We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vibrant, holy grail of backpackers”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jackaroo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jackaroo Hostel
Ranked #23 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vibrant, holy grail of backpackers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Jackaroos is one of those backpacker holy grails of a place where you'll revel in the fun atmosphere, free brekkie, free BBQs and crazy nights out in Kings Cross. It's run by Jade and Rob who have done their fair share of backpacking and it shows. They know from experience the best things about backpacking and share them with anyone who stays. The nice thing is they are often on reception or socialising. There aren't any hidden nasty extras at this hostel, you don't have to deposit anything to get cutlery, you'll get friendly and helpful advice and you'll get free internet, woop wooop! Those who know Jackaroos, know all about the colourful and fun world of Kings Cross, right on the doorstep. The fact you can walk to Sydney city or Quay and the train station is on the doorstep to get to Bondi. Most nights Trev is leading everyone on a crazy bar crawl, with some free drinks in the bars and of course the legendary night that is Free wine Friday. It is what it says on the tin and it's bound to get messy. The hostel is really pretty central for everything in Sydney and as it's new it's really clean, even after a wild night the cleaners with their ghost buster vacuum cleaners are out and about. Yeah the rooms are quite small, mostly with no windows, but hey you can't have absolutely everything. The dorms are clean and new looking, there's plenty of toilets and showers down the corridor and the communal areas are huge. It's the sort of place you can arrive on your own and leave with friends, or turn up in a big group or as a couple and still have a brilliant time. My boyfriend and I ended up here by chance and had such a fun time we've been back to visit and when we leave Australia we're flying out of Sydney so will definitely go back there to stay. If you're just arriving in Australia this would be a great hostel to start off your trip.

Room Tip: If you're travelling in a couple go for a dorm and get to know some other people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassandra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    73
    42
    17
    16
See reviews for
6
64
91
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Spent 5 days here.....super nice staff, lots of advise printed bus timetables for us and everything.. SOOOOOOOOO CLEAN...its spotless, Free breakfast, free wine nights, free bbq's...So nice!! Next door to cityrail station so everywhere is close...bondi, syndey bridge etc. Saw reviews of people complaining of no elevator but thats seriously not life threathening.....this place is AMAZING. Wouldnt stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Front rooms are bigger.. Some have ensuites so ask for those but showers for dorms are individual s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Jackaroo definitely surpassed my expectations. At first you notice how clean the place is and it becomes obvious they take care it. Then you realize how unlike most hostels, the owners are almost always working the front desk and you start to feel the family atmosphere. Free Wifi, free breakfast and Free Wine Friday are great extras as well. If possible, stay at the Jackaroo on a Friday, you won't soon forget it. Jackaroo feels much smaller than it is and it isn't long before you know most of the other guests through social events. Being located on the same street as most of the bars in the area meant we were out most nights with other hostel guests. The train station is literally located next door (you can't hear it since it's underground) so getting anywhere in Sydney is hassle free. The place is spotless, it has a free pool table and fooseball table and the beds are comfortable but most of all it's the feeling of family that came across and impressed me. Rob and Jade are a lot of fun and make you feel welcome and at home in the Jackaroo.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

I arrived at the jackaroo hostel 1 of december 2011 and ended up staying for 6 months. I had the best 6 months ever in the hostel. The rooms where always kept clean by the staff and the highlight of the week was free wine friday. Rob and Jade the owners are very helpful and along with their rep Trev they have a different night planned for the guests that ranges from poker tournamnet, pool comps and then hitting the night life of Kings Cross to the Top Night Clubs.
I would advise any couples, groups of travellers and a single traveller to stay at Jackaroo.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conor7388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

I absolutely loved my stay at the Jackaroo Hostel. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. They not only helped me with organizing my travels in Sydney, but after I left, they continued to give helpful advise on other places to visit while I was in Australia. They answered any questions I had ranging from places to eat, shop, and go out, to tourist sites/activities such as free walking tours of Sydney, beaches, and mountains. They have a kitchen, dining area, computers for you to use for free (and free wireless internet), and a lobby area. Everything was clean. The owners and staff really do a wonderful job of creating a warm, friendly, atmosphere so that you feel right at home while staying there. I would recommend the Jackaroo Hostel to anyone!

Room Tip: When you book a room, make sure you specify if you want a co-ed room or one gender room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

The Jackaroo has everything I look for in a hostel... It's incredibly clean, it's safe for my belongings, WiFI, and a nice kitchen. In addition to: a pool table, fooseball table, movie room, rooftop patio, and more.

Everynight we had free entry to a different club and free drink tickets. The hostel is located in Kings Cross, which is exactly where you want to be in Sydney. Kings Cross has the best nightlife and is also walking distance from the bars in the business district. It's also located inbetween the business district and Bondi Beach, which is where you'll go during the day. Bondi Beach is 2 train station stops past Kings Cross.

Yet at the same time, I was also in Sydney working a professional full-time job. The staff always ensured the halls near the rooms were quiet at night, so I had no problem getting a full nights sleep before work...not to mention, the staff helped me find the job in the first place! The hostel is right above the train station so I was able to get to work quickly every morning.

I've stayed at several hostels in Australia and the Jackaroo was by far the best place I've stayed. They simply have everything for every type of traveler.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine at the Jackaroo. The rooms are mostly 2-bunks. The only exceptions are if you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebbw Vale, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

By far the best hostel I've ever stayed in. From the minute I entered I felt like part of The Jackaroo family as the owners and staff are super nice and really helpful. It's fantastic value for money too as internet is free, you get free breakfast and free wine every Friday (which always proves to be a memorable night). It's not just clean but immaculate as the rooms are cleaned every day and the bathrooms at least four times a day. For anyone travelling to Sydney I would highly reccomend staying here, you'd be missing out if you didn't.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJP88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#8 of 137 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Surry Hills
Hyde Park Backpackers
Hyde Park Backpackers
#19 of 137 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 137 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#9 of 137 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Eva's Backpackers
#16 of 137 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackaroo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackaroo Hostel

Property: Jackaroo Hostel
Address: 107-109 Darlinghurst Rd | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jackaroo Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Jackaroo Hostel Kings Cross, Sydney's newest hostel, The 'Jackaroo Hostel' is more than you could ever expect. Its unique, it’s different. It’s an experience, because we want it that way. The Jackaroo Hostel, located in the hip area of Kings Cross, is a cool haven for the international traveller, in the heart of Sydney Australia.The Jackaroo Hostel is a family run hostel. Owned and operated by best friends and brothers Robert and Jade Smith. We understand that the Jackaroo Hostel will be the centre of your Sydney experience, and we want it to be memorable. We love Sydney, and we want you to love it too.We offer quality affordable accommodation. Double rooms, Twin with ensuite, 4 and 6 bed dorms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jackaroo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackaroo Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing