We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“more than we expected”
Review of Park8 Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park8 Hotel Sydney
Ranked #55 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“more than we expected”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I am blown away with the warm and welcoming reception we received at our recent stay at Park8. This boutique hotel is a little hidden gem which we are glad to have found. The team representing Park8 are well skilled in their front of house position and certainly have guests/clients interests in hand as a priority.
Loved the 'new york' style apartments and really appreciated the upgrade to the loft.
We did have an issue with the first room we went to, but that was quickly attended to without question and we were moved to the corner loft apartment which was fantastic.
It is our new 'home away from home' when we stay in Sydney - highly recommend it !

Room Tip: best rooms are the delux rooms facing street/park views. loft is good but external block wall interr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themegster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
Dear themegster,

It is our ultimate goal to provide a 'home away from home' for corporate and leisure travellers alike and we are delighted that we have succeeded in your eyes!

We are really looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Sydney.

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    293
    116
    38
    18
See reviews for
127
260
68
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Koeln, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in a Deluxe Room and found it very comfortable, nicely furnished and spacious. The rain shower was great. Hugo and the other staff couldn't have been any better with advice on where to eat and also how to get around the city, perfect! Thanks guys see you again!

Room Tip: we booked the early bird special - great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussi_traveller_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Dear Aussie_Traveller_77,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review.
Guest comfort is a high priority for us, and we are extremely pleased to hear you had a great night sleep.

Hugo was quite proud of being mentioned, and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

All the best,
The Park8 Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

As I frequently stay in large corporate hotels for work, I often enjoy staying in smaller, 'boutique' establishments for pleasure, both in Australia and overseas. It is however a bit of a problem when so many places seem to flag themselves as 'boutique' to the extent where the term has become synonymous for 'small with no real service to speak of''.

One such hotel, unfortunately is the Park8 in Sydney, which whilst it is indeed under some sort of renovation (little more than a cafe on the ground floor and smart black clothes for the concierge) it really does not fit the 'boutique' tag, which seems to extend only to the room rate.

the room was tiny and very sparsely furnished (I have no issues with minimalism, but this was more spartan than minimalist - and the varnished tree log bedside table really did not make the room 'designer-like')

the carpet remained the old green carpet that survived the renovations from the time the hotel was just the accommodation rooms above the old Windsor pub.

The most dissapointing room however, was the bathroom, which by all account had not been renovated at all (I hope not in any case) but still retianed the charm of a public injecing room or public toilet.

No problems at all with the service, however, because of the lack of any discerning facilities (mini bar; room service etc), service was merely confined to checking in and checking out.

Overall, a very poor choice of 'boutique hotel' and far too expensive for what it was - service however, was the highlight: speedy and polite

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Booked the 2 bedroom loft apartment. Comfortable enough but dark and not very modern. Cold water taps did not work in shower or bath - the only way to get clean was to run a (very) hot bath and wait an hour for it to cool down. Can see from a previous review that this has been a problem before that has not been properly addressed. Reception staff were very friendly and beds were comfortable. No sound proofing so lots of sirens during night. Booked at a last minute discount rate but would have been very upset if paying full rate.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Discover55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Dear Discover55,

Thank you for taking the time to review Park8 Hotel, your comments will ensure the continued development of Park8 Hotel. Although we are a new hotel, we understand that suggestions and feedback are imperative in making our fantastic hotel even better, and are continuously working at making these improvements. Our team always works to uphold the standards one would expect of a boutique hotel such as our own, and the issues you have mentioned have indeed let us down, and as such, we are sincerely sorry. Our maintenance team have been briefed on the issues mentioned and will work to rectify the problem.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future and getting your comments on the improvements!

Kindest Regards,
Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

This is a well appointed, trendy little place to stay.

The staff are excellent - very willing to assist with anything asked of them, and always up for a chat when you come back after exploring.

My 4th floor room had a comfortable king sized bed, and a TV cleverly suspended in the corner of the room, to save space. The air con/heater worked well, and it was nice to be able to open the windows a bit, to let in some 'fresh' air. It has the usual room facilities - including iron and ironing board. Before you contact reception asking for an ironing board, check behind the curtains. It may be lurking there.

There are some rough patches in the plasterwork if you go looking for them - which gives you the idea that perhaps this place didn't always look this chic. But nothing intrusive. Wifi is available for $20 per day. Free access to the gym up the road is a bonus.

Great location, with easy access to the train station. Much cheaper than a taxi to/from the airport.

Worth considering if you get a good rate, and are looking for something up that end of town.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingPeteShow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Dear TravellingPeteShow

Thank you for your glowing review of Park8 hotel. We are incredibly pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our rooms are fully equipped, but as mentioned, if there’s ever anything you need, our reception staff are only too happy to help.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Regards, The Park8 Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I stayed in this hotel for queens birthday long weekend with three other girl friends. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment on the top floor of the building. Upon arrival, staff were very helpful and friendly, (in particular Hugo!) The location of this hotel is fantastic and so close to the new Westfield and George Street etc. Also a taxi rank out the front was very convenient.
On entering our room, the lounge room was much smaller than what was expected. Both bedrooms were however of a larger size with a TV in each. Hairdryer, iron and ironing board very convenient as well as alot of wardrobe space.
However, after looking through the apartment, we discovered there were marks all over the walls next to the stairs, the paint had been chipped off all around door frames and the kitchen sink needed to be cleaned.
The bathroom was of a decent size, however there is only one which is upstairs, and you need to walk through the first bedroom to get to it. It had no shower screen, not even a curtain, so the floor in the bathroom would become very wet despite our best efforts to keep it dry. There was also no working fan in the bathroom, so it became like a sauna, not to mention the stench of mildew and the dodgy cold tap that made it extremely difficult to change the temperature of the shower.
On the second day of our trip, after being out all day and returning, looking forward to a nap in a clean made bed, we returned only to find that just one of the beds in the bedrooms had been made, (did not change the sheets just made the bed) and the other bed had not been made and had just been left. Our used wet towels were just folded in half and left to dry on the made bed, and were not replaced with clean towels.

Overall this hotel was not up to standard and we definitely expected better value for the price we paid. Only positives are really the location and the very friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chachi36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Dear chachi36,

Thank you for taking the time to review Park8 Hotel.
Our staff were ecstatic to hear your comments regarding their friendliness, and we are certainly very privileged to have the fantastic location that we do. We will continue to work with our housekeeping team to ensure our standards are being met on all occasions, and will ensure the issues with bathroom are rectified immediately. We apologise that not all aspects of your stay were at the standard we expect to provide, though we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kindest Regards,
Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed here for a shopping weekend in May, myself and my husband, the location was great, centre to the shopping and train station etc.
Staff were very friendly and always willing to help
The hotel itself was very quiet, and room comfortable
ít was nice to have a sink bench in the room
good value for money
would definitely stay again

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Dear CHARLIEBLM,

It is wonderful to hear you and your wife enjoyed your stay at Park8, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback online.
We certainly look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

All the best,

The Park8 Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#52 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Central Business District
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#47 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#123 of 175 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#46 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Central Business District
Primus Hotel Sydney
Primus Hotel Sydney
#10 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park8 Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park8 Hotel Sydney

Property: Park8 Hotel Sydney
Address: 185 Castlereagh St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Sydney
#36 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#51 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park8 Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Sydney’s CBD, this intimate 36 room boutique hotel is located on the doorstep of Sydney’s iconic Hyde Park and central to the best shopping, dining and entertainment districts. Park8 offers an oasis of comfort, space and tranquility. Interiors are inspired by Sydney’s natural surrounds which resonate throughout the spacious guest rooms & lofts and feature modern luxury amenities fused with old world charm. Experience the highest level of discreet and personalised service and the genuine warmth and care of our professional team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park8 Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park8 Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing