We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They do just about everything right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This very modern apartment/hotel is superbly situated - virtually on George St., where all the action is, yet quiet, right in Thai town and very close to Chinatown and the Central RR station. Elevators are fast, efficient, and talk to you. The studio apartments have a kitchen and washer/dryer, well furnished, and very spacious. The A/C works well and quietly, and is independently switched from the card slot at the door, so that it can run when you are not there, maintaining room temp. The drapes are black-out, for late sleepers. There is one window that opens partly, for fresh air freaks. There are plenty of plugs for the modern electronic traveler.
The fitness room is well equipped (tho no recumbent bike), with pool, sauna, and hot tub. The hotel provides 1GB/day of internet free - as it should be everywhere.
While there is no dedicated concierge desk, the receptionists are knowledgeable and very welcoming and helpful.
The only negatives: no towels at the pool or fitness center. The bathroom has mediocre to poor lighting for shaving, and no shaving mirror.

Room Tip: Facing Campbell street, or on the courtyard side.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear MHSanFrancisco,

Thank you for choosing to stay here at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street.

It is pleasing to read such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us. Our apartments are designed for living. Having a fully equipped kitchen and laundry within a spacious living space means our guests can stay in comfort and feel at home whilst staying with us.

Being conveniently located within the CBD and being within walking distance to all the major sights in Sydney allows you to see and do something exciting throughout your stay, whether it is exploring our many attraction or dining out at the many different restaurants within the CBD.

MHSanFrancisco, thank you for your review and on behalf of the team here, we thoroughly look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Sydney.

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,560)
There are newer reviews for Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,474 - 3,480 of 5,560 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

So as travelers who have never been to Sydney, my girlfriend and I had no idea that Hayworth, where this specific Meriton is located is actually smack in the middle of Chinatown. We wanted to experience Sydney's culture, not a microcosm of such. Nowhere does the Meriton note that they are in the middle of Chinatown. The hotel itself was great but due to its location, which the Meriton is discreet about, I can only give an Average rating.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SLPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear SLPY,

Thank you for your review.

It is wonderful that you chose to stay here at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street on your first trip to Sydney and you found our apartments to be great.

It is however disappointing to read that you did not like the location of our apartments being in China Town, as this information is provided on all our booking engines state that we are located in Haymarket close to China Town. Please accept my sincerest apology if this was not made clear to you at the time of booking.

SLPY, thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back to Meriton in the future.

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Right in Chinatown and a short walk from everything, but clean and serene. I asked for a quiet room and got one with a phenomenal view but no street noise at all on 26th floor. Kitchen is great and well-equipped, though who would want to cook with all these great restaurants? Helpful hotel staff. A shout-out to Sourabh for replacing my key!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Lisa Z,

Welcome to TripAdvisor and thank you for making us your first review.

It is wonderful that you found our apartments to be a lovely place to stay. Our staff aims to ensure our guests feel comfortable and welcome from the moment you arrive. It is great that you received a quiet room on a high floor after requesting it.

Thank you for your feedback in regards to our staff being helpful and especially to Sourabh, I have passed your comments onto him and he is thrilled! It is feedback such as yours which motivates our team to continually strive for customer service excellence.

Lisa Z, we look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you visit Sydney.

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Our apartment was clean, spacious, quiet and very well equipped. One could even open the windows for some fresh air !! The hotel staff were courteous and very helpful. The location is central and most points of interest in the city are within walking distance. Coles and Woolworth grocery stores are closeby as well as many smaller shops serving prepared food ready for takeout. We'd recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidgerdmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear davidgerdmoore,

Thank you for your five star review.

It is pleasing to read that you found our apartments to be a great place to stay whilst in Sydney. Meriton designs our apartments for comfort and living in mind. With a fully equipped kitchen and laundry within each of our spacious apartments makes us a great place to stay, whether you are staying a night or staying a while. It is fabulous that you were able to experience staying with us and you found our staff to be courteous and helpful.

Davidgerdmoore, thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at the Meriton on Campbell Street following a cruise. We found the location very convenient to explore Sydney. The room was spacious and the staff very helpful with suggestions for our visit. We only wish we could have stayed longer. We liked the free wifi. There were reasonable restaurants nearby. Many sights were within walking distance. We also used the hop on- hope off tour bus.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Dianne W,

Thank you for your lovely review.

It is fantastic that you enjoyed your stay and you wanted to stay longer! Being conveniently located within the CBD and having all major transport options within walking distance to the apartment allows you to see and do something exciting throughout your stay. It is great that you experienced the Hop on and Hop off tour bus as it is a great way to be able to explore the city and Bondi in comfort.

Dianne W, thank you again for your review and we look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Sydney in the future.

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

great base to explore Sydney from, very clean with all the amenities you will need, all staff very friendly. Had a problem trying to order a food delivery by phone from the menu's in the room folder and the call's were removed from our bill as they said they could not deliver which was a nice gesture. Very pleased with the Whole stay

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cassie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear cassie p,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay here at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street.

It is pleasing to read that you had a relaxing stay. As you mentioned, our location coupled with our friendly staff and clean apartments makes us a great play to stay. It is wonderful that you found us to be a great base to explore Sydney.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the problem you experienced with one of our Room Service providers, however it is great that these charges were removed from your final bill.

Cassie p, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Have stayed at the Meriton on Campbell St twice now and overall really like the place.
The rooms are huge, clean and comfortable with kitchen and lounge areas. This part of Sydney is perhaps my favourite area of town with it's proximity to World Sq, China Town and Darling Harbour. There's a lot of 'cheap eats' in the area in what can be a horribly expensive city and you can of course cook in the apartment if needed.

My only gripe is that it's becoming a very expensive place to stay, I paid up to $375 a night for a 1 bed apt which is excessive and why I can only give it 4/5 overall.

Room Tip: Actually preferred the Studio vs the 1 bed apartment. Save yourself some money and opt for the cheap...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Room_204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Room_204,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay here at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street

It is pleasing to read that this was the second time you have stayed with us and you like staying here. Our apartments are designed for living. With everything you need to be self-sufficient within a spacious apartment, including free Wi-Fi, it makes travelling away from home much easier.

Why not sign up to our MSA e-news? This can be done directly on our Meriton website which means you will receive emails with the latest discounts and rates for all our Meriton Properties within NSW and QLD. This is a great way to continually receive a great price for your stay.

Room_204, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Meriton Suites Zetland
#10 of 178 in Sydney
3,049 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Suites World Tower, Sydney
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney

Address: 6 Campbell Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sydney
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#4 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £97 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the feeling of excitement and wonder take over as you approach our revolving doors and make your grand entrance into our chic and stylish lobby. Be invited into luxury by our professional porter assistance and a team of exceptional Guest Services staff. Check into one of our 247 beautifully designed suites, all of which feature spacious floor plans, sophisticated furnishings and modern facilities that will promise a comfortable stay in style. For the basic necessities, our Classic Studios offer plush king sized bedding, a kitchenette and internal laundry while our Modern Suites feature additional open plan living spaces to boast the extra comforts of a suite apartment. Our Fortune Suites will give you the opportunity to relax and unwind by watching the city life go peacefully by. Treat yourself to a relaxation session in our first class spa and sauna facilities or maintain your fitness regime with our fully-equipped fitness centre and 20 metre heated indoor lap pool. Soak your muscles in reinvigorating designer bathroom amenities and put your feet up to a daily serviced suite. Make the most of our complimentary Wi-Fi and keep connected from all areas of the hotel, including your suite. Situated amongst the vibrant atmosphere of Chinatown, our guests are able to experience the local Asian culture whilst staying in the heart of the city. Explore the delicious cuisines, markets and stalls found in the masses along the neighbourhood. Venture along the bustling streets to reach World Square Shopping Centre only a block away and find all the specialty retailers you can imagine at Pitt Street Mall only moments further. Our prime location in the heart of Sydney's entertainment precinct means our guests are spoilt with boundless entertainment options. Guests are able to cross the road and catch the latest live show in town at Sydney's Capitol Theatre or visit the IMAX theatre, home to the world's largest cinema screen. Discover something unique at Paddy's Market, located only moments away in Haymarket. At the markets, you'll find an array of fashion, accessories, homewares, souvenirs, fresh flowers and fresh produce from hundreds of stall holders all under the one roof. The market's fresh produce is the best place to purchase delicious fruit and vegetables, perfect to snack on whilst sightseeing in Sydney, or even take back some ingredients and cook up a storm in the luxury of your suite. See all the sights around Sydney, including Circular Quay, the historical Rocks area and Darling Harbour with our convenient location only minutes away from public transport. Central Railway station is also the main terminus for intercity lines, transporting our guests to Sydney's surrounds such as the magical Blue Mountains, the Central Coast and Newcastle as well as Bondi and the scenic South Coast. With top quality and better value, travellers will find ultimate luxury when they choose to stay at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing