We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complicated hotel”
Review of Song Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Song Hotel Sydney
Ranked #102 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Manresa, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Complicated hotel”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Rooms are really small. Probems to obtain a proper invoice. No free internet access, and connection failed time to time, you must pay for a ticket that has few options,
OK for one night but not for a stay longer than this..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JosepSala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen P, Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear JosepSala
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback of your recent stay with us.
I note that you booked a deluxe Single room which is one of our smaller rooms mainly because it can only accommodate single bed and not a larger bed. You would have had an option to book a large room but we provide choices not only room type but budgets as well. I note that you had an issue with the internet; I am pleased to advise you that we are upgrading to a more efficient provider and if you book directly with us or via our website Y hotel.com.au, we can provide you with free internet during your stay.
Thank you once again for choosing Y Hotel Hyde Park and we look forward in welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    723
    449
    148
    143
See reviews for
329
423
348
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Had a double room which was great, comfortable and suitably appointed, I thought, for the price. I would probably opt to get an ensuite room next time instead of the shared bathroom, just for the convenience, but was a good money saving option this time around. My room faced inwards away from the road so had minimal street noise or noise from other rooms and slept very well. (am a light sleeper usually). Only problems was the blanket was a little grubby and the kettle leaked a little. Was really impressed with the continental breakfast with dairy and gluten free options.

Room Tip: Ask for inward facing room away from the road if you want something quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThinL1zzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen P, Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear ThinL1zzy
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback of your recent stay with us.
I am very pleased that you had enjoyed your stay ay Y Hotel Hyde Park.
I have noted the issue of the blanket and I will follow this up with my housekeeping department.
Once again thank you for your feedback.
We look forward in welcome you back when you are next in Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel is located in the city centre near to all the tourist attractions.
The rooms are clean, the shared bathroom is good.
had a pleasant stay at Y Hotel Hyde Park.
The breakfast buffet is included which is fair and you can upgrade for just 6 dollars.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Tejaswi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen P, Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Tejaswi L
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback of your recent stay with us.
I am very pleased that you had enjoyed your stay ay Y Hotel Hyde Park.
We look forward in welcome you back when you are next in Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The bathroom is not in the room. You have to go outside for taking shower. The hotel overall is not so clean, but the price is considered cheap.

The car park is inconvenience, since I have to park at Wilson's car park closest to the hotel.

I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eyeshunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen P, Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Eyeshunter
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback of your recent stay with us.
I note that you chose to book one of our traditional rooms with shared bathroom facilities, which as to have indicated was outside your room. You chose based on you budget which is fine. We provide different room types to suit most people’s budgets. Parking as you have mentioned is not on hotel property but offsite with a local provider. What we do provide is a discount of parking fees so that you so not get a huge bill after your stay.
Once again thank you for choosing Y Hotels and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next stay in Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San francisco
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Don't be fooled by the word "hotel" in the title, this place is a hostel, except it is not fun and has no charm. The standard double room was tiny and the sheets and blankets had stains on them. The showers in the shared bathrooms had two settings, arctic and volcano, however the water pressure was so poor that while one part of you was on fire, the rest of you was freezing. The heater in our room was broken and after we complained a few times it took the whole day for someone to come to reset it, which did not fix the problem. It took another two days for a space heater to be brought to our room, which really didn't make the room any warmer. Finally the heater in the room was fixed but I swear it broke again the next day, luckily the day we checked out. They also make you pay for wifi and at $8 for 24 hours it really adds up and it didn't even work very well.

The only good things about this hotel is the location, and the breakfast is pretty good if you get the $6 upgrade.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lehelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen P, Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Lehelm
Firstly thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stat with us. I am sorry that you stay did not meet your expectations. I will be following up in the issues you highlighted with my teams to find out where we went wrong and use this information for future training guides.
I am however pleased that you found our breakfast enjoyable and affordable. With regards to yours and other feedback regarding wifi, we have since made our wifi free based when people book either directly with us or via our website
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The front staff ( especially Christopher ) we're lovely. For $115 for myself and my two kids including basic breakfast this made a relative cheap comfortable stay for one night, any longer it might be a bit cosy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bridget Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen P, Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Bridget
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback.
A light continental breakfast has always been free when you book at Y Hotel Hyde Park.
It is a good way to start you day .
I will pass on you comments to Christopher.
I look forward to when you next stay with us.

Warm regards

Stephen Peace
Senior Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Dirty, old, minimal recent updates in the room, shared bathroom (which smelled awful), terrible customer service and cost us more than the 4-star hotel that was closer to cbd and in a better neighborhood. When we arrived we were so disappointed we requested to cancel at least our 2nd night and they rattled off their cancellation policy instead of even trying to work with us. The website I booked through offered to refund our money if the hotel agreed and the hotel declined. This place was well below my backpacking standards and so we walked away from our second night ($80+) and went back to the 4-star in surry hills for $10 less a night w cheaper wifi, better rooms and better customer service. Spend your money elsewhere!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank natalie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen P, Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Natalie W
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Y Hotel Hyde Park.

Please accept my sincere apology that your stay with us was not the positive experience that I hope all of our guests have.
I want to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.
I note that you booked via the internet thus you had a range of choices and prices as well as terms and conditions for each and thus without knowing exactly who you booked with makes it difficult to provide specific details as some of our rates do have non-refundable or cancellable conditions and therefore the staff would have been advising you those terms and not necessary the agent.
I am more than happy to discuss this further with you if you contact the Hotel direct.
Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel when you next decide to visit Sydney again.
Best regards
Stephen Peace

Senior Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#97 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,682 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#45 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Song Hotel Redfern
#116 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#115 of 175 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Song Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song Hotel Sydney

Property: Song Hotel Sydney
Address: 5-11 Wentworth Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Song Hotel Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for hotel accommodation in the centre of Sydney which won't break the bank and leaves your conscience clear as well, then look no further than Song Hotel Sydney. Offering affordable 3.5* Rooms, Song Hotel Sydney is situated right in the heart of Sydney's action. Joining Oxford Street and Hyde Park, the hotel is walking distance from Sydney's major attractions including The Rocks, Opera House, Chinatown and Darling Harbour. Surrounded by shops, cafes, restaurants, bars, galleries and gardens, you'll never be short of something to do during your stay. Whether travelling alone, with a friend or family, we have a variety of rooms to choose from, all packed with essential comforts including FREE wifi, toiletries, tea & coffee, TV, iron and hairdryer. The cafe area with its welcoming atmosphere is open daily for breakfast, to meet up with friends or just to relax. With 24 hour reception and in-room safes, you are assured a stress free stay in one of the most exciting cities in the world. Check in time is after 2pm, Check out is before 11am. Day Luggage storage is available (limited space) outside of these hours for hotel guests (No Long Term Luggage facilities). Song Hotel Sydney supports the YWCANSW. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Song Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing