We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be staying at 5 star hotels anymore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney
Ranked #9 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I had to stay 6 days in Sydney, first for a medical conference, then for a 2 day training course. Being a frequent business traveller I am used to the Hiltons, the Marriotts and the other luxury big chains, but after staying at the Meriton, why would you bother - especially if for a long stay.

I rented a one bedroom apartment for $210 a night and had a seperate bedroom and large living room. The apartment was near-brand new. The kitchen appliances were perfect and it looked like the oven had never been used. Why would you use an oven when within 2 minutes of stepping outside you are sorrounded by dozens of restaurants. There is a Coles about 5 min walk up George St at World Tower Centre, which also has a liquor store.

Check in was efficient, the staff professional and courteous. You won't get the same degree of sucking up as you get when you check into say Hilton, but no complaints.

The apartment near brand new, the building, elevators all clean tidy and well set out and nice to stay in. I was on the 23rd floor and had a balcony with a partially obstructed view looking south, which wasn't bad.

What especially impressed: while there is a full laundry in the apartment it did not have a drying rack. At 845am I called front desk to ask for one. I was told by the attendant 'housekeeping is not in until 9am but we'll fix it up'. When I returned from work at 5 the drying rack was set up in my room. This is the kind of 'nothing is too difficult service we frequent travellers appreciate'.

What could have been better? For bonus points it would have been nice to have an upgrade to a 2-bedroom unit, or one with a view especially given I was staying 6 nights and if one was avaialble. But hey, no points against them for this : I got everything I expected and paid for.

Top tips: pick up some fresh milk, cereal and bread from Coles up the road, and enjoy cheap healthy breakfasts in the comfort of your room.

Only gripes:
1. even from the 23rd floor you can still hear the sound of the traffic all night long, especially the rumble of cars going over the tram tracks.
2. I had trouble connecting to the Internet. While the rooms have both wireless and LAN connections, you have to connect first over the LAN and then you can get a code for the wireless, but for some reason my laptop wasn't connecting via the wire network, so had to fall back to plan B and use my handy iPad. Also in this day and age hotels shouldn't be charging for Internet access.

Room Tip: Ask for a apartment on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DocM-Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSA-MGT, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear Melbournetraveller18,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. It is such a delight reading your review, and hearing that we have met all your standards for an enjoyable stay. We're glad discerning and experienced travellers such as yourself have discovered a better place to stay and now choose us as their base in Sydney.

Again, on behalf of all our staff, we thank you for choosing the Meriton Serviced Apartments, and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Meriton Serviced Apartments Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,226 - 5,232 of 5,734 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed at the Meriton for two nights. Most of all it's great value for money. You get a modern clean room with a kitchenette for just over $100 a night. I'd stay here anytime. It's right near Chinatown it's pretty easy to get around Sydney from here. If you're an international tourist, maybe stay closer to the harbour side, but if not take advantage of nice affordable accom at the Meriton.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuki_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSA-MGT, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear Yuki_6,

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We're glad you had an enjoyable stay, and found the apartments and location perfect for your needs. The Meriton Serviced Apartments are indeed fantastic value for the luxury accommodation we offer.

On behalf of our staff, we thank you for choosing to stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Meriton Serviced Apartments Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Really impressed with the standard of our studio apartment on the 23rd floor; everything felt brand new, including a very well-equipped kitchen, and an extremely comfortable bed. Spacious, quiet (for the location) and everything worked. Right in the middle of Chinatown, so access to great food in every price range, round the corner from a major bus route and very close to Central Station. Only downside was the exhorbitant charge for Internet access!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkflamingo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSA-MGT, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear Pinkflamingo88,

Thank you very much for your great feedback and for choosing to stay with the Meriton Serviced Apartments. We're glad you had a lovely stay and found the apartments and all the facilities impressive. The internet service is provided by an external company and the charge is in par, if not lower, than other hotels in the city.

Along with our staff, we thank you for choosing us and do look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Meriton Serviced Apartments Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed at this establishment in the period from 7/5/12 to 11/5/12. My experience was positive from the start. I had indicated that I would arrive at approximately 9.000 am expecting to cloak my bags. I was pleasantly surprised to find that I had been flagged for an early book-in. I was told that I would be contacted within the next hour by mobile phone to advise when the room would be available and this is precisely what occurred.

The quality of the studio apartment exceeded my expectations. It was pristinely clean and exceptionally well appointed. A very important amenity is what amounts to a concealed laundry complete with washing machine and drier within the apartment. The queen-sized bed was extremely comfortable. On a value for money basis the room was a steal. The reception staff were in the main very courteous and obliging.

The China Town area in which this establishment is located is very well catered for in terms of eating options. Paddy's Market (market and discount outlets) is in close proximity and on the first floor of this establishment there are coin operated computers which allow affordable access to the internet ($2.00 for one half hour). I was gob-smacked at the fact that I had poached eggs on toast and a latte for $8.50 in a small adjacent Asian cafe. The Town Hall and central station are about 10 minutes easy walk up George Street. There are also Coles and Woolworths supermarkets in George Street which is convenient for persons in serviced apartments.

One criticism I offer is in relation to the provision of tourist information. There is simply none on offer. I had to access a decent sized map of the Sydney CBD and immediate environs from a different source. I also had a couple of other minor quibbles which were dealt with expeditiously and with good humour by the staff. I would not hesitate to stay in these apartments again and would recommend them to family and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raymond01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSA-MGT, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear Raymond01,

Thank you so much for such a lovely feedback and your valuable recommendation. We're glad we've exceeded your expectations, and found the apartments perfect for your needs. They are indeed built for living, and provide all the comforts of home at an exceptionally good value.

On behalf of our wonderful staff, we thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Meriton Serviced Apartments Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

So impressed with my great room, the Nespresso coffee machine (with capsules) and the spacious apartment. Lovely team on Reception who were very helpful, and a great experience all around. Very comfortable bed, I wish I could have stayed longer! Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emma w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSA-MGT, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear Emma W,

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback and recommendation. We're pleased you had a lovely stay, and enjoyed the complete Meriton Serviced Apartments experience.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon, for a much longer stay!

Kind regards,
Meriton Serviced Apartments Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the 16th floor. Loved it. This part of Sydney has changed a lot in recent years and for the better. The rooms are modern and the kitchen in particular was very well equipped. Bedroom off living room, no tv in bedroom. Enjoyed the balcony even though noisy (city noise- air conditioners etc). Note that the 1br units on lower floors (approx 1-9) do not have balconies so check first if this is important to you. Very popular Chat Thai restaurant just out front in Campbell St and busy Coles supermarket nearby in World Square. Staff handled every request we had. No hotel parking. Easy walk from Central Station coming off the airport train.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uneeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSA-MGT, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

Dear Uneeek,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We're glad you had a great stay and enjoyed the lovely apartments, the modern facilities and our bustling location. We're pleased you explored this fantastic side of town, and do look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Again, on behalf of our staff, we thank you for choosing the Meriton Serviced Apartments.

Kind regards,
Meriton Serviced Apartments Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Rooms are a great size. Hotel is in a good location - 15min walk down to circular quay/ darling harbour etc. Facilities include swimming pool, gym & spa. Staff weren't terribly friendly or helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floors don't have a view. Might pay to get one on a higher floor. Didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSA-MGT, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

Dear Rachie11,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We're pleased you had an enjoyable stay, found the apartments spacious and the facilities all catered for. It is unfortunate our staff were unable to showcase the fantastic customer service we have always strived to provide our guests. We do hope you would give us a second chance in proving this to you.

Again, we thank you for choosing the Meriton Serviced Apartments and look forward to welcoming you again soon at one of our 10 locations.

Kind regards,
Meriton Serviced Apartments Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Meriton Suites Zetland
#12 of 181 in Sydney
3,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 181 in Sydney
1,421 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#19 of 181 in Sydney
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney

Address: 6 Campbell Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#1 Business Hotel in Sydney
#4 Family Hotel in Sydney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £92 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the feeling of excitement take over as you make your grand entrance into our chic lobby. Be invited into luxury by our exceptional Guest Services staff, onsite 24 hours a day. Check into one of our 247 beautifully designed suites, spread across a remarkable 39 floors, which all feature spacious floor plans, sophisticated furnishings. Promising better value than a traditional hotel, our oversized Studio Suites, larger than the typical hotel room, offer a kitchenette and internal laundry facilities while our Modern Suites feature additional open plan living spaces to boast the extra comforts of home. Our Fortune Suites will give you the opportunity to unwind by watching the city life go by, from the higher floors of the hotel. Indulge in our exclusive spa and sauna facilities, or maintain your fitness with our fully-equipped fitness centre and heated indoor swimming pool. Situated amongst Chinatown, our guests can experience the Asian culture whilst in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing