square, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at Quest World Square. Please accept my most sincere apologies for your dissatisfaction with your recent experience.

Your comments have certainly outlined areas for improvement and we have addressed this issue by installing Wi-Fi

In the meantime; thank you again for taking the time to write.

Kind Regards
Karim El-Khateb
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
APX Apartments Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Oaks on Castlereagh
#72 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Chinatown
BreakFree on George
BreakFree on George
#87 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APX World Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APX World Square

Property: APX World Square
Address: 2 Cunningham St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Quest World Square)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — APX World Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience relaxed and comfortable accommodation at APX World Square. Our property provides the ultimate serviced apartment accommodation in Sydney CBD. Located in the heart of one of the world's most exciting cities, APX World Square is conveniently positioned for both the business and leisure traveler. The property features a selection of spacious serviced apartments, comprising of studio, one bedroom and two bedroom dwellings. All our accommodations feature facilities including air-conditioning, laundry facilities, tea/coffee making facilities, fully equipped kitchens and flat screen TVs. Our serviced apartments are designed to ensure a productive and enjoyable visit to Sydney whether you are looking for long stay or short stay accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your APX World Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest World Square Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing