We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top service and old-school italian food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Sicilia - CLOSED

Cafe Sicilia
Price range: US$3 - US$34
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Surry Hills
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top service and old-school italian food”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We walked up and down Crown street not where to go as we did not want to spend a fortune on a tiny, designer meal. This place had plenty of people eating there when we arrived and loads more piled into this restaurant. Good food and a fabulous ricotta cannoli to round off my meal :)

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank AnitaBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Could try harder”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We went to Caffe Sicilia for a Sunday lunch. The service was very relaxed as the Italian waiters seemed more interested in chatting to the pretty girls than serving our table.
The food was mostly good and traditional Sicilian. The Seafood Risotto was great while the Chick with wild mushrooms was an overcooked roast chicken with a wild mushroom sauce serve with chips - nothing else, disappointing.
Desserts seemed to be the forte - very rich Tiramisu and delicious home made ices.
A pity the experience wasn't better as the food held promise and with the prices we expected more.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephen787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 24 November 2011

This place has to be one of the best Italian restaurants in Sydney! Had so much fun dining here with friends Wednesday night! Who would of thought a plain night out to eat could have been so fun. The wait staff here are amazing and so attentive. My friends and I were served by a handsome Roman man who we thought was the owner!
The entire atmosphere was very enjoyable and comfortable. The food was nice but it took too long to come out. The price was a bit average, not too expensive; okay. Just make sure you check the bill, the young Italian lady at the front seemed a bit rude when handy the bill. We normally would have complained and kicked up a stink but the friendly wait staff helped to pass the time and forget about all of that. Definitely coming back again soon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ludovill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing performance from such an elegant looking trattoria”
Reviewed 17 November 2011

The atmosphere is perfect, wonderful position of the old Yai, Surry Hills restaurant. THe wait staff are impeccably dressed and attend patrons appropriately - mainly when the restaurant isn't too busy. Once the wheels start rolling and the palce picks up, staff tend to get flustered and little things liek requests for cutlery, water or the bill fall by the wayside. The food is tasty, but considering the price you'd hope for more than 3-4 mouthfuls in a main. The mains do not generally come with accompaniments which adds additional expenditure. Overall the flashy appearance which promises so much does not deliver. I left hungry, disenchanted and sorely out of pocket.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank orcajellyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't believe commercial radio endorsements”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Dont waste Yr time or money on this restaurant. Twice cooked duck was so dry ... Must have been cooked 22 times. I had snapper with pippies and prawns... Fish was dry and the whole dish had an extremely strong pungent smell could not eat it. Please always check Yr bills ... They did try add a extra item on to the bill ... No apologies for this error.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avalongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Sicilia also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing