We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B experience in the city”

Bellevue Terrace B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bellevue Terrace B&B
Ranked #44 of 59 Sydney B&B and Inns
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“B&B experience in the city”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

While it's been a couple of years since my visit, this was a most comfortable and pleasant B&B experience so close to the centre of Sydney. Had the whole property to myself and host very friendly when service required. Beautiful homeliness with all the comforts. Close to transport and wonderful restaurants at Glebe. Loved the décor of the English Rose theme - look forward to another visit when visiting Sydney.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 54Barb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    3
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
5
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at Bellevue Terrace three times over the past year when travelling with my mother. The twin room is comfortable and clean. Location is great but I wouldn't recommend for people with mobility impairments due to been at the bottom of a large hill!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Georgina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

There're some very good points about this B&B and some not so good to poor. The location for getting around is great, within walking distance of the city if you enjoy walking. Glebe is a lively place with a very good range of eating establishments offering cuisines from around the world. Buses are very frequent into the city and beyond.
There was always plenty of food with lots of choice for breakfast, but it's definitely help yourself and put your dishes in the dishwasher because you never see Heather or Rob, except very briefly now and then. My room was quite comfortable, though the bed creaked horrendously and the armchair is not all that comfortable. There is, however, the lounge downstairs with fairly comfortable furiture.
As others have mentioned, a bathroom shared with maybe 5 others could be a problem, which I didn't encounter because there was hardly anyone else there. It would have been a problem to me to have to share two bath mats with 5 strangers if the place was fully booked!
Another serious concern is that the place is kept locked up like Fort Knox. It's almost impossible to open to lounge windows and sometimes the wrought iron safety door was locked which could present a huge problem in case of fire. Although we each had a key to this door, in an emergency one doesn't always have the key on their person. This could be solved by having a key available at all times on the hall table beside the front door.
Despite my misgivings, I did enjoy my stay. I feel I got reasonable value for my money, but being an overseas tourist, would have preferred to be able to pay by credit card. It surprises me that a B&B in such a large city does not have a credit card facility.

Room Tip: The bed creaks whenever you move in the front room with a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NZTraveller666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We, a family of 6, stayed at Bellevue for 3 days. We had the whole house. It is very close the the Central Sydney, around 10-15 minutes walk to Chinatown, Fish Market and Darling Harbour.
The house is provided with plenty of breakfast food and we can use the well-equipped kitchen.
The nearby is quiet and elegant. You can also go to the Glebe Markets, which is held on the grounds of Glebe Public School, on Saturday.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenHui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My friend & I stayed at Bellvue in March 13 and were delighted with the accommodation, locality and at how easy everything was made by Heather. The accommodation is a 3 bed home which Heather looks after for the owner, she does a superb job. This is not 5 star so take that into account; but it is clean, well equipped and so close to the city. It was not booked out while we were there but there were other guests over our stay, whom we hardly saw. The one bathroom could be a problem if its a full house but there is a second toilet, and we did not experience any problems.
I will book this again, there was plenty of breakfast foods - very good if you're on a budget.

Room Tip: Pink room - two singles, Green room - double, (both at front of the house & fairly quiet) blue r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We booked rooms for a couple and single and loved our seven day stay. Heather and Robert are excellent hosts and provided a generous breakfast daily. The rooms are tastefully furnished and accommodation spacious, with bedrooms, shared bathroom upstairs and lounge, dining and kitchen downstairs. We practically had the place to ourselves at times and felt very much at home. There's easy access to transport to central Sydney or one can walk to the Fish Markets and Darling Harbour. Colourful cafes and shops of Glebe are five minutes walk away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cecelia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at Bellevue for 9 nights and had an absolutely fantastic stay! Rob & Heather are truly excellent hosts and we felt well cared for especially with the good breakfast spread we enjoyed. Great location and very reasonable rates! Its most certainly recommended to anyone who wants a clean, quiet, elegant yet value-for-money stay just within walking distance of the Sydney CBD.

Bill & Adeline Barncastle

Room Tip: The blue double room is large and has an excellent view of Sydney skyline!..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Glebe
Alishan International Guest House
Glebe
Verona Guest House
Verona Guest House
#12 of 59 in Sydney
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
498 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 179 in Sydney
6,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Terrace B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Terrace B&B

Property: Bellevue Terrace B&B
Address: 19 Bellevue St | Glebe, Sydney, New South Wales 2037, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Glebe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spacious, elegant townhouse Bed & Breakfast is situated on a quiet residential street in the inner city suburb of Glebe where you will find a great variety of restaurants, boutiques, galleries, pubs, and the Sydney University campus. Stay in an elegant home in Sydney's university district where you will find a friendly, personal atmosphere with a home feeling yet plenty of privacy. You can walk to the Fish Markets, Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Paddy's Market, the Powerhouse Museum and the City Center (20 - 30 min. Walk) Buses leaving from Glebe point road will take you directly to the City, Central station, The Rocks or Coogee Beach. Guests are welcomed to take advantage of the facilities on offer such as relaxing in the lounge or outside in the leafy courtyard as well as preparing meals in the fully equipped kitchen. Unfortunately the B&B is unsuitable for children under the age of 12 years. The properties has two flights of stairs, one as you enter the court yard from street level and the other to the first floor where the bedrooms are located. Therefore the B&B is unsuitable for guests with walking impairments. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing