We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't have asked for better!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dunkirk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunkirk Hotel
Ranked #32 of 61 Sydney B&B and Inns
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't have asked for better!”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stayed for the weekend just been and had a fantastic time. From the moment we walked in, (looking completely lost!) we were welcomed and shown to our rooms, even had our bags taken for us. Great atmoshphere, CHEAP drinks!! Awesome food too. We wanted somewhere central enough but not in the middle of everything, an the Hotel was perfect. With a bus stop straight across the road and quick taxi rides to central areas it was just what we wanted. Rooms had everything we needed and apperared to be nice and clean. Only downside was the little wee bathrooms but not a biggie!! All the staff were very helpful and friendly as well!! If we are ever go to Sydney again we will be sure to book again (:

Hope & Skeez

Room Tip: Pick a room with an ensuite, bit more private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Machu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    16
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
16
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

This place has gone out of there way to make sure we got the rooms we needed after us having to move dates for work commitments. The rooms are lovely the service is grate what more could you ask for. Plus priced well

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tahni1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We have two babies they helped us up the stairs and where so nice this was a year ago and now where coming back for another holiday why would we go any where els they where fantastic and I love the old style room there beautiful so relaxing

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tahni1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

As I entered Kirk on Harris for the first time, my reaction was mixed - the pub had character, but as we headed up to our room... The carpet was stained and worn, paint was peeling and the skirting boards were layered with dust. Our room was on the second floor. The furnishings were a little tired, but on the whole, provided everything we needed. The room was clean, and we had a queen bed, table & chairs, a kitchenette, tv and ensuite. They also provided continental breakfast. For the price, it was great, particularly as ours was a short stay, with very little time spent at the hotel. The major bonus was the location. Convenient, just a few blocks from Darling Harbour, and close to public transport. The subsidised parking also added to its appeal. We were pleased with our choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimEclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This reminded me of some hostels we have stayed in. You can have shared bathroom facilities or an ensuite in the room. The only difference, there were no shared rooms.

When we arrived it took a bit of working out where we needed to check in. Finally we were served by the only person in the bar once he finished pouring beers.

The carpet on the steps which lead to the accommodation is very dirty. It is in need of a shampoo/clean. My first thoughts were if the room is anything like the steps we are in trouble.

We had an ensuite room which had the exhaust fan from the kitchen and the fans from the fridges right outside our window. Once the kitchen closed, the exhaust fan stopped. I guess it could have been worse, we didn't have traffic noise or the noise from the walk sign on the traffic lights.

There was a single bed and a double bed. The single bed had a phone book propping it up on one corner. There was no shortage of pillows which was great. Not sure how long since the quilts had been washed and the blanket on the double bed had a stain which was very off putting. There was a large flat screen TV in the room.

The kettle had been boiled dry so foreign black bits kept emerging from the boiled water. Luckily there was a microwave so I was able to use this for a cup of coffee.

There was a generous amount of tea, coffee, and sugar supplied. Breakfast was provided in the form of breakfast cereal and fresh milk. A fruit drink and some packaged fruit in syrup as well as some bread (toaster in room) and butter and Vegemite, jam, honey and peanut butter.
There was also some plain Arnott's biscuits to have with a cuppa. All very generous, I thought.

We returned on the second day to find our beds had been made but the towels were not changed.

I just felt like the whole room needed a good spring clean as did the bathroom. The toilet needed fixing. It did not work on full fulsh. The sink in the kitchen needed a good scrub.

Just because it is standard pub accommodation is no excuse for it to be unclean.

They have negotiated a very affordable rate for long term parking.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caramellokoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This large pub is split into different areas and rooms making it cosy and seem spacious. Food is cheap, very tasty and large portions. The pub has been modenised but still retains its character.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelbuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tara
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

It is standard pub accommodation, so I am not going to compare it to a five star hotel. The rooms are very standard but comfortable. Stuff is very used/broken but that is just standard in this kind of accommodation.
However, the rooms are serviced daily and they do an excellent job.breakfast is included (cereal and toast and preserved fruit) and tea/coffee facilities. Also each day we got Fresh towels,beds remade,so that was excellent.
Couple of minor gripes. First night I had a bit of trouble sleeping because there is a pedestrian crossing that beeps all night. Second night I had a bit of trouble sleeping because I have a massive phobia of cockroaches and there was one in the room.I didn't mind so much when it was on the wall but then it started flying around and I freaked and left the room. When I dared to come back in, I couldn't find it so hence the restless night. The third night I had returned from a wedding and was too drunk to care about any of this and had a great sleep!
The food down stairs is amazing! I had planned on going out to eat, but the food was so good, we just kept coming back. Also the staff were amazing. So friendly and helpful. They really made the stay enjoyable. So a big thanks to all the staff.
So all in all we had a comfortable stay. As long as you are not expecting anything flash (the price should be enough to tell you it's not going to be overly amazing) you should not be disappointed. After all we spent most of our time out and about and only came back to eat and sleep.

Room Tip: Some rooms have flat screens others old style so if that makes a difference to you ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhombchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
City West
Woolbrokers Hotel
Woolbrokers Hotel
#124 of 174 in Sydney
135 reviews
Glasgow Arms Hotel
#120 of 174 in Sydney
95 reviews
Macleay Lodge Sydney
#24 of 61 in Sydney
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Central Private Hotel
Central Private Hotel
#49 of 61 in Sydney
100 reviews
Glebe
Alishan International Guest House
Posh Hotel
#12 of 61 in Sydney
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkirk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkirk Hotel

Property: Dunkirk Hotel
Address: 205 Harris St | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > City West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dunkirk Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunkirk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing