We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual Meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pho Gia Hoi

Pho Gia Hoi
Ranked #1,082 of 5,835 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Casual Meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We chose this small Vietnamese restaurant because it was busy on a Monday night. It is a 'no frills' place with a high turnover.
We were looking for a tasty, inexpensive Vietnamese meal so it suited us.
There were many Asian people eating there not just Caucasian, which we thought was a good sign.
The service was quick, the food good with green tea on the table.
The tables were cleaned quickly after the diners had left.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norma31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    33
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

I decided to try a standard pho noodle soup here on my first meal in Australia. It was okay but I've definitely had much better before. At least the service was efficient and prompt which is great for a restaurant like this. Interior decor is simple and gets the job done. I liked the added touch of hot tea on the side of the table which you can pour yourself.

Hopefully I can find a better Vietnamese restaurant soon, but if not this will have to do

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank nmestar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Forest, Illoinois
Level Contributor
349 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Very simple ambience, but good Vietnamese cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Phi Gia Hoi offers tasty, well-prepared and authentic Vietnamese cuisine. The menu is quite large, and easy to comprehend because it is well-divided into types of dishes. Plenty of varieties of Pho, followed by various dishes on rice vermicelli, or with rice, or with other types of noodles, and many soups that serve as main courses too. The flavors are strong and the ingredients fresh. I call it "very good" rather than "great" because I have found some dishes a bit cooler than they should have been, and the service is rather disorganized and chaotic, if all in good spirits. Still, this is recommendable as a good source of Vietnamese cuisine in Sydney.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Just like Viet Nam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

The constant stream of people is testament to the great food in this place. The atmosphere is reminiscent of Viet Nam..efficient and busy. Super healthy menu items. Trying a noodle soup is a must for those unaccustomed to the cuisine. It will be served with a plate of green veges, salad ingredients, herbs and a lemon wedge, or just a pile of mung bean sprouts and a lemon wedge. Feel free to use your fingers to tear the greens to put in your soup, squeeze over some lemon juice and even customise the soup base flavour further with the sauces and oils on your table.

Helpful?
Thank photravels
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic and Affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

This is a typical low cost eating house style restaurant. If you want an authentic Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup (Called Pho) around Sydney CBD, I would go to this place. I have also been to Pho Pasteur restaurant next door before but I must admit that this one tastes better and is more authentic. As for price, it costs a bit more than the equivalent restaurant in Melbourne. I guess it is due to the living cost difference.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grahamqla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pho Gia Hoi also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Pho Gia Hoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing