We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look no further”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bounce Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bounce Sydney
Ranked #3 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Look no further”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Look no further if you need a place to stay in Sydney.

This place has it all. They plan events almost every night including food and bars. Event info can be found on their website. There's a movie room and nice large upstairs kitchen as well. I wouldn't say the upstairs balcony was anything spectacular, but I bet it could be nice in warmer months.

Got to meet some good people in my room and the hostel overall. Rooms aren't huge, but it's good enough. Huge lockers with outlets in the actual locker. I fit 2 suitcases in mine. Major plus.

It's located right next to central station, a major transit hub, which goes to the airport. Super easy to get to and around on public transport with bus stops nearby. Good 25 min walk to circular quay and the tourist attractions, but a nice walk in winter with cooler temperatures.

The only downside is paying for wifi.

Probably the best hostel I've ever stayed at, definitely would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank trfan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    246
    54
    12
    13
See reviews for
40
82
323
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I miss everything in Sydney ! Bounce Hostel Sydney is just awesome and great for solo and budget traveller. My trip couldn't be wonderful without staying in Bounce. Hostel just located right beside of Central Station which is an ideal location to travel around the cities. The check in time is fast and easy, everything smooth for my stay at least. Cant wait to go back again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Bounce was one of the cleanest and most modern hostels I've stayed in throughout my travels through Thailand and Australia.
Good rooftop lounge and secure rooms. The fact that it is so big meant it didn't have such a friendly and welcoming vibe that I experienced in other places. There are lots of people who are staying here long term also.
The location is excellent, literally across the road from central station - from which you can get anywhere in Sydney, or you can also walk to the sites - opera house etc in about 20 minutes.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisacoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
148 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The location of Bounce Hostel is bang opposite Central Station in Sydney and thereby making it in walking distance to Market City, George Street and Elizabeth Street. The central location notwithstanding, the environ is so very quiet and calm, which makes the stay relaxing and making you feel wanting to get to the room after a long day of roaming around across all tourist-y attractions of Sydney. The jewel in the crown of Bounce Hostel is the attitude of the staff - really very friendly, warm and receptive, supportive and guiding. For us, as a family with young children, coming into Oz for the first time, the support we received was truly overwhelming. Be blessed and be this way always. And about the facilities - I would call them awesome, theme parties, internet on tap, laundry facilities and nicely furnished rooms - all making for a very cute package.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gopisuhasini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santos, SP
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hostel is good, with an awesome kitchen and a cool common area. However, I've stayed in some hostels nearly as good as Bounce paying less. Also, if you want to use the internet there's an extra charge for it.
The location is good due to its proximity to the Central Station, but it's not very close to supermarkets and beaches.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaioMagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This place is awesome! I met the most fantastic people (including my partner) and made life long friends. Thus is a place you go to find people to travel. We met a group of people we then shared an apartment with. The staff are great, the room clean and the rooftop a great place to meet people while taking in the view of Sydney, for the money this place scores a 10 in my books. They also have something on every night and if you don't want to go out the rooms and the tv rooms are quite enough to nurse a hangover.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hostel is ideal if you are visiting Sydney on a budget. We rented a double room with bathroom and it had everything we could ask for, including a TV. If you really don't want to splash out loads of money on an expensive hotel then stay here. It is central enough so you can walk everywhere or you can get the free bus shuttle down to the quay. You also save on transport fees from the airport, as you can get the train to the hostel (which it is right next to central station). Be aware when booking that you are staying in a hostel, so there will be a lot of young travellers there, so expect some drunken noise at night.
Everything was clean and tidy and I would defiantly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ka8dal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#102 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#76 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#47 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#97 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,591 reviews
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 137 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bounce Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bounce Sydney

Property: Bounce Sydney
Address: 28 Chalmers St | Next to Central Station, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bounce Sydney 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the '#1 Hostel in Australia', 'Most Popular Hostel in Sydney', and been listed in 'Top 10 Large Hostels in the World' at the 2014 and 2013 Hostel Awards.Bounce provides upmarket accommodation for backpackers and budget travellers. Fresh, new, modern and we're conveniently located opposite Central Station. We've got air-conditioning in every room, high-speed WiFi internet, a secure key card system, huge lockers, three lounge areas, and an awesome rooftop terrace and BBQ area with stunning views of the Sydney skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Bounce Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bounce Sydney Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing