We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Automobile Club of Australia Accommodation
Nearby Hotels
US$241
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$133
US$122
ibis
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Travelodge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)
US$119
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$241
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$157
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
QT Sydney(Sydney)
US$230
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$221
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$295
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
14
15
9
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
15
9
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscahill expresswayharbour view restauranttop floorcircular quaysfabulous locationsydney opera housewould definitely stay here againbotanical gardensracareciprocalferriesbridgefurniture
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

A classical building in the heart of Sydney's south CBD just minutes walk from the Botanic Gardens and Circular Quay. Calm surroundings, a restaurant with wonderful views of the bridge and gardens. Some road and rail noise but overall a fantastic facility.

Room Tip: The rooms with bridge views are also near a main road and railway.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PW1T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed as reciprocal guests from the Victory Services Club in London (£100 a night in central London!), and moved rooms once as we left for a trip to Melbourne in the middle. The staff are extremely friendly, competent and helpful. The early 1900's decor is still attractive, although as one might imagine, certain facilities are very dated (note - especially the downstairs 3rd floor gentleman's). Useful computer centre was much appreciated, as was universal WiFi.
If there is a weak spot in the accommodation, its the bathrooms, which are very close to what was there in the original building in 1900's I would imagine. Fully understand the cost of a make-over, and it adds to the quaintness, but for the amount charged, not really acceptable.
Breakfast was buffet-style, but very complete and good quality. We had room service a couple of times, and were surprised not to be offered any preserves for the toast… its not an option on the room service form so you have to write it in yourself I was told!
Overall, it was a pleasant and convenient place to stay, although at AU$ 250 a night, not exactly a bargain.
Finally, beware of rooms that are anywhere near the train line from Circular Key. They are obliged, even during the late-night and early morning, to sound their klaxon when entering into the tunnel just below those rooms. All evening long…...

Room Tip: Keep away from the trains !!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RocketmanGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Restaurant and service at RACA was outstanding. Truly a world class establishment. My wife and I enjoyed the dinner and wine and also took part in playing the game of snooker. Very enjoyable. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyJackk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

For a long time I was holding meetings in various locations but found the RACA club. The club is very central and next to circular quay rail station and also ferries and busses. Parking also within the club. Recently I have been holding business dinner with colleagues at the club and booking interstate colleagues into the accommodation. I find the RACA a nice location with a quite charming environment to talk and discuss projects. Very central, nice people and well worth the investment. I highly recommend the RACA as a convenient place to hold small meetings.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank tedegan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Have just spent three nights (mid August) here as members of a reiprocal English club. Friendly and efficient service, lovely deluxe room (street facing) with huge bed, sofa and armchairs, rollaway bed. Amazing double glazing as no road noise at all. Spectacular bridge views from dining room. Dated decor (1930s-60s) but charming. Very nice food in bar and reasonable prices. Lift to the car park taked you our directly on foot to Circular Quay. Botanic gardens are across the road. Shopping streets a short walk away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madmaisie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews