We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We loved every minute of our stay at Beach House...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Beach House Sydney

View from living room to Balcony, Reserve and Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from living room to Balcony, Reserve and Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
View from living room to Balcony, Reserve and Beach
View from Balcony
Apartment 1 is the floor above the garage
North Curl Curl Rock Pool
Come to See Sydney lit up  23 May  to 9 June
The Lagoon
Arial view Curl Curl.
The Beach House and Lagoon in foreground
The Beach House
1 twin/King.
The View (close up)
N. Curl Curl Beach to Manly
Apartment 3 bathroom
In and around Curl Curl.
The Lagoon
North Curl Curl Beach
What can I say?
Our Great Beach
The Opra House
Clean Surf
Play park accross the road
At Taronga Zoo
The view from Taronga Zoo
Our Beach at dawn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
barlowsus...
sussex
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“48 Tango Avenue, Dee Why, Sydney”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

At the time of booking we were told this was a first time rental and we would be 'blown away by it'...so it was a shock not to find it spic and span as we expected but is in fact an old 'Granny Flat' that has had limited modifications done and looked shabby, especially the bathroom with badly cracked toilet bowl, mould in the shower and signs of damp on the walls, no shaver socket, tiny wall mirror, dimly lit and old fashioned. The bed was so uncomfortable that my partner slept on the sofa while I endured the bed and woke with sore back every morning. The kitchen cupboards smelt musty and we had to ask for a Cockroach trap ...saw them scuttling in the kitchen going behind the cooker. Ants were a daily problem and had to be careful not to spill food, left out an open packet of peanuts overnight by mistake, the packet was crawling with them in the morning.
No air con..just a free standing fan in the living room,the dvd player didn't work but this was quickly replaced .

Young couple live above with a 3 year old and baby so noise started early morning but o.k. later in the day.The Wi-Fi is fast and nice wide screen T.V...BBQ and sunbed are available on large patio...yard is small but attractive. Careful of the slippery path outside of the flat as overflow drips constantly...bonus is the Zoo tickets....well worth a visit...Oh and a car is essential here as rental is at the top of a very steep hill and it's 80 steps via shortcut to buses and shops...something we wish we had been told about at the time of booking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wi-Fi...Sunbed and BBQ
Liked least: Cockroaches,Ants and uncomfortable bed.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2014
We are so sorry that your experience was not good and we wish that you had spoken to us at the time as there are so many things that we would have done to improve the situation for you, however many of your comments are valid so I will address each one by point.

I should clarify that this listing is not one of our usual beachside apartments, it was a newly acquired property that was initially intended for the more budget oriented traveller until we had the opportunity to complete full renovations (a full bathroom replacement and other upgrades are scheduled to be undertaken next month). Currently it is, as you say, a granny flat style and I am so sorry that you had higher expectations for it, I am genuinely confused about the “blown away by it” comment, it is definitely not how I would describe the property.

We were unaware that the Sealy Posturepedic bed was uncomfortable, it had previously been in one of our other apartments and we assumed it was good, now that we know otherwise it will be replaced. As it was a new property, we also did not realise the extent of the problem with pests, Sydney’s climate means this is something to be constantly vigilant about, we have since had full pest treatments undertaken by “Rentokil” pest control and will continue to do so as required.

It was an oversight on my behalf not to mention that the property would be best suited to someone with a car, although its proximity from the beach and Dee Why town centre is less than a kilometre it is located on a reasonable sized hill, I will ensure this is adequately highlighted in the future.

I am truly sorry that it did not meet expectations, I can only stress again how apologetic we are.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA, USA
Reviewed 21 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
Reviewed 5 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MarilynLa...
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Apartment, excellent stay”
Reviewed 26 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We decided to give this apartment a try as the hotels in Sydney were so expensive than when we last stayed there. What a good decision this was as the Beach House could not have been in a better place. The owner Joanne was so helpful from the start and she went out of the way to assist us if help was needed. She even took us into Dee Why by car to do our first supermarket shop.
We had apartment 5 which had one bedroom, kitchen and lounge area and bathroom which also housed a washer. Everything was very clean. The apartment had a beautiful view of the garden which had 4 chairs and table and a barbecue(not used).
The apartment could not have been in a better area. Manly was a 30 minute bus ride away and is such a beautiful place with gorgeous beach. Dee Why in the opposite direction was 10 minutes by bus and good for supermarket shopping at Coles and Woolworths. We went to Palm Beach which was an hours ride on the bus from Dee Why and where 'Home and Away ' is filmed. We were lucky that day as filming was taking place and we were allowed to watch and take photos. We went to Cronulla which is the only beach which can be reached by train and is a beautiful place. An added bonus was that you could get free Wi Fi in the apartment which was very useful.
When it was our final day at Curl Curl, we were quite sad to leave'. We would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending the Beach House to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful garden view
Liked least: Whenever it rained.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurtzFami...
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, everything you could need and more!”
Reviewed 3 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed staying here. We have a two year old and the house was perfect, with a safety gate for the stairs, anti slip mat for the bath, toys and beach stuff all provided. Clean and safe. Brilliant view, with playground and beach right across the road. Quiet cul de sac with a regular bus service to Manley and Dee Why Beach five minutes walk away. We highly recommend this as a place to stay for a family get away. The owners are right next door, super friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were settled in and had everything we needed. A great holiday at a very reasonable price. Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing...
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saudi Arabia / New Zealand
Reviewed 11 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing