We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served a purpose”
Review of Dunkirk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunkirk Hotel
Ranked #29 of 57 Sydney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Needed somewhere for a group of 3 to stay on a busy Sydney night and the family room did the job. Room was clean, however dated and very noisy. Could hear a lot of the traffic from the busy street below. No aircon and suffered from a lot of mozzie bites in the morning. The bistro food was great and the staff were very nice and friendly. Easy walk to darling harbour, the star and public transport. Overall no frills value for money.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Eden J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

We were welcomed by wonderful friendly staff and pleasant interior in the bar and bistro. But was then hit in the face by the smell and condition of the hotel hallway. Our family room was smelly and dirty! We had to buy air freshner. The tiles were just sitting loose on the bathroom floor. Missing shower screen. Dirty microwave. Dirty cups in cupboard. Stained carpet. Missing light globes, light didnt work in kitchen. Tv remote didn't work. The 'included' breakfast was white bread wrapped in glad wrap in fridge. And to top it off, super loud traffic (I know the hotel can't control that, but don't expect to get much sleep).

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The hotel does not promote itself as a five star so I am not going to comment on minor insignificant flaws. Very friendly staff. Room was clean and bed was soooooo comfortable. Bistro had great food and was cheap.The location of the hotel is great if you want to be close to Darling Habour but are not keen to pay high prices. Will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Veronica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed here for four nights during Ausrail expo in Sydney. Ideally located close to Darling Harbour and Convention Centre. Overall impression is that it's great value for money, great food and reasonably priced in Bistro but the efforts Dennis made to assist me in a requirement I had, a receipt for my accounts hound, was outstanding. Particularly as I had checked out early before anyone was awake.
The staff during my stay were friendly, attentive and good humoured. The accomodation was clean, tidy and well presented, as I was there for work, just what I needed.
I would highly recommend the Dunkirk Hotel to anyone planning to visit Sydney and explore from here, it's well located and has an abundance of pubs and restaurants close by.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hydraulic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I wanted a cheap place to stay over in Darling Harbour. Hundred bucks - nice bed, clean room, toilet down the hall. Why pay lots of money when all you need is a bed between two days' work?

Bit noisy, but that's the neigbourhood. Walk to Darling Hbr, Maritime Museum, Star City, in 5 mins.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Dennis the owner and other staff did everything to make our stay wonderful. On Sunday morning Dennis organised for our breakfast to be cooked earlier than the 10am opening from the Bistro so we could get on with our day - and lit the open fire for us as well. Our coffees arrived very quickly along with a jug of water and glasses we hadn't even requested. The meal serving had lashings of bacon, eggs to perfection, tomato, sausage and a hash brown. (10% disc as well)
For proximity to Darling Harbour and price you will be hard pressed to do as well let alone better.

Room Tip: Room 6 is at the end of the hallway and at the back of the hotel - a great night's sleep (a quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stayed for the weekend just been and had a fantastic time. From the moment we walked in, (looking completely lost!) we were welcomed and shown to our rooms, even had our bags taken for us. Great atmoshphere, CHEAP drinks!! Awesome food too. We wanted somewhere central enough but not in the middle of everything, an the Hotel was perfect. With a bus stop straight across the road and quick taxi rides to central areas it was just what we wanted. Rooms had everything we needed and apperared to be nice and clean. Only downside was the little wee bathrooms but not a biggie!! All the staff were very helpful and friendly as well!! If we are ever go to Sydney again we will be sure to book again (:

Hope & Skeez

Room Tip: Pick a room with an ensuite, bit more private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Machu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
City West
Woolbrokers Hotel
Woolbrokers Hotel
#127 of 179 in Sydney
144 reviews
Glasgow Arms Hotel
#124 of 179 in Sydney
103 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kings Cross
The Bayswater Sydney
The Bayswater Sydney
#81 of 179 in Sydney
1,061 reviews
Surry Hills
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#21 of 57 in Sydney
45 reviews
Glebe
Verona Guest House
Verona Guest House
#10 of 57 in Sydney
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkirk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkirk Hotel

Address: 205 Harris St | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > City West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: £50 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dunkirk Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dunkirk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing