We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bayswater Sydney
Ranked #10 of 62 Sydney B&B and Inns
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short visit”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Conveniently located for my needs. Close to rail, restaurants and other amenities. Room was quiet and the bed was great. Bathroom is modern. Had to giggle - slowest lift ever! Check in was quick and easy as was check out.

Room Tip: Room 405 is high and is adjacent to residential accommodation next door, which I believe stops the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Del W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    480
    192
    43
    31
See reviews for
76
442
173
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in The Bayswater for 6 nights in July. Due to a flight cancellation we were a day late in arriving, we phoned ahead to let them know and this wasn't a problem at all. Check in was quick and simple, the room was on the first floor so easy to access with big cases.

The room wasn't huge, but we found that over the 5 nights we were there it became quite homey - it was kept very clean by the staff and the towels were replaced every day. There was a kitchen facility just to the left of the lobby which we didn't use but looked clean.

Our bathroom was spotless (and this is coming from a clean freak!) although quite small, but the shower was incredible. Never a problem with hot water. The room was also spotless on arrival. We didn't have a view, just a small floor to ceiling window in the corner of the room which was covered in mesh (I guess for security or to stop birds coming in if the windows were open?) but the room was bright enough with the lights on for this to not be an issue. Bed was HUGE, very comfy. There was also a hair dryer, fridge/freezer, tea/coffee facilities, glasses and ironing facilities within the room. Free Wifi too, which worked very well.

Thought the walls were pretty thin so we had a lot of noise when people were passing at night/in the morning but to be honest for the price we paid (less than £50/night for both of us) that was literally the only complaint to be had.

We moved to another hotel in the same chain for our second week which was ever so slightly cheaper (Springfield Lodge) which whilst clean and pleasant staff honestly doesn't compare to the Bayswater.

Close to plenty of amenities, whilst Kings X seems a bit racey at night we didn't hear any noise from the street. Great little Japanese restaurant next door, and very close to a Coles.

All in all, absolute steal for the price!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampere
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Basic hotel with good location. Area was full of bars and partying people. Metro station is couple min walk away from hotel and it is not a big deal to walk central(opera house etc..). Only bad thing was screaming bird which woke us up every morning..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iideetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

This place is great value, had a second stay and just as good. Staff are so nice. The rooms are clean and bathrooms good. Beds comfortable. The location is good. If I was staying on a weekend I'd ask to be away from the road, but it's ok weeknights. Plenty of great restaurants nearby, I like Panhandlebar and Mad Pizza. Train is a 5 minute walk.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rounsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is our second visit to the Bayswater at Potts Pt. We find it centrally located, comfortable clean and most important, we fel welcome...Ken on the reception desk is friendly helpful and pleasant. Its very economical and Ken gave us a great room. Admittedly it doesn't have sweeping harbour views or valet parking or any of that stuff you don't need. Just plain good hospitality in a area of Sydney that is doing a great job of making Kings Cross a good place to visit. Well done!!

Room Tip: be nice to Ken..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valjeanery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We booked for 7 nights in King Deluxe room and i would say its value for money accommodation. Our initial thought when we booked the hotel was if it's safe for ladies, being the location at King Cross area. We felt safe. In my opinion, the hotel located in a less crowded spot and in a good transportation area. The King Cross train station is just 2 minutes away, there's a bus stop and taxi stop in front of the hotel. Coles is just around the corner. King Cross is lively at night especially weekends. We are glad that our room is not as noisy (ours opposite an apartment instead of the main road), although the floor in our room make this noisy sound whenever we walk around. The room is small but clean. Its a cosy boutique hotel with basic amenities. Got free wifi and the staffs are friendly. You can book airport shuttle bus from the hotel at a cheaper price ($12 instead of $19). Overall, a pleasant stay @ Bayswater Hotel.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilasofea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 7 nights (May 8 to 15), it is literally 2 mins away from Kings Cross Station. Beside the hotel there are a lot of restaurants and there's a Coles (supermarket) about 30 seconds walk.

We got a room at the top floor because we wanted peace while sleeping. The area is a red light district so we expected that there will be lots of noise. But during our stay, we didn't experience any loud noise.

The bed was king size, there's a plenty supply of instant coffee and creamer, towels are changed everyday and the room is cleaned everyday as well. There is a pantry at the lobby where you bring your takeaways back at the hotel and eat it. Utensils, sink and microwave are available at your disposal.

Also, at the lobby lounge, there is computer where you can use for free. Printing is also free. We printed our boarding pass at the lounge with no cost.

The only thing we kinda didn't like is that before you reach the reception area, you have to climb a few stairs. Since we have huge luggages, it was inconvenient for us to bring it up and no one assisted us. Also, to reach our room, there is another staircase to climb and we brought up our luggages ourselves. Aside from this inconvenience, the hotel is very good, especially for people who at a budget.

Room Tip: Get the top floor if you don't mind climbing up a staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelandfashion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#36 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,998 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Macleay Hotel
#43 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayswater Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayswater Sydney

Property: The Bayswater Sydney
Address: 17 Bayswater Rd | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Kings Cross
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bayswater Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayswater Sydney offers a boutique hotel experience in Kings Cross, just one stop from Circular Quay. Hotel rooms feature premium bedding, a work desk, WiFi access, air-conditioning, large flat screen TV, chic en suite bathroom with amenities and ironing facilities. The Bayswater Sydney also has a 24 hour reception, a guest laundry and a taxi rank at the front door. Public transport is also just one block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bayswater Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayswater Sydney Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing