We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blend of Hostel and Hotel, central, fair value, limited facilities”
Review of Song Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Song Hotel Sydney
Ranked #108 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed in two Y Hotels in Sydney ( this one is certainly better than Y central near central staion).
It is interesting blend between budget hotel ( ie.ie coffee, tea, fridge and tv in the room) and hostel ( i.ie hared rooms, communal kitchen and shared bathrooms facilities). As such it has pros and cons of both type of accommodation. All in worth staying
Pros:
-Blend between hotel and hostel,
-central location opposite Hyde Park, 3 min walking to Museum train station
- price was fair 80-100 $ ( more expensive than bunk in hostels but cheaper than double in most budget hotels). Twin or double room is better than 4 bed shared room ( but more expensive)
-communal kitchen,
-breakfast included and option to upgrade breakfast,
-coffee and tea provided in the room ( in twin and double but not in the 4 bed)
-comfy beds

Cons:
-Facilities limited,
-Not very backpacker friendly: limited communal space, hardly impossible to meet and get around with other travelers,
-Internet too expensive and not very fast,
-some staff were friendly some not

Room Tip: Shared kitchen is only on the 3rd floor, so if you plan to cook some basic meal ( kettle and microwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cezaryfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCNiederer, General Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Cezaryfree,

Many thanks for your kind comments following your recent stay with us.

I particularly appreciate your acknowledgement that you can find both accommodation with private bathrooms (our deluxe rooms) and shared bathrooms (our traditional rooms) within the hotel.

All in all we aim is to offer affordable rooms, with a light continental breakfast buffet included in the rate, right in the centre of town.

Kind regards,
Jean-Claude Niederer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,420 - 1,426 of 1,988 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

Staff- friendly and informative and flexible.

Continental Breakfast in the downstairs cafe is great, fresh and everything we needed and available til 1030am!!!

Checkout is 11AM which is a bonus so there is no rushing.
I paid $77 for the night for 2 which included breakfast. Bargain if you ask me for city!

We have an economy on level 3. It over looks the road. t's was very musty smelling with 4 single beds, a big window ( no blackout curtains just so very light ) and a built in cupboard.
The linen is fresh and the beds are comfy.
When booking the economy room remember it is just that - there is no TV, jug, sink or anything in the room. There is a shared bathroom for the floor which is tidy but old and tired and needs a major bleach scrub.
Room was was pretty noisy due to street frontage so take earplugs if you are a light sleeper.
Level 3 has a shared kitchenette with complimentary tea, coffee, fridge .. Ice machine!! There is a sitting area with table and chairs.

The others levels must all me ensuite rooms which i believe have tvs and tea making facilities inside.They have a lounge area on each floor.

I had mixed feeling when I first arrived but you have to look at it for what it is - In my case VErY cheap inner city accommodation with breakfast. I am not sure how I would feel if I had paid more money ( I did get it on special) but for this stay - I am happy.

If you just need somewhere to lay your head I would recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Nicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCNiederer, General Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Nicky L,

Many thanks for your review and comments which are very much appreciated.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to Y Hotel Hyde Park when you next intend to visit Sydney again.

Best regards,
Jean-Claude Niederer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Had an impromptu night stay in the city and all I can say is that you get what you pay for. This hotel was so bad that I actually stayed in my car overnight and left 20 mins after checking in.

Issues witnessed are as follows:

- Room given by receptionist was different from the one I had booked ( later corrected ) she put us in a Single bed room instead of a double.

- Shared bathroom for the floor was filthy.

- I was questioned by the staff as to why I wanted a copy of the receipt ( and only after a few attempts actually received one )

- Room was dirty and small, facility's are located inside your wardrobe.

- The entire hotel had a distinct odour that was not pleasant


All in all, a hostel would be a better option in this price range. Please save your money and don't be fooled into what they are offering. This was quite possibly one of the worst nights I've had after spending a few months overseas and coming back to that s.hole of a hotel.

What a joke and a waste of money.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Navy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCNiederer, General Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Navy12,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Y Hotel Hyde Park.

Please accept my sincere apology that your stay with us was not the positive experience that I hope all of our guests have.
I want to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel when you next decide to visit Sydney again.
Best regards

Jean-Claude Niederer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

On a hastily booked trip to Sydney to visit a very sick relative I chose 'The Y' because of its location to Museum stop (Airport train), and the fact breakfast was included in the price. I also appreciated the choice of rooms for varying budgets. As I was able to stay with family members for some of my stay, I actually booked into the Y for 2 nights on three separate occasions over my fortnight's visit. The first stay was in a double room/shared bathroom. Absolutely spotless facilities, room great, TV, fridge, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Laundry room on floor 8. Secure luggage storage in foyer. I paid extra on the first morning for scrambled eggs and bacon but never bothered after that as the 6 cereals ( inc.delicious meusli!) and 3 types of bread for toasting with jams, marm. peanut butter, vegemite as well as unlimited juices, coffee and tea was substantial enough. The front desk were incredibly helpful - making telephone calls on my behalf and advising on transport options. For my second and 3rd stay I treated my self to a room with an en-suite. Both rooms were once again spotless, the bed very comfortable and the laundry room came into it's own - $3 for an industrial size wash and $3 for 1 HOUR's drying in the equally large tumble dryer - Bargain!

I would stay again without hesitation and recommend the Y to anyone. I have to say I simply don't recognise the negative reviews in particular regarding the attitude of the staff - without fail every member of staff I met (bearing in mind I checked-in on 3 separate occasions over a fortnight) was smiling and ultra helpful - front desk, breakfast waiters, housekeeping. Good value for Sydney.

Room Tip: First 2 night stay, room with shared bathroom on Floor 8 - excellent Second 2 night stay, twin bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Masterelectrician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCNiederer, General Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Masterelectrician,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stays with us.

Your comments are very much appreciated and we are happy to read that we met your expectations on all fronts. I have already passed on your positive appraisal of our staff to the team.

Whenever you return to Sydney, please do not hesitate to contact us directly to make a booking.

Warmest regards,
Jean-Claude Niederer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is the third time we have stayed in the Y Hyde Park. The location is excellent, right on the corner of Hyde Park with easy access to Oxford St.

However the hotel needs some work. This time we had a king studio apartment. While everything was there it was very cramped and very old. There was no room for a second side table by the bed. The bathroom sink was missing some grout or silicone, the shower went onto the floor making everything wet.

We found and killed a cockroach one morning but housekeeping did not even move the body when cleaning.

We paid for extra wi fi in the room and this was only for one device at a time, while we could have coped with that it was very difficult to turn one device off so that you could use another.

A continental breakfast was included and this was only passable the service in the restaurant was OK but very crowded.

Housekeeping took more than 4 hours to make up our room one day and reception was overtly assertive in telling me that they were doing the empty rooms first for check in & that I was on the list--- I nearly complained to management about her attitude.

Would we stay here again? I think not there are other hotels in the area offering better service for similar rates.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2pinkducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCNiederer, General Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear 2pinkducks,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at Y Hotels Hyde Park.

I am sorry to read that you did not find all our services or facilities to your satisfaction.
Please accept my sincere apology that the cleanliness of the room was not up to the standard we strive to achieve.
Whilst I appreciate your point in regards to the timing of the cleaning of your room, and we do try to meet guests’ requests, it is true that we do prioritise resources to make rooms available for guest arrivals (from 2.00pm) and, on days when our occupancies are very high, this may delay servicing the rooms of our in house guests.

Be assured that I have already passed your comments onto the team.

We sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Y Hotel Hyde Park again in the future.

Jean-Claude Niederer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent however the rooms are very tired. What really lets this hotel down however is the staff. During our stay we had a few issues and on each occasion were shocked by how bad the service was.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matrhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCNiederer, General Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Matrhi,

I would like first of all to thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Y Hotel Hyde Park.
I am disappointed though that our team did not deliver the level of service that I would expect them to provide each and every one of our guests.

I value all feedback we receive as it helps us to focus on areas that need improvement. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail.

Thank you again for your time.
Best regards
Jean-Claude Niederer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Tiny rooms, less than basic amenities, moderate service, noisy A/C, poor window coverings that let in too much light, overall a poor experience. Questionable cleanliness, I kept all my bags up off the floor.

Seminar facilities were average, poor room layout, ok but not great.

Room Tip: Included hot breakfast was poorly prepared very average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkWebbOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCNiederer, General Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear MarkWebbOz,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Y Hotel Hyde Park.

I am disappointed that our facilities and services did not measure up to expectations and please accept my sincere apology.
I have reviewed your comments with my team, in particular those relating to quality of service, to focus on and ensure greater consistency.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Best regards
Jean-Claude Niederer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 181 in Sydney
5,369 reviews
Central Business District
Veriu Central
Veriu Central
#152 of 181 in Sydney
1 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#39 of 181 in Sydney
4,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#54 of 181 in Sydney
702 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#29 of 181 in Sydney
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Song Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song Hotel Sydney

Address: 5-11 Wentworth Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £40 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Song Hotel Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for hotel accommodation in the centre of Sydney which won't break the bank and leaves your conscience clear as well, then look no further than Song Hotel Sydney. Offering affordable 3.5* Rooms, Song Hotel Sydney is situated right in the heart of Sydney's action. Joining Oxford Street and Hyde Park, the hotel is walking distance from Sydney's major attractions including The Rocks, Opera House, Chinatown and Darling Harbour. Surrounded by shops, cafes, restaurants, bars, galleries and gardens, you'll never be short of something to do during your stay. Whether travelling alone, with a friend or family, we have a variety of rooms to choose from, all packed with essential comforts including FREE wifi, toiletries, tea & coffee, TV, iron and hairdryer. The cafe area with its welcoming atmosphere is open daily for breakfast, to meet up with friends or just to relax. With 24 hour reception and in-room safes, you are assured a stress free stay in one of the most exciting cities in the world. Check in time is after 2pm, Check out is before 11am. Day Luggage storage is available (limited space) outside of these hours for hotel guests (No Long Term Luggage facilities). Song Hotel Sydney supports the YWCANSW. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Song Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing