We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Just For The Young” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sydney Harbour YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sydney Harbour YHA
Ranked #2 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not Just For The Young”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Even though my partner & I are on the other side of 60, we have loved our 3 night stay at his Hostel. The location is superb, our double room with ensuite was very comfortable & quiet & the self-catering facilities means your travel dollars go further. Our room (215) had a view of the Harbour. Each late afternoon we'd head up to the Rooftop Terrace to watch the sun setting over the Harbour Bridge, Opera House etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    314
    43
    9
    5
See reviews for
142
233
326
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

One of my favorite hostels in Australia. The view from the roof is unbeatable! The staff was welcoming and facilities clean. I stayed in a 4 person share with a shared private bath. I loved that you could charge your electronics in the lockers.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank kaitbe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

To be very frank, I have always been used to staying at hotels, be it cheap or five star so this was the first time I ever stayed at a hostel and didn't know quite what to expect. From all the other reviews, this YHA seemed to be very highly reviewed and central so I thought I would give it a shot.

Location wise, this is situated in The Rocks district and right by the Harbour Bridge. What you should know is that this isn't the most convenient of locations in Sydney, with the train station at Circular Quay about a 15 min uphill walk away. The Wynyard station is the better bet but still about 10-20min walk away. The times do not seem like much, but can be significant when you have a ton of luggage with you. As others have mentioned, the views on the roof can be quite nice as you have a panaroma including the Harbour Bridge and the Opera House.

I stayed in a 4 person mixed shared room and it was spartan (expected) and clean. There are large lockers or each bed and a highly convenient outlet on the walk next to each bed. The bathroom is ensuite and there are a couple other public bathrooms on the first floor. There is a common room with couches, tables, and chairs as well as a kitchen for everyone's usage.

One of the downsides that I found was that there weren't very many activities to encourage socializing, despite a bbq night or make-your-own pancakes, I think they could do a better job organizing some group events outside of the hostel. Overall though (after staying at a different backpacker's lodge later on on my trip), this YHA was quite solid.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gnowad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Sydney Harbour YHA, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi Gnowad
Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed the hostel.
There is at least one activity a day at the YHA for guests - usually in the early evening as that's when most people are around. The idea is to have something which give guests the chance to meet other guests, but then leaves people free to continue socialising after the activity.
We've just added a large big noticeboard beside the lift to help spread the word of what's on to guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cerrito, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Loved our stay here. We stayed in a private, ensuite room. We had great views of the harbor and light show; it was in walking distance to wherever we needed to go, especially the Opera House and ferries. The staff was kind and helpful. Their $7 breakfasts were ample and included any kind of coffee you wanted (or tea). Could not find a better deal for this area. We had friends 2 doors down the street at the Shangra-La and they paid 3x the price and came running over to this hostel for breakfast because they could get what they wanted for a whole lot less.

Also the hostel is in an archeological dig area with plexiglass floor over the site and had many displays of the artifacts dug up. This was indeed a unique hostel.

Room Tip: Get one with a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lfodea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I love history and could not believe that this building had the foundations/excavations of the original Sydney buildings in their reception. This was just my ultimate dream. Add to that the view I had of Sydney Opera House (just) and The Rocks and I was in heaven from the minute I arrived. I did upgrade after the horrendous experiences I had at other hostels on my trip which made it really expensive for a solo traveller. I had obviously discarded a single room on my initial booking because of the cost but I was so glad I did it in the end. Would I go back? I have absolutely no complaints about my stay, everyone was fantastic. I would love to go back however the cost is an issue but maybe it is relative to the cost of hotels in the area which I haven't checked out. Perhaps it would be better for families or friends in a shared room. But I would want to stay in The Rocks again and I get the feeling it isn't cheap here. For the first time on my tour - I really, really want to come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Sydney Harbour YHA, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Carole
Thanks for your lovely review and delighted that you enjoyed your stay. The Rocks is the priciest area for accommodation in Sydney and hotel rooms are upward of $250 per night. The YHA is the only hostel in this part of Sydney.
Sorry you had bad experiences in other places in Australia, but hope to welcome you back to a YHA another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Sydney Harbour YHA is a clean, standard Youth Hostel, the staff are helpful and the place is lively without being overly loud/crazy. Beds are comfortable and while it is pricier then most Aus YHA's it is still pretty reasonable. Location is splendid, smack in the rocks and then there is the view..... the roof terrace has the most fantastic view across the harbour and the opera house. Made even better for us as we were there during the vivid Sydney light festival, Wow totally worth it for the view alone!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RebekkavandenBos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was my third stay here and I was as impressed this time as I was before. The prices of the rooms are excellent, we paid $180 for a family of 5 with bathroom, which would be double any where else, (if you could find a room for 5 elsewhere). We were with a big family group for a reunion, and what a great way to do it. Affordable for everyone and excellent location. Everyone enjoyed the roof top, with amazing views over the harbour, and you are right there to stroll around The Rocks for markets, pubs or cafés or walk down to Circular Quay to catch a ferry. Location doesn't get better in Sydney. And all rooms basic but really clean and quite spacious.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leylondbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,009 reviews
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Harbour YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Harbour YHA

Property: Sydney Harbour YHA
Address: 110 Cumberland Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydney Harbour YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only backpacker hostel in Sydney's historic harbourside Rocks precinct! Explore Sydney's colonial history, walk to all the city's major sites whilst staying in the heart of the city. Multi-share and double/twin accommodation, all with en-suites and many with Harbour and Opera House views. Plus free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available). The place to make the most of your visit to Sydney! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sydney Harbour YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Harbour Yha Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing