We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good accommodation in a good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Ranked #52 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good accommodation in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Friendly staff and a good sized room. A little dark as with many hotel rooms but clean, a comfortable bed and the normal in-room amenities. No free wifi but central Sydney has 4G service anyway. Good location with Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, The Rocks (historic/pubs), Hyde Park (Museum), The Domain (Art gallery) and Pitt Street shopping mall all within walking distance. Bus and train services nearby if some destinations are a bit far to walk or it's raining !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve149_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, General Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Steve149_12,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay at Park 8.

I am delighted to hear that you found your stay comfortable and that you found our location to be convenient for you in regards to wherever you needed to be. We have a few room types available, some receiving direct sunlight over others that don't, I am sorry if the room you booked was too dim at times. For the benefit of other travellers, we certainly do have Free Wifi available which is given to you from the reception desk.

I hope you return to stay with us again, we always look forward to welcoming our return guests.

Warm Regards,
Angelica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    277
    113
    38
    15
See reviews for
117
247
66
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

From the moment you walk in to the moment you leave you are "Wow'd" with the service. From the Reception staff to the cleaners, everyone is bright, cheerful & genuinely interested in you as a guest. The Loft room is great and worth the extra with kitchen, lounge & spa. Would stay time and time again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, General Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Lisa C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay at Park 8.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you found the team to be extremely helpful and friendly throughout your stay and that we were able to assist you upon your requests. We pride ourselves on our 5 Star service and always do try go above and beyond where we can.

I will be passing your comments onto the team as I am sure they will be pleased to hear.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
Angelica Krithararis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located just a few hundred metres from museum station and close to the main shopping malls. Just a 10 minutes walk from the opera. Staff was great helpful and professional. Room was ok. Just. A draft from the window and a very noisy night. The hotel has personality. I would definitely recommend it. Wear a scarf for the draft.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alberto1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, General Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Alberto1968,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay at Park 8.

I am glad to hear that Park 8 was conveniently located for you during your stay and that you found it easy to commute back and forth as well as to your planned destinations.As we are conveniently located there is the downside of it being in an area where there is uncontrollable noise. We are however looking into re-sealing the windows which should hopefully prevent the draft coming through and some of the external noise. We appreciate the feedback and always use it to improve where we can.

We do look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
Angelica Krithararis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Arrived by rental car on a busy and wet afternoon and in desperation pulled up on the footpath outside to unload the bags. Obviously this was not the first time somebody had done that because in a flash our bags and my wife were inside and I was on my way to drop off the rental car.
The property is tucked away right on the corner Castlereagh St and Park St and this central location will serve all your needs when visiting Sydney CBD.
We had booked a deluxe room which really turned into a very nice small apartment looking up toward William St. The room was a good size but the bathroom was better with a very nice one man size plunge bath. It looked so good I went out and got some Magic Bath Salts and took the plunge. Nice way to warm up.
Impossible to single out a staff member for praise as they all went the extra mile.
Downside.. Not much except water temperature did falter and parking on arrival needs to be somewhat better organised.
For a few days in Sydney with my wife this has been one of the best value and most pleasant properties I have experienced in the past 40 Years.

Room Tip: Deluxe are more expensive but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, General Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Muruk,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay at Park 8.

I am blown away with your amazing review, the team and I are extremely pleased to hear that you and your wife both enjoyed your stay and it is one of the best you have had in the last 40 years. We are a small, quirky property which makes us stand out from the rest as we are able to be intimate and get to our guests on a more personal level. We really do try make it a 'home away from home' which I am glad you got to experience.

We do hope you return to stay with us again as we always enjoy welcoming back our return guests!

Warm Regards,
Angelica Krithararis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

There were good rates offer on when I found this hotel and I've since chosen to stay again for its great position, spacious rooms and helpful staff. Only slight issue is traffic noise being on a corner intersection. Will keep going back though as it has everything I need.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank nelsonmangemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, General Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear nelsonmangemma,

Thank you for taking the time to right a review on Park 8.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the rooms and facilities as well as location to be convenient and of great value to you. I do apologise for the street noise, unfortunately we are limited on what we can do with the noise, it is one of the slight downfalls of being in such a great location of the hustle and bustle of the city.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm Regards,
Angelica Krithararis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was a great little hotel to stay in - friendly and helpful staff, and a pleasant little cafe/ bar which we spent an evening in, and breakfasted there. Good food and coffee! Comfortable room. It was close enough for us to walk to the main shopping area, and had a station nearby so it was very easy to take a train back to the airport.

The only negative was the the room was very dark with only one small window, and there were a few dusty spots in the corners of the floor. However when I told the manager this she thanked me fr letting her know so they could improve their service.

We would happily go back there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumwith3kidstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, General Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Mumwith3kidstravels,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay at Park 8.

I am so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you found Park 8's quirky side as well as it being comfortable for you during your stay. Great you tried our coffee and got a chance to eat with us as well.

We always encourage feedback whether it be good or bad so we can make those positive improvements - so no problems at all, happy to take it on board.

We hope you return to stay with us again - be sure to contact us directly so we can recommend the best room type for you.

Warm Regards,
Angelica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here for four nights. Nice place in a good location. Very friendly and helpfull staff. The room was clean and had everything we needed, the only thing that I didn't like, was the fact you couldn't see trough (or open) the window. There was no way we could see what the weather was like in the morning.
But, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jobxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, General Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Jobxl,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay at Park 8.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities as well as location was of great convenience to you. Great to hear the team were friendly and helpful when you required any assistance - we always strive to provide a high level of customer service.

Unfortunately our Standard rooms have frosted windows in which you cannot see outside, in future you should stay in one of our other room types facing out on the street that are slightly larger and have opening windows.

We do hope you return to stay with us again.

Warm Regards,
Angelica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#51 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Central Business District
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#46 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Property: Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Address: 185 Castlereagh St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Sydney
#36 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#48 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Sydney’s CBD, this intimate 36 room boutique hotel is located on the doorstep of Sydney’s iconic Hyde Park and central to the best shopping, dining and entertainment districts. Park8 offers an oasis of comfort, space and tranquility. Interiors are inspired by Sydney’s natural surrounds which resonate throughout the spacious guest rooms & lofts and feature modern luxury amenities fused with old world charm. Experience the highest level of discreet and personalised service and the genuine warmth and care of our professional team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park8 Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing