We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great rooms”

Harbour Phoenix Serviced Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbour Phoenix Serviced Apartments
Ranked #94 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location, great rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed here in Sydney with family in late September 2013 for 4 nights. Great location, just across the road from Darling Harbour and the light rail to Paddy's Markets\Chinatown and Central station.

We booked a two bedroom room, and it was fine. Had a balcony out front, and although the road was quite noisy (it is Sydney after all), it was quiet inside. Not much a of a view from the balcony (only the Novotel across the road), but it was very pleasant of an evening sitting outside talking and enjoying the cool air.

The desk staff were polite and helpful. On-site parking was good, and reasonably priced ($28 overnight). Some bathroom mold on the shower tiles grout (as other reviews have noted), but that doesn't bother me. It wasn't grotty by any means.

The price was okay (split amongst family) for 4 nights and two bedrooms. It's serviced apartments rather than a motel. Foxtel was basic, but had a few NFL games on ESPN, which was good.

We ate out every meal, but had cereal for my brother's daughter before leaving the apartment. There was adequate cutlery and bowls. Room had a dishwasher, although it took us a while to figure out how to turn the power on (room key slot near the door in plain view lol).

Would have stayed here again in late October, but it was booked out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evanrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    14
    11
    6
    17
See reviews for
25
1
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed here in a 2bd apartment for five nights in Feburary for a mother/daughter trip with a g/f. Was a fantastic price for Sydney. Stocked kitchen with everything you needed including a full size fridge, washing maching (with powder) & dryer. Very good location with heaps of shops and transport close by. It was quiet, spacious and clean, except for the doona in the cupboard that had blood on it :( A shame we didn't get to really enjoy it as we were out exploring too much!

Room Tip: "Great for families as it has a great kitchen & laundry in your apartment"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank my3girlz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed at these apartments with 2 of our staff for a business trip. Although I had a confirmation email for one of the rooms to have 2 single beds we were put into an apartment with 2 bedrooms and 2 queen size beds.......not a good start! Our stove had a gas leak and spewed flames out very high, the foxtel didn't work then the fire alarm went off and our phone didn't work either. To make matters worse, when we rang the two "emergency" numbers on the front of the building they both went to voice mail. We would definately not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't even bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ntjackal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

I stayed here for a night with my gf and two friends before flying back to the states in March of 2011. The apartments could be so much better than what they are. Mold in the bathrooms, and an all around dingy feel. It was nice having two balconies and the location was nice, but I probably would not stay here again.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Max P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
912 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

I know Sydney hotels are pricey but this place is way over priced for what you get (or rather don't get). First of all our apartment was small and dark and dingy. Can't believe all the rules that are posted everywhere. Not exactly a "home away from home" scenario. The bed in the master bedroom is too hard (for me anyway) and is only a double. The bathroom had a nasty smell and there is no hair dryer. You get one toilet roll per bathroom and you have to pay $1.20 if you want any extra rolls. What the? The kitchen is extremely under equipped if you want to do more than just sleep here. All in all it was a severe disappointment and I wish I had not wasted so much money on this place. I cannot recommend it at all

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank BrisCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

We booked 3 nights at The Harbour Phoenix in November 2012. The apartment was dirty (an empty Cialis container was found under the bed), there was mold in the bathrooms and the couch was broken. Our son became ill due to the mold and dust, resulting in us moving over the road to the Novotel. I do not recommend this place. Spend a few extra dollars and find better accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bert5459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

I guess you get what you pay for. Good location but apartment very tired and in need of love. Carpet appears to have been flooded several times. Lots of signs up with rules. Beds ok. Keep your expectations low and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
City West
Woolbrokers Hotel
Woolbrokers Hotel
#123 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Phoenix Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Phoenix Serviced Apartments

Property: Harbour Phoenix Serviced Apartments
Address: 131-133 Murray St, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbour Phoenix Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Harbour Phoenix Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing