We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hostel in Central Sydney”
Review of Bounce Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bounce Sydney
Ranked #3 of 149 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The location of Bounce Hostel is bang opposite Central Station in Sydney and thereby making it in walking distance to Market City, George Street and Elizabeth Street. The central location notwithstanding, the environ is so very quiet and calm, which makes the stay relaxing and making you feel wanting to get to the room after a long day of roaming around across all tourist-y attractions of Sydney. The jewel in the crown of Bounce Hostel is the attitude of the staff - really very friendly, warm and receptive, supportive and guiding. For us, as a family with young children, coming into Oz for the first time, the support we received was truly overwhelming. Be blessed and be this way always. And about the facilities - I would call them awesome, theme parties, internet on tap, laundry facilities and nicely furnished rooms - all making for a very cute package.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gopisuhasini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hostel is good, with an awesome kitchen and a cool common area. However, I've stayed in some hostels nearly as good as Bounce paying less. Also, if you want to use the internet there's an extra charge for it.
The location is good due to its proximity to the Central Station, but it's not very close to supermarkets and beaches.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaioMagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This place is awesome! I met the most fantastic people (including my partner) and made life long friends. Thus is a place you go to find people to travel. We met a group of people we then shared an apartment with. The staff are great, the room clean and the rooftop a great place to meet people while taking in the view of Sydney, for the money this place scores a 10 in my books. They also have something on every night and if you don't want to go out the rooms and the tv rooms are quite enough to nurse a hangover.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hostel is ideal if you are visiting Sydney on a budget. We rented a double room with bathroom and it had everything we could ask for, including a TV. If you really don't want to splash out loads of money on an expensive hotel then stay here. It is central enough so you can walk everywhere or you can get the free bus shuttle down to the quay. You also save on transport fees from the airport, as you can get the train to the hostel (which it is right next to central station). Be aware when booking that you are staying in a hostel, so there will be a lot of young travellers there, so expect some drunken noise at night.
Everything was clean and tidy and I would defiantly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ka8dal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

very nice and convenient, all the clerk are very friendly...
I would like to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetLinTaiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed in the private room on 2nd floor for 4 nights.

Bounce got very friendly & helpful staffs. They were happy to provide you with information about Sydney along with the free maps at the receptionist.

The room: modern, good size & spacious enough, nice and clean bedroom & bathroom, good lighting ambience, comfortable beds & sheets.
The room also equipped with toiletries, towel, lcd tv, cupboard, thermos for hot water, glasses & cups.

The location is prime, just across the Central Station and walking distance to George St, Circular Quay, and Darling Harbour.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank veelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hostel is freakin cool. It is partially due to the awesome people I met, but this hostel is great. The cleanest I have EVER been at, huge lockers for each bed with power outlets and lamps inside them. Good clean bathrooms with sufficient showers. Best part is the upstairs kitchen and indoor/outdoor rooftop lounge! the worst part is that this area closes! As does the movie theatre a few floors down with bean bag seating, and all common areas - so a bit hard to come back after the bar and hangout. Couldnt beat the location - literally beside central station and close to downtown, little thailand or whatever it is called where the food is SO GOOD. Pricey (40 per night I think I paid), but really worth it if you enjoy great facilities and superior cleanliness.

My only recommendation is to keep the common areas open longer!! This was really a bit annoying, getting kicked out from watching a movie in literal silence at 11(?)pm so people could sleep. I would rather have someone watching a quiet movie outside my room than a bunch of girls deciding to pack up at 4am with the lights on

This hostel definitely made my first stop in Oz great. I cant comment on the activities as I didnt participate. no meals are included

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooperpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 149 in Sydney
1,105 reviews
Inner West
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 149 in Sydney
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#7 of 149 in Sydney
302 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
#11 of 149 in Sydney
730 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#10 of 149 in Sydney
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bounce Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bounce Sydney

Address: 28 Chalmers St | Next to Central Station, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 149 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: £24 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bounce Sydney 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the '#1 Hostel in Australia', 'Most Popular Hostel in Sydney', and listed in 'Top 10 Large Hostels in the World'.Bounce provides upmarket accommodation for backpackers and budget travellers. Fresh, modern and new and we're conveniently located opposite Central Station. We've got air-conditioning in every room, FREE high-speed WiFi internet, a secure key card system, huge lockers, three lounge areas, and an awesome rooftop terrace and BBQ area with stunning views of the Sydney skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Bounce Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bounce Sydney Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing