We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sydney Royal National Park”
Review of Sydney Coast Walks

Sydney Coast Walks
Ranked #94 of 374 Tours in Sydney
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With some of Sydney's best natural beauty only accessible on foot, Sydney Coast Walks provides guided walking tours of the city's national parks. The privately guided hikes of Sydney Harbour National Park and Royal National Park enables you to reconnect with nature and experience the wonder of Sydney's outdoors. From easy half day and full day walks, to more challenging overnight hikes, choose a walk to suit your style. Full of interesting commentary including aboriginal sites, history and native plants and animals, you'll leave with a greater understanding and appreciation for the unique environment you're walking through.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Ian himself (co owner with her Wife Tara) put on the list for this indigeneous walkabout walking the Jibbon beach heading to Port Hacking point. Unfortunatly carving rock spot was not accessible due to maintenance work, an helicopter was carrying material up and down, security agent diverted us through a short cut in the bush whitch happened to show us an Awaesome View on Shelley beach !

Thank Cortopolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyCoastWalks, Owner at Sydney Coast Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for your review. It was unfortunate that on this instance the helicopter drop meant we couldn't access the site. This is the only time it's happened but the great thing is that Parks are improving the aboriginal carving site for future enjoyment. Cheers, Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

18 - 22 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

The tour was well organised and friendly but do not underestimate how hard it is especially on the last day after Burning Palms and the ascent to the lookout. Your last chance to be picked up is Garie Beach - take it if you have had enough!

1  Thank bushbowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyCoastWalks, Owner at Sydney Coast Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for joining our two day Wattamolla Hiking Tour. In our "Recommended Fitness" section about this walk, we include a brief that hikers will walk up to 16km (10 miles) each day and that it will be over uneven terrain, including walking on soft sand and numerous steep sections which some people may find challenging. Most feedback we receive is that this physical effort is worth the sense of achievement and challenge of completing the entire track. As you point out, it's best to be prepared, perhaps also with pre-trip training which we also recommend. Hopefully our friendly guide motivated you enough to get up that final hill! Thank you for the feedback. - Cheers, Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

With limited time for exploring I undertook this walk to enjoy more of Sydney's native green spaces at the same time as having an opportunity to learn more about Australia's early history.
The day was hot but a bag full of snacks and frequent water refuelling stops meant no one became dehydrated or over exposed to the sun.
Our guide was well read in local history, flora and fauna....so many facts to digest....
While enjoying a scrumptious healthy lunch we were able to enjoy views over to Sydney South Head and back to Sydney City proper.

I would recommend this walk to anyone wanting to enjoy a day exploring beyond the suburban jungle. Thankyou Ian and Peter for a lovely day:)

2  Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyCoastWalks, Owner at Sydney Coast Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience of seeing Sydney from a new perspective. Great pics too and we hope to see you again. Much appreciated. Cheers, Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I went on the South Head half-day walking tour and it was great. I have been to the area before on my own but the tales of history is what you don't get without this tour. Our guide, Ian, was very friendly and informative. Highly recommend to anyone who is keen on learning about the area + getting some light exercise while you're at it.

2  Thank christabelletani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyCoastWalks, Owner at Sydney Coast Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

It's the stories we tell that help connect guests to the land they're walking through. Really glad you felt this too and thanks for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was my first actual bush walk, definitely a winning experience. Our guide was knowledgeable and clearly passionate about the land we covered, pointing out wildlife, plants and some interesting local history. These guys have plans to cover a huge stretch of coastline in the near future and I'd highly recommend checking them out.

2  Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyCoastWalks, Owner at Sydney Coast Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thanks so much for your kind feedback and for sharing your photos - absolute crackers and they really capture the beauty of Royal National Park. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sydney Coast Walks also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Cronulla, Sutherland Shire
 

Been to Sydney Coast Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing