We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find... don't tell too many people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“What a great find... don't tell too many people”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Normally I stay in a hotel when I travel to Sydney .. This trip we were going to be there for 10 days and so I decided to try on of the self contained apartments . What a treat .. The staff were great , the apartments were clean and the location convenient .. All the amenities were new and well looked after . I will be staying there again .. We stayed in the Campbell street apartments and it was next door to an amazing Thai Restaurant .. Not "watered down Thai " but authentic Thai cuisine like you would get in Bangkok .. It is a short walk to the city , China town , Central or Town Hall stations and there was always a cab just outside the front door ... There is Free Wifi in the foyer and in the rooms ( take note Hilton ) and they will store your luggage if you are too early or wanting to look around when you check out . Well done Meriton .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Kevin C,

Thank you for your excellent feedback. You have summed up exactly why were are currently number 1 on Trip advisor.

We really are situated in a great part of the city close to the many areas you have mentioned.

I was very pleased to read you found your apartment accommodating and suitable to your extended trip to Sydney. Designed ideally for those travelling away from home for extended periods and equipped with built in kitchens and laundry facilities Meriton Campbell Street is a fantastic accommodation option.

Kevin C, thank you again for taking the time share such positive feedback on your recent stay. Together with the Team, we look forward to hosting your next visit to Sydney.

Kind regards,
Rhys A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,043
    1,266
    131
    33
    25
See reviews for
785
2,857
414
694
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sausalito
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

When thinking about this hotel, it's important to know that it is not a hotel but a "serviced" apartment, which means a large room with a kitchenette. When the maid came in to clean my room, she folded the towels, emptied the trash and asked me if I wanted her to make the bed ("Of course!!!), and was done in five minutes. Apparently, full cleanings only come only periodically or with an extra fee. Don't expect a bar and restaurant in the lobby, a daily cleaning or much else in the way of service beyond what the two hardworking people can do at the front desk. This property does offer good, modern space in a new building for the money. On the negative side, the location is a bit sketchy, especially at night. I've stayed in six different hotels in Sydney, but this was my first time away from the harbor or the park. I didn't even know Sydney had a sketchy side, but being near the train station this neighborhood attracts vagrants. It was not a happy area to come back to in the evening and I did not feel safe. In the morning, the neighborhood is fine with a handy Starbucks across the street. The pool looked better in the photos than in reality, and I never saw anyone using it, tucked in a dark corner of the complex. The spa was out of order during my visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear James K,

Thank you for your recent review.

I was disappointed to read your stay with us did not meet your expectations. I am surprised with regards to your comments on our location. We are not located in the "tourist" end of town, but most of our guests enjoy what the southern end of the city has to offer. With Chinatown just next door, the local area is vibrant and lively with restaurants, bars and shops in every which way.
I have never had feedback mentioning that guests do not feel safe, but of course we are all entitled to an opinion.

I do apologise that the spa was out of order during your visit. I must disagreed with your comments that the pool is tucked into a dark corner of the complex... Most of our guests enjoy the recreational facilities located on Level 12 and comment that they are large, modern and clean.

Thank you again for your review, together with the Team we wish you all the best in the future.

Kind regards,
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

We just had 2 nights stay in an studio apartment and have to agree with the no1 title the guys have been given.

Room was perfect, location was spot on with cheap shopping, public transport and plenty of eating places nearby.
Couldn't fault the staff, we were given early checkin and late checkout.

Studio was perfect for two, plenty of room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear matyd,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with Meriton Campbell Street.

It is always rewarding to receive positive feedback of our apartments. I was also glad to read our team were able to accommodate the early check in and late checkout requested.

Thank you again for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I thoroughly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed for 1 night whilst attending the Addams Family. Beautiful appointed studio room. Plenty big enough with king bed. Asked for quiet room - got that. Liked that you could open window to let in fresh air. Couldnt fault. Would definitely stay again and recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear evking,
If you are in town to see a show at the great Capitol Theatre, you cannot find better accommodation in my opinion. Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street is ideally located directly across the road from the theatre.

Thank you for sharing your recent review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to read you thoroughly enjoyed your time in Sydney and your apartment. Our apartments are a fantastic accommodation option whether your staying for one night or a while..

We look forward to your next visit to Sydney.

Kind regards
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My husband and I flew in from California on March 1 at around 10:00 a.m., and although our room wasn’t quite ready, the front desk staff kindly stored our suitcases and asked us to return in about an hour. There was no shortage of wonderful cafes on George Street, so we had breakfast and returned, to find our room all ready. We were just delighted with the studio room, especially since it was so crisp, clean and spacious. That evening we had a great sleep on the comfy bed and awoke ready to check out the area. Sure enough, we were within walking distance to Paddy’s Market and all the great shops and stores in the Haymarket/Chinatown areas. Since we were about to take a cruise on the Oosterdam in a couple of days, we decided to do an early morning walk from the Meriton to check out Barangaroo Wharf, which took us about forty-five minutes. We walked under the Harbour Bridge and were within striking distance of the Opera House. It was an invigorating walk and gave us a personal and up-close experience of Sydney’s bustling downtown area. On our departure day our checkout was seamless, and we were able to get a taxi right outside to take us to Barangaroo Wharf. The ride was approximately eight minutes and cost us $20AUS, including a tip. I have to say that both my husband and I really loved our stay at the Meriton Campbell Street and we hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathleenhoverter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear KathleenSanDiego,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback.

It sounds like you enjoyed your time in Sydney all together! I agree, our central location is great for guests looking to explore Sydney and its surroundings.

I’m glad you found our apartments accommodating and comfortable for your trip to Sydney. Designed ideally for the adventurous traveller planning their daily activities, coming home to a refreshed spacious apartment in the heart of city is always a delightful feeling.

Again, thank you for reviewing your recent stay. Together with the team, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This is the best suit hotel for us, we went to sydney in business/pleasure trip many times this few years and we always stayed with them. The room is clean comfy with working spaces i needed also there's great kitchen apparatus provided so you can shuck food in microwave or heated up some milk over the stove before rushing to meeting. washing machine and dryer provided too, so you dont have to carry load of clothes as you can wash n dry them here. Overall, It feels like home to me. Definately stay with them again! Oh, friendly staff too.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raiteamtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Raiteamtan,
Thank you sharing your recent experience with Meriton Apartments Campbell Street.

It is very rewarding to read such wonderful comments and feedback of our apartments. I was actually most delighted to read you found comfort “just like home” as this is what we are all about.

Meriton Serviced Apartments understand the needs of traveller. Whether your time is spent on business or holidaying, our apartment are sure to tick all your accommodation needs for comfort, convenience and exceptional customer service

Raiteamtan, thank you again for your kind comments on our property and staff. We look forward welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Rhys A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Our recent weekend stay at the Meriton was a lovely experience, from the professional, friendly and thoughtful approach of Shawn at reception to the spacious and beautifully appointed studio apartment. Just a short walk from Central Station with good restaurants and cafes nearby, it is ideally located. The availability of the pool is a real bonus. We certainly recommend Meriton highly.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bluepepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhys A, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Bluepepper,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such positive feedback about your recent stay.

It is most rewarding to hear excellent comments on the service you experienced and I am happy to know you were able take advantage of our apartment’s surroundings.

Thank you for your special mention to Shawn. It is always nice to receive such positive feedback for our staff as it is continually motivates us to exceed our guests expectations

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards,
Rhys A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Meriton Suites Zetland
#10 of 178 in Sydney
2,976 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Suites World Tower
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney

Property: Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney
Address: 6 Campbell Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sydney
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#4 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the feeling of excitement and wonder take over as you approach our revolving doors and make your grand entrance into our chic and stylish lobby. Be invited into luxury by our professional porter assistance and a team of exceptional Guest Services staff. Check into one of our 247 beautifully designed suites, all of which feature spacious floor plans, sophisticated furnishings and modern facilities that will promise a comfortable stay in style. For the basic necessities, our Classic Studios offer plush king sized bedding, a kitchenette and internal laundry while our Modern Suites feature additional open plan living spaces to boast the extra comforts of a suite apartment. Our Fortune Suites will give you the opportunity to relax and unwind by watching the city life go peacefully by. Treat yourself to a relaxation session in our first class spa and sauna facilities or maintain your fitness regime with our fully-equipped fitness centre and 20 metre heated indoor lap pool. Soak your muscles in reinvigorating designer bathroom amenities and put your feet up to a daily serviced suite. Make the most of our complimentary Wi-Fi and keep connected from all areas of the hotel, including your suite. Situated amongst the vibrant atmosphere of Chinatown, our guests are able to experience the local Asian culture whilst staying in the heart of the city. Explore the delicious cuisines, markets and stalls found in the masses along the neighbourhood. Venture along the bustling streets to reach World Square Shopping Centre only a block away and find all the specialty retailers you can imagine at Pitt Street Mall only moments further. Our prime location in the heart of Sydney's entertainment precinct means our guests are spoilt with boundless entertainment options. Guests are able to cross the road and catch the latest live show in town at Sydney's Capitol Theatre or visit the IMAX theatre, home to the world's largest cinema screen. Discover something unique at Paddy's Market, located only moments away in Haymarket. At the markets, you'll find an array of fashion, accessories, homewares, souvenirs, fresh flowers and fresh produce from hundreds of stall holders all under the one roof. The market's fresh produce is the best place to purchase delicious fruit and vegetables, perfect to snack on whilst sightseeing in Sydney, or even take back some ingredients and cook up a storm in the luxury of your suite. See all the sights around Sydney, including Circular Quay, the historical Rocks area and Darling Harbour with our convenient location only minutes away from public transport. Central Railway station is also the main terminus for intercity lines, transporting our guests to Sydney's surrounds such as the magical Blue Mountains, the Central Coast and Newcastle as well as Bondi and the scenic South Coast. With top quality and better value, travellers will find ultimate luxury when they choose to stay at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing