We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meriton Suites Campbell Street
Ranked #8 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location great hotel”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed in one bedroom apartment (1610) . Room was located on the southern side of the hotel overlooking Capitol Theatre and did not look into any other buildings. Hotel location is fantastic. Right in the middle of Chinatown with Paddy's market 2 minutes away. Very easy to get to from airport using train straight into Central or Town Hall Stations. Buses close by on Liverpool St if you are heading out to Bondi, and Circular Quay just a nice walk or bus ride away. Apartment very spacious and well equipped with washing machine and dryer and dishwasher in fully equipped kitchen. Split system air conditioners in both bedroom and sitting room. Very very clean. If you are flying out later in the day reception will organize to hold your luggage for you. Make sure you eat at Chat Thai next door. It is very busy as the food is great but if the queue is too long order takeaway and eat in the apartment.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FEV25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSA-MGT, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear FEV25,

Thank you for your fabulous review! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our spacious, fully equipped apartments suitable for all of your needs. As you suggest, our central location is very convenient for our guests, giving access to a variety of transport options to explore Sydney and also to a range of quality restaurants, including the one you have receommended.

Thank you again for your great review. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, next time you are visiting Sydney.

Kind regards,
Meriton Serviced Apartments Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,969
    1,234
    125
    32
    25
See reviews for
764
2,818
404
668
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Great location, 10-min walk to Darling Harbor, 30-min to Opera House. Real friendly staff and very well-serviced room and amenities. I enjoyed the stay! This will be my first choice wheneve I go to Sydney again:)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielYang928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSA-MGT, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Yang Y,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and it is a pleasure to read that we will be your first choice in accommodation when you are in Sydney. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Meriton Serviced Apartments Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012 via mobile

It was a rather spacious room, something we werent expecting in Sydney. Included a washing machine and dryer which we found very useful. Also has a dishwasher, and decent kitchen ware in vase you plan to cook. Free Wifi was lacking.. And if you wanted, you could pay..but pricing was ridiculous.. At five dollars an hour or 18$ a day! We felt slightly disappointed about the (heated) indoor pool as water wasnt warm enough for a comfortable swim in august. The gym however was pleasant with a tv and new equipment.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheKapoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, responded to this review, 22 January 2017
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Meriton Serviced Apartments! We are thrilled to have exceeded your expectations and that our top quality services and facilities were able to leave you with such a positive impression of our brand.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Apartment was great, decent views, good size and in good condition. Location is good, its close to main station and not far from Darling Harbour. The Docks is a 20 min walk as well through main shopping district. Across the road there is access to the free circular bus route around the city and the open top bus tours also have a stop nearby. The apartments have gym and pool as well, which although small, we always were able to get on machines and the pool was always empty.

Overall would use these again if visiting Sydney

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duddsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSA-MGT, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Duddsie,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street and thank you for your great review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our central location to be suitable for all of your needs.

We do look forward to welcoming you back, if you are visiting Sydney again.

Kind regards,
Meriton Serviced Apartments Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in the studio apartment. Their location is great, many eateries around the area. Starbucks is conveniently located directly opposite the hotel. Supermarket is just around the corner within walking distance from Chinatown.
Coles & Woolsworth is within 15mins walking distance.
The room is very clean and nicely designed. Everything look so new. My boyfriend especially love the big LCD TV.
We are so happy and the stay was absolutely worth the price we paid for!

Room Tip: Higher floors have lesser noise from the traffic below
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSA-MGT, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear Christine C,

Thank you for your fabulous review! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our central location suitable for all of your needs.

It is a pleasure to read such positive feedback and I am delighted that you found our apartments great value for money.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, when you are next visiting Australia.

Kind regards,
Meriton Serviced Apartments Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The apartments are very well located a short walk from the station having got the train from the airport. The apartments are really stylish and feel like home. It was great to cook having been in hotels for 2 weeks by then.

Sadly I didn't like the place all that much and can't put my finger on why? Perhaps it's all the rules written everywhere. Don't bring anyone back or else...Don't make any noise after 11 or you will be chucked out without warning...Don't spend more than 20 minutes in the spa... We actually started playing the rules game seeing who could spot 5 different rules first one a new floor. The wife won quickly.

Another disappointment was the single beds - please note Aussie chain hotels - no matter how well tucked together two single beds are not a double bed.

There was also the ridiculous situation where we could not get a lift from the pool floor to ours as it was being used for something else. There were 4-6 elevators (can't remember exactly) yet none stopped at floor 9. You can imagine the frustration when walking through a hotel in towel and swimmers. (this probably broke a rule too). For the first time ever in a hotel we took the fire escape stairs only to find there was no exit onto floor 9. Eventually we made it back to reception to get the lift back to floor 9. Sheer farce. With a very cold explanation and no apology from the reception staff.

Overall the place actually is really good. We just found it a little charmless.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as possible. Floor 9 is nowhere near high enough for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShieldsWeasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSA-MGT, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear ShieldsWeasel,

Thank you for your candid review on Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street. I am pleased to read that you did enjoy your stay and found our apartments to be like a home in comparison to the hotels you were staying in prior.

Thank you also, for your constructive comments regarding the notices we have displayed at various locations around the property. These notices are displayed with our guests comfort in mind. I do apologise if they made you feel uneasy in any way, as this is certainly is not their intent. We would simply like for all of our guests to be able to enjoy their stay with out interuption from others.

I appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback, if you would like to provide further details, please feel free to contact me directly on tripadvisor@meriton.net.au. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back, next time you are visiting Australia.

Kind regards,
Meriton Serviced Apartments Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This is the second time we have used Campbell St apartments when we are flying in or out from Sydney airport. It is so convenient to Central railway and also easy to catch a can. Have booked again for August 30!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSA-MGT, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Colleen D,

Thank you for taking the time to review Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street. It is a pleasure to read that you have once again enjoyed your stay and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back later this month.

Kind regards,
Meriton Serviced Apartments Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Meriton Suites Zetland
#11 of 178 in Sydney
2,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Suites World Tower
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#18 of 178 in Sydney
5,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites Campbell Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites Campbell Street

Property: Meriton Suites Campbell Street
Address: 6 Campbell Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#1 Business Hotel in Sydney
#4 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#13 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Meriton Suites Campbell Street 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the feeling of excitement and wonder take over as you approach our revolving doors and make your grand entrance into our chic and stylish lobby. Be invited into luxury by our professional porter assistance and a team of exceptional Guest Services staff. Check into one of our 247 beautifully designed suites, all of which feature spacious floor plans, sophisticated furnishings and modern facilities that will promise a comfortable stay in style. For the basic necessities, our Classic Studios offer plush king sized bedding, a kitchenette and internal laundry while our Modern Suites feature additional open plan living spaces to boast the extra comforts of a suite apartment. Our Fortune Suites will give you the opportunity to relax and unwind by watching the city life go peacefully by. Treat yourself to a relaxation session in our first class spa and sauna facilities or maintain your fitness regime with our fully-equipped fitness centre and 20 metre heated indoor lap pool. Soak your muscles in reinvigorating designer bathroom amenities and put your feet up to a daily serviced suite. Make the most of our complimentary Wi-Fi and keep connected from all areas of the hotel, including your suite. Situated amongst the vibrant atmosphere of Chinatown, our guests are able to experience the local Asian culture whilst staying in the heart of the city. Explore the delicious cuisines, markets and stalls found in the masses along the neighbourhood. Venture along the bustling streets to reach World Square Shopping Centre only a block away and find all the specialty retailers you can imagine at Pitt Street Mall only moments further. Our prime location in the heart of Sydney's entertainment precinct means our guests are spoilt with boundless entertainment options. Guests are able to cross the road and catch the latest live show in town at Sydney's Capitol Theatre or visit the IMAX theatre, home to the world's largest cinema screen. Discover something unique at Paddy's Market, located only moments away in Haymarket. At the markets, you'll find an array of fashion, accessories, homewares, souvenirs, fresh flowers and fresh produce from hundreds of stall holders all under the one roof. The market's fresh produce is the best place to purchase delicious fruit and vegetables, perfect to snack on whilst sightseeing in Sydney, or even take back some ingredients and cook up a storm in the luxury of your suite. See all the sights around Sydney, including Circular Quay, the historical Rocks area and Darling Harbour with our convenient location only minutes away from public transport. Central Railway station is also the main terminus for intercity lines, transporting our guests to Sydney's surrounds such as the magical Blue Mountains, the Central Coast and Newcastle as well as Bondi and the scenic South Coast. With top quality and better value, travellers will find ultimate luxury when they choose to stay at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Meriton Suites Campbell Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing