We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bayswater Sydney
Ranked #10 of 59 Sydney B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This Hotel is good value for money, great location, train station only minutes away. The room we stayed in was quite compact, but we knew that upfront. Considering, the design was great and every inch of space well allocated. The room was clean and the staff at reception nice. Would stay again.

Room Tip: ask for rooms at the back of the hotel, it is quiet there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r_stanzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    498
    204
    47
    32
See reviews for
82
458
183
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed at the Bayswater Sydney when travelling around Australia. This hotel was a great price for Sydney and in a good central location with excellent connections (train station not even 5 minutes away!). The rooms are very small, standard for cities like Sydney (Paris/London vibe), however compact and everything we needed was present. The building seems quite old and creaky, occasionally you could hear other people. The main tip is you must have ear plugs for sleeping. We arrived on Saturday night and it was extremely loud because the King Corss area is a party area. I was very tired so slept anyway but woke at 4am for the toilet and could still hear screaming and shouting from the street (we were on the 3rd floor towards the back). The rest of the nights the noise was not an issue, I guess Friday and Saturday are the party nights. Also excellent receptionist who offered us a lot of help and there is free internet access in the reception on a computer. Would stay again, just pack those ear plugs.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David912014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed for 3 nights. Considering the costs of hotels in Sydney, this was one of the cheapest, but still not that cheap. I stayed in a standard King. Small room, small bathroom. Great showerhead. No room for toiletries in the bathroom. I tripped over the step from the bedroom to the bathroom, as it has a very high step. Room was clean. No free wi fi. I found the staff friendly and helpful. Good location. Hotel lacks facilities, no bar, no cafe, etc. The cafe next door was fabulous. Had breakfast there every day. Even though I stayed in the same room over the 3 nights, the difference in room rates was incredible. $191 first night, $154 second night, $135 third night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLY362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Location and access to Sydney's delights are handy and great. After initial confusion on booking the manager got it sorted, and we were happy guests. Recommend the hotel as good value for money, and as a bonus the cafe next door is superb.

Room Tip: Not all requirements are covered on the web site. Ask directly for what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The staff at Bayswater Sydney leave a lot to be desired, unprofessional, grumpy, unaccommodating are just a few that spring to mind. Everything was an ordeal.

The room was tiny, barely had enough space for 2 people and our bags. Our room was at the back by a laneway and we were woken up every morning at 6am by rubbish trucks,

Kings Cross is not the nicest area for anyone who is not familiar with it- the hotel is about a 30 second walk from Darlinghurst Road, the heart of the red light district. On our first morning, after the obnoxious receptionist was completely unaccommodating, we walked around the corner into a group of junkies and then ran into the prostitutes and drunks a few feet further along. Not a great first impression of Sydney after a 10 hour flight.

I would not recommend staying here. After seeing a lot of the city on our visit, there are nicer hotels, in a lot better areas.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessieeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The hotel was difficult to locate because its a single door with no signs. WIFI is only free in the lobby, but within private hotel rooms it costs $10 per day for 500 MB. The bathroom is very small, and the sliding door of the bathroom is very inconvenient because its loose. They supply adequate amount/clean towels, soap, shampoo & conditioner. The room air-conditioning works well, and the queen size bed is comfortable. The view from the window is very plain and boring.
There are very few staff available and the cleaners are friendly. They allow an extra 2 hour late check-out, but request $20.
The location of the hotel is 30mins walk from the CBD, Kings Cross Station, numerous restaurants and bars. Next door to the hotel, Harajuku Gyoza sells delicious dumplings, a short walk down the road, Infinity Sour Dough Bakery has filling meat pies and Buffalo Dinning Club's Gnocchi dish is good Italian taste. Three nights at this hotel is enough because good for eating around, however too far from Sydney's attractions.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 178 in Sydney
4,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#103 of 178 in Sydney
1,839 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#101 of 178 in Sydney
4,961 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#43 of 178 in Sydney
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayswater Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayswater Sydney

Property: The Bayswater Sydney
Address: 17 Bayswater Rd | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Kings Cross
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bayswater Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayswater Sydney offers a boutique hotel experience in Kings Cross, just one stop from Circular Quay. Hotel rooms feature premium bedding, a work desk, WiFi access, air-conditioning, large flat screen TV, chic en suite bathroom with amenities and ironing facilities. The Bayswater Sydney also has a 24 hour reception, a guest laundry and a taxi rank at the front door. Public transport is also just one block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bayswater Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayswater Sydney Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing