We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bar not the Hotel”
Review of Strattons Hotel

Strattons Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Strattons Hotel
Ranked #110 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Reviewed 15 March 2012

The bar was the only place in Sydney that I felt 'real locals' and not toiurists or business workers , were the customers. felt honest adn welcoming for an australian bar. Also did meal deals which were good for Sydney.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

First night in the hostel my room mate got bitten all over her shoulders and legs. We had noticed upon arrival that the doona covers had not been changed, but the sheets and pillow case were. When we returned to the hostel the second night, I lay on my bed for ten minutes and immediately noticed that I was starting to get bitten. The bites were itchy, swollen and red, in a lined formation and seemed to be exacerbated by heat. We took photos of the bites to show to the health department. We also took pictures of an actual bug we found nestling in the sheets. There were also cockroaches crawling on the curtains, which were directly next to the beds.

As well as an unhygienic dorm and an insufficient bedding regime, the hostel didn't have any kitchen facilities or internet access. The reception at World Square Hostel did, but that was located on a different street. Showering facilities were mediocre and there was no opportunity to hire towels. Security at reception for luggage was extremely lax. There were no suitcase racks in the rooms, or locked cages for backpacks. We had to leave luggage on the carpet, which was probably infested with bugs as well.

We booked a different hotel that night and reported the situation to reception. The staff member was helpful and allowed us to leave a letter to the manager.

It has been over a week now, and my bites have only just started to heal, but I'll still probably have scarring. The manager reimbursed one night, but I don't think that's good enough. We called the health department. This hostel was repulsive and I highly doubt that this incident will change any of their current cleaning habits.

Room Tip: Don't sleep in a bed without being absolutely certain there are no streaks on the sheets/the doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonikerNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I stayed here for eight days and it wasn't luxury but it was palace to sleep. It was right above a bar so it could get loud at night epically on the weekends. It was fairly clean and the beds were your standard rickety bunk beds. The upside is that they have free wifi but you have to walk a couple of blocks to access it in their main office. The area is really great, it is right down in world square and if your up for a little walking you can easily walk to the Harbour Bridge, Opera House and the ferries to all the smaller cities around Sydney. Overall it was a good hostel for the money and you can spend a fortune on accommodation in Sydney and at the Strattons you won't!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Casey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Have stayed at Stattons Hotel (also affiliated with World Square Hostel around the cnr) and been happy on both occasions.
Rooms were clean and almost quiet, bathrooms the same... as expected, it IS a backpackers' hostel, so come expecting that. Don't arrive expecting 5 star and then pan it... you may have to share the room with someone
I was very pleasantly surprised with the facilities, has a bar down-stairs, it's own recently renovated bistro (cheap eats and a la carte table service) and terrific pub service.
Museum Railway Stn and the main railway station, Central, are both within 5 min walks. George Street is a 2 minute walk. Darling Hrb, The Rocks and Circular Quay, Opera House and Harbour Bridge also are within an easy 15 minute stroll. Bus stops to Bondi and Maroubra beaches are a mimute's walk from the front door. Point being... the location is Strattons' biggest drawcard for me...
The hotel staff are always very helpful with local tourist information and attractions. A couple of bar staff are bi-lingual which is also very helpful.
For a cheaper backpackerish style, but also clean place to stop in central Sydney, this would be my suggestion.

Room Tip: be prepared you may have to share rooms as per most backpacker places
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

A pretty nice hostel right in Sydney. We found the prices were good, not too expensive. The rooms were fairly clean and quiet. Bathrooms were okay, kind of a weird set up, but for the price, they were good enough. The showers were pretty clean as well. Not as impressed with the kitchen, it was small and not as clean as it could have been. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. It was nice having the pub right downstairs, it was small and not too busy, and you got a really good discount on the food there. The best part by far though was the location. It was easy walking distance to both harbours and other mahor attractions, and right across the street from a major train stop.
Overall, this hostel had an inviting and comfortable atmosphere that made it worth the stay.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Krista Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
Thank pomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Placeringen er fin, men det er virkelig det eneste gode ved dette hostel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alberte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
#107 of 179 in Sydney
871 reviews
Central Business District
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#55 of 179 in Sydney
1,049 reviews
Darlinghurst
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#14 of 179 in Sydney
2,014 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
1,943 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strattons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strattons Hotel

Address: Strattons Hotel 249 Castlereagh St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: £18 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Strattons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing