We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Park8 Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park8 Hotel Sydney
Ranked #56 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
kiama
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed in a standard king room for just the one night. The towels, pillows and bedding were all good. The bed was a bit firmer than we are use to but I'm sure that suits 1/2 the guests. The bathroom was clean and the toiletries were of a good quality. Our room's window didn't seal properly and it let the cold and noise in. We were on the Park street side which was quite noisy (but it was Saturday night). The staff at check in and check out were lovely. The hotel has plenty of eateries nearby and is well located for shopping/site seeing. Only major downside is the lack of parking on site.

Room Tip: The south and east facing rooms will get a bit of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richam6364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, General Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Richam6364,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay at Park 8.

I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the room and its facilities of great convenience to you. Our standard room are one of our more basic rooms, but still have all the facilities in there that'll make your stay more enjoyable. Unfortunately the street noise does get noisy, especially on the weekends, however the excellent location in the CBD does make up for that!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Park 8 as we always enjoy welcoming our return guests.

Warm Regards,
Angelica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    309
    118
    40
    18
See reviews for
137
268
70
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed in one of Park8's loft apartments for four nights in June 2014.
The room was spacious and light, and was very clean. The service was great from the staff, who looked after our bags as we arrived well before check in, and again after we checked out.
The hotel is in a fantastic location, within easy walking distance of the main shopping areas, Darling Harbour, Chinatown and not too far on foot from Circular Quay.
The Town Hall and Museum train stations are both only a couple of hundred metres away.
The only downside to this stay was that the blind allowed a lot of light into the room, which was an issue for my partner, but the hotel provides eye masks and ear plugs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apple6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, General Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Apple6,

Thank you so much for your review.

It is great to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us here at Park 8 and you found not just the facilities of the hotel convenient but also our location. We are really are located quite well in the CBD and as you said are in close proximity to most of our popular attractions and destinations. I apologise for the light coming through in the morning - this is something we are looking into, potentially adding blinds and replacing curtains, we appreciate the feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Park 8 upon your next visit to Sydney!

Warm Regards,
Angelica Krithararis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Staying here just for one night for business, this boutique hotel is in a very good location. The staff were very friendly and free wifi is always a good thing. The room was of a good size and was very clean but lighting was very dark. The main problem for me was the street traffic noise. I am quite a light sleeper and was woken countless times due to the busy traffic on Castlereagh Street below but of course that is not the hotel's fault. Perhaps being higher up would be better? Cute little lobby bar selling coffee and a quick bite.

Room Tip: Try and get a room higher up as lots of street traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, General Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear GillyAdelaide,

Thank you for your review,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your first stay with us and that you found the hotel facilities to be convenient for you - free wifi is definitely a bonus! Glad you to hear the team were friendly and accommodating for you as we always strive to provide a high quality of service. I do apologise for the street noise, unfortunately as you mentioned there is not much we can do, but a higher floor can always be a better option as well as our standard rooms face away from the street - which is always another option. We are looking into sealing the windows properly to block any potential noise coming through.

We do hope you visit us again - contact us directly so we can get you in a room best suited for you and away from the street noise!

Warm Regards,
Angelica Krithararis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goondiwindi, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had 4 nights in a loft apartment. While it certainly wasn't 5 star, it was a well appointed room & fit nicely in its price range. The staff were helpfull & friendly. The location was spot on, being one or two blocks from Pitt St & Queen Victoria Building. Would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Corner loft room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Pete C,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Park 8 Hotel and for providing us your feedback.

I'm very pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you liked our 1 bedroom loft apartments, location and our wonderful team.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Sydney.

Until then all the best.

Jeremy
Park 8 Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great central hotel in downtown Sydney. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great coffee to start the day in the lobby coffee bar. Close to train stations, and also walking distance to city attractions. We stayed on level 5...in a room with a mezzanine bedroom. Very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulMabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear PaulMabo,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Park 8 Hotel and for providing your feedback.

It's wonderful to see that you had such a great stay with us. We are very fortunate to be in the heart of the city close to all the major attractions that Sydney has to offer. I'm happy that you enjoyed our staff and also the great coffee that Cafe 8 has.

We look forward to seeing you next time. Until then all the best.

Jeremy
Park 8 Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

There are 2 best things about this hotel - the staff and the free wifi. Staff is absolutely a delight which almost countered the negative. Hotel is located in a great location in the city - close to everything with taxi rank just around the corner. But the downside of being in the city is the street noise, especially when you are not high up and the window is not double glazed! If you like the vibrancy of a city then you'll be well placed. If you are a light sleeper, this is probably not the hotel for you. Unfortunately, the comfy bed and pillows (they are good) will not save you from the noise! I slept fine but not so for hubby. Bedroom is of a pretty good size but lighting could be improved - everything is a bit dark to my liking. Bathroom was pretty good size too with a modern bath tub, although there is a bit of a smell - probably courtesy of old plumbing. Hotel is manned 24hours and there is a little coffee/bar area downstairs which is just a plus for convenience.
Will we return here again? Maybe, but we may try others first.

Room Tip: Perhaps higher floor may be less noisy?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaut_stuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Beaut_stuff,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Park 8 and for providing us your feedback.

I'm very sorry to hear that you we're not able have a good nights sleep with us. We certainly know that this is probably the most important aspect of any hotel stay. We are about to start replacing the window seals to help improve the level of street noise in our rooms. I hope you can come back again and hear the difference.

It's so great to see that you enjoyed all the other aspects of Park 8 especially the staff. We look forward to seeing you again.

Until then, all the best.

Jeremy
Park 8 Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

After a two night stay I was a zombie, which is in direct contrast to the rest of the experience. The staff were lovely, practiced enough to take what appeared to be genuine interest in my stay. Whilst I had no need to call upon the staff for anything other than a having a room key redone I felt they would have tried the best to help no matter the issue.

The room was well presented and well appointed.

I unfortunately was on the lowest floor (2) of the hotel which proved troublesome. The hotel is positioned very close to public transport and to the park hotel district which also means heavy bus and commercial traffic through the day and night which is excellent for access, not so fantastic for noise levels. This floor did not have double glassing or any of the usual innercity hotel approaches to noise reduction. Taking a call on my mobile phone I had to go into the hallway to hear the caller. A good nights sleep was simply not possible.

So in summary, staff, location, room appointments, facilities excellent all except for unacceptable noise on the lower floors. Would recommend this hotel if you are a light sleeper perhaps ask for a room not facing the road (I am not a light sleeper normally).

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a non road facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottd237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Scottd237,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for providing us your feedback.

I'm very sorry to see that you we're not able to have a good nights sleep with us. We certainly know how important this is. The higher rooms will be quieter and we hope you can return to give them a try.

We're very happy to see though that you we're very happy with all other aspects of the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again. Until then all the best.

Jeremy
Park 8 Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#54 of 178 in Sydney
1,420 reviews
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#126 of 178 in Sydney
2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#48 of 178 in Sydney
1,027 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Kent
Mantra on Kent
#73 of 178 in Sydney
1,340 reviews
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#68 of 178 in Sydney
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park8 Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park8 Hotel Sydney

Property: Park8 Hotel Sydney
Address: 185 Castlereagh St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Sydney
#36 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#52 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park8 Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Sydney’s CBD, this intimate 36 room boutique hotel is located on the doorstep of Sydney’s iconic Hyde Park and central to the best shopping, dining and entertainment districts. Park8 offers an oasis of comfort, space and tranquility. Interiors are inspired by Sydney’s natural surrounds which resonate throughout the spacious guest rooms & lofts and feature modern luxury amenities fused with old world charm. Experience the highest level of discreet and personalised service and the genuine warmth and care of our professional team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Park8 Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park8 Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing