We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice boutique hotel in the heart of Sydney's CBD”
Review of Park8 Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park8 Hotel Sydney
Ranked #55 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    292
    116
    38
    18
See reviews for
127
259
68
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I want to yell loudly how much I love this hotel but I don't want it overbooked so there's no room for me.

The Good:
The Staff - they are what makes this place excellent. Always friendly, helpful. If something needs doing, they do it! If there's a problem with your room, it gets fixed. Please ask, I've proven how helpful they are.
The Location - Perfect for Shopping and generally getting around Sydney CBD, You can walk to most places. TownHall Station is very close for trains (for arrival and departure and getting about). Buses also are in next street for Bondi Beach.
The Rooms - these are renovated from an older hotel. Quality and Basic, both really. Totally Clean. Good firm bed, you can choose pillow if you don't like the ones you've been given. Some rooms have bathtubs as well as Shower and a large couch that can be an extra bed.

The Less than Perfect:
It can be noisy as its a busy corner. If this bothers you ask for ear plugs - they supply good ones. Or book a standard room on Castlereigh St (no windows) as that's quieter.
There's no pool, no spa, no frills of that sort - but you came to Sydney to shop or for a conference so that's probably not a problem. If it is, go elsewhere.
No gym but you get to use one in QVB so its all good, no problem
Sometimes the aircon is noisy and weird but it does work
Not enough light at night-time for reading despite there being a good lamp - you can ask for another one if needed.
No Restaurant but the little Breakfast Bar is very inexpensive and has all you need.There's lots of restaurants nearby plus Subway and McDonalds.

Management and staff are excellent and friendly. You feel like this is a second home and you can ask for anything you need, even a hot chocolate in the middle of the night.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floors or at ends away from intersection. Or standard, no window room on Castlereigh S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayVibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear HolidayVibes,

You know it is always such a pleasure to have you with us - you're part of the family now!

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on the hotel; we really appreciate when our beloved, long-time guests take the time out of their day to post a review.

We look forward to seeing you in May! Take care until then.

With warmest regards,

Your Park8 Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. Our request was last minute. The rate was reasonable and included free coffee from the coffee shop located at Reception. Close to everything. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear MelissaLawrence,

Your brilliant rhyming review title did not go unnoticed - "Park8 is Great". We love it - super catchy; we wouldn't mind if that motto spreads!

It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to having you back.

Take care until then!

With warmest regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband and I had a 3 day stay in Sydney and stayed here. The service was great and they went out of their way to assist us with a booking for a family member. The room was clean and comfortable and all the staff always had time to talk and joke. Also a very central location which was great. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyLinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear PennyLinden,

We love spending time with our guests (that's the biggest perk of being such an intimate little hotel), and we are so glad that you enjoyed spending time with us, too.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with fellow travellers.

Also, we see that you are from Perth and wanted to say that we do have some sister hotels over in Perth too. Feel free to contact us if you want to spend a weekend in the city or have friends/family needing accommodation when they visit you! We are here 24/7 and will happy make enquiries at sister hotels on your behalf.

We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully sooner rather than later!

With warmest regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This hotel has a great location in the heart of Sydney, close to public transport but easy walking distance to most places we wanted to go. The staff were great, very helpful, friendly and recognised us from one day to the next! I was travelling with my adult son and so we took a loft suite, a great option as we then had our own rooms. Breakfast was great and reasonably priced. Lots of dining options nearby. Overall a great place to stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Garfield 29,

Thank you for your absolutely lovely review – we cannot tell you how ecstatic we were to hear your thoughts on the hotel!

It was a pleasure to have you and your son with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

With warmest regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Arrived from a 14 hr flight to a warm welcome & even earlier check in than we had arranged. King room was comfortable & clean, hotel with walking distance to everything we wanted to see. Every staff person we encountered was unfailingly helpful, lots of good suggestions for places to eat etc. Yummy breakfast at their breakfast bar.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear doctennis,

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

A holiday is a necessary part of life (the MOST necessary part in our opinion!) and we are honoured to have been your first stop and happy to have contributed to a great start.

Our guaranteed check in time is 3pm, however we do try and get our rooms ready as soon as possible and are more than happy to let weary travellers in early when we can.

We hope that the rest of your vacation was wonderful and we hope to see you again.

With warmest regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I almost didn't want to write this review because I wanted to keep this fabulous Sydney boutique hotel a secret!

The hotel is only 36 rooms and in an excellent location withing walking distance to just about everything! My husband and I stayed between Christmas and New Years' for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We loved the fact that this is a boutique hotel because the service felt more personalised. The staff are friendly, professional and very accommodating to their guests.

The rooms are small but very clean, modern and well appointed. The WiFi worked well. The beds are very comfortable and were much appreciated after a day at the crazy after Christmas sales! The rooms facing the street are a little noisy as it is a city hotel, but that's kind of the norm when staying in an inner city hotel and people stay out (and party) 'til late!

I loved the small cafe located next to reception. They not only had great coffee, they also served raisin toast, muffins and warm rolls filled with eggs, bacon and the likes. We ate here every morning and even got to read the paper!

As I mentioned earlier, the location is superb! The hotel is within walking distance to just about everything. It's a short walk to David Jones Department store, Westfields, Pitt Street Mall and Darling Harbour and is an easy walk (20 minutes) to Circular Quay, The Rocks and the Opera House. Town Hall station is also just 2 short blocks away or St James is just 1 block. Hyde Park is also just 1 block away.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a great boutique hotel where location is key.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the street will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Lisa B,

We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us over the holiday period.

Our location is definitely one of our leading qualities, along with our pride in customer service. As you mentioned we are centrally located with all modes of public transport within a two-block radius of our hotel, and with the CBD shopping precinct so close, we're a shopaholics dream!

We loved having you join us each morning for your breakfast; the company of our guests is always welcomed by our team.

We look forward to having you stay with us again. And if you would like to stay for Christmas or New Years again let us know as soon as you can so we can extend great return rates.

With warmest regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#53 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Central Business District
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#47 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#123 of 175 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#46 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Central Business District
Primus Hotel Sydney
Primus Hotel Sydney
#10 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park8 Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park8 Hotel Sydney

Property: Park8 Hotel Sydney
Address: 185 Castlereagh St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Sydney
#36 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#51 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park8 Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Sydney’s CBD, this intimate 36 room boutique hotel is located on the doorstep of Sydney’s iconic Hyde Park and central to the best shopping, dining and entertainment districts. Park8 offers an oasis of comfort, space and tranquility. Interiors are inspired by Sydney’s natural surrounds which resonate throughout the spacious guest rooms & lofts and feature modern luxury amenities fused with old world charm. Experience the highest level of discreet and personalised service and the genuine warmth and care of our professional team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park8 Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park8 Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing