We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bayswater Sydney
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Sydney(Sydney)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
QT Sydney(Sydney)
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney(Sydney)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$219
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$295
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,148)
Filter reviews
1,148 results
Traveller rating
276
547
233
55
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
547
233
55
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskings crossgreat locationtrain stationtaxi rankpotts pointnoisy at nightfree wifinight lifecoles supermarketstreet noiseboutique hotelrooms are smallshort staylight sleeperbars and restaurantsthe ground floorwould stay again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
711 - 716 of 1,148 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is our second visit to the Bayswater at Potts Pt. We find it centrally located, comfortable clean and most important, we fel welcome...Ken on the reception desk is friendly helpful and pleasant. Its very economical and Ken gave us a great room. Admittedly it doesn't have sweeping harbour views or valet parking or any of that stuff you don't need. Just plain good hospitality in a area of Sydney that is doing a great job of making Kings Cross a good place to visit. Well done!!

Room Tip: be nice to Ken..
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank valjeanery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We booked for 7 nights in King Deluxe room and i would say its value for money accommodation. Our initial thought when we booked the hotel was if it's safe for ladies, being the location at King Cross area. We felt safe. In my opinion, the hotel located in a less crowded spot and in a good transportation area. The King Cross train station is just 2 minutes away, there's a bus stop and taxi stop in front of the hotel. Coles is just around the corner. King Cross is lively at night especially weekends. We are glad that our room is not as noisy (ours opposite an apartment instead of the main road), although the floor in our room make this noisy sound whenever we walk around. The room is small but clean. Its a cosy boutique hotel with basic amenities. Got free wifi and the staffs are friendly. You can book airport shuttle bus from the hotel at a cheaper price ($12 instead of $19). Overall, a pleasant stay @ Bayswater Hotel.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room facing the street.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilasofea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 7 nights (May 8 to 15), it is literally 2 mins away from Kings Cross Station. Beside the hotel there are a lot of restaurants and there's a Coles (supermarket) about 30 seconds walk.

We got a room at the top floor because we wanted peace while sleeping. The area is a red light district so we expected that there will be lots of noise. But during our stay, we didn't experience any loud noise.

The bed was king size, there's a plenty supply of instant coffee and creamer, towels are changed everyday and the room is cleaned everyday as well. There is a pantry at the lobby where you bring your takeaways back at the hotel and eat it. Utensils, sink and microwave are available at your disposal.

Also, at the lobby lounge, there is computer where you can use for free. Printing is also free. We printed our boarding pass at the lounge with no cost.

The only thing we kinda didn't like is that before you reach the reception area, you have to climb a few stairs. Since we have huge luggages, it was inconvenient for us to bring it up and no one assisted us. Also, to reach our room, there is another staircase to climb and we brought up our luggages ourselves. Aside from this inconvenience, the hotel is very good, especially for people who at a budget.

Room Tip: Get the top floor if you don't mind climbing up a staircase.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelandfashion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Room was OK for the price. Fairly small but room size was noted before booking.
Main issue was the noise from the numerous leaks and overflows outside the hotel (it was not raining either) I had 2 nights of interrupted sleep.
Gym was very local - (24 hours) and had good facilities (Anytime Fitness)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCM1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel is located just by the Kings Cross train station and if you are fond of walking, the distance to the Darling Harbour, Hyde Park or the Circular Quay is not overwhelming. There are many backpacker hostels and small restaurants nearby + Coles supermarket, which is open until midnight.

The hotel is OK, considering the reasonable price, but definitely not a 4* establishment. We got a free upgrade (according to the receptionist) to a bigger room – which made us wonder how small the normal room would have been… The room had a kingsize bed, a wardrobe, a desk and a really tiny bathroom. It was a bit difficult to move around without bumping to each other. Although the room was a non-smoking one, either the previous inhabitant or somebody upstairs or downstairs (bad ventilation?) was definitely smoking inside. Also, the heating system was not very efficient, as during the night it got pretty cold and I had to sleep with my socks on. On top of that we could hear all the noises from outside – people singing till late (or early?) hours, and when the singing stopped, the unloading of goods delivered to shops/restaurants nearby started.

WiFi worked flawlessly, so plus for that.

Regarding the breakfast, they no longer serve it in the hotel. But as mentioned above, there are a few cafes and small restaurants nearby, some of them open really early.
The receptionist was polite, maybe a bit “too” eager (if you ask me) to point out how well they do in Trip Advisor…

All in all – quite an “OK” experience, especially if you stay in Sydney for no longer than 2 days.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews