We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
Ranked #8 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Have stayed in Meriton Campbell for 12 nights in April and enjoyed my stay,

I have to divide my review in to 2 parts as i stayed in 2 different rooms. I will come back to this a bit later in the review,

We arrived on an early flight from Singapore (started in Amsterdam) at around 6 AM and were in our apartment around 7.30 AM. Key to keep in mind is that these are serviced apartments and not a hotel. Some basic facilties such as concierge, business center etc are missing. However having stayed in Shanghai Marriot apartment thise services were present.For us it was not a big deal at all.

The check-in was funny as they could not locate my reservation from booking.com. Due to the early arrival i had already booked an apartment the day before so we could immeditaly go to the apartment. I had also called ahead and the note would be made to my reservation that i would arrive the next day. Booking.com also informed them about this.

After stating my name and presenting my passport I was asked 3 times if the name on the booking was correct and if i had booked at the Campbellstreet location. Only after mentioning that i had already booked an apartment the day before she could locate the reservation. I always book 1 day ahead and this is the first place they have a system that can't handle that.

The lady that did the check-in was not the friendliest so our first impression was not real good. However during our stay it turned out she was the exception as all the other staff were really friendly, polite and attentive, If we had a question we would wait until a colleague was free else come back..

Now off to the apartment. We had a studio and it was very modern and clean plus we had a nice view. The kitchen was modern and had all the equipment one would need. Very convienent washer and dryer as well.

We did however had some minor issues with this apartment:

1. the bed was placed in a very strange angle which made it impossible to watch tv from the bed. I know that this sound stupid, but we are the types that like to relax after a long day of tourist stuff by watching some tv from the bed and then fall a sleep.

2. The lights in the room were of the Chinese fastfood place at night type e.g. TL lights. Very clinical and not warm at all. The same lights are in the bathroom. First time i have seen these lights in a hotel or apartment. Reading some earlier reviews I am not the only one noticing. Also the bathroom is poorly lit. Also there is no lightswitch near the bedside, only at the front door.

3. Very unlogical bathroom as the floor outside the shower would get completely wet when showering and the main door openend to the inside smashing on to the bathroom shower door. the design of teh floor is not that good. Also there are cabinets behind the mirror and when you stand in front of the sink your view is blocked by the cabinetdoors as the close directly above the middle sink leaving an opening. you would then have to shift to the left but due to the poor lighting this was not nice.


4. not a lot of outlets and if you would need one you would have to shift around some furniture to access one.

All on all not major issues but combined enough to check if there is a room with another layout. Being 15.000 km from home some comfort levels are needed.

Next day there was a new lady at reception and she was very friendly. She did mention that the rooms ending in XX04 have these issues (mainly layout) and i was not the first to mention this. We could move into another studio with a different layout later that day. And so we did and the new studio was a bit smaller but very nice. Good layout, clean, bigger bathroom with good lighting and no water on the floor. Issue with outlets remained and in some parts also the chinese lights. However still an excellent room.

the location is in China / Thaitown area and is 5 min walk to Central station, easy bus access and a 30 min walk to Darling Harbour and the Quay area. It is a busy area especially during weekends

A lot of restaurants, and shops nearby so no issue here. Also for trips to Blue Mountains and Bondi we just took an early train because of close access to Central station.

Taxi's are direct in front of the Meriton so we simply took 1 back to the airport.

Would recommened this property overall.

Room Tip: do not take a room ending in 04
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Imro,

First of all thank you for writing such a detailed review. It is always a pleasure read about a guest’s experience of our property.

Overall it is very positive to read that you enjoyed your stay, found most staff to be friendly and attentive. We really do work hard at Meriton to be of service for our guests, so it is most encouraging to see that we were able to fulfill your customer service needs.

I love that you described our apartments to be modern, clean, and have a nice view! Convenience is something which is paramount to our target market, so it the fact you were able to make great use of the appliances during your stay is perfect.

It is disappointing to read that your first impressions were a little sour, but I am delighted that the rest of your stay was positive. Thank you for your feedback in regards to your arrival. I have spoken to the front desk team to ensure they are efficient and friendly throughout the check in process.

All of your comments about room design, especially in regard to the bathroom have been duly noted. We really value all of the points that were raised, and these will certainly be used in conjunction with future development within the Meriton brand.

Imro, thank you for your recommendations, and we look forward to having you back with us very soon.

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,966
    1,229
    124
    32
    25
See reviews for
763
2,813
404
666
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

These apartments are first class. The only downside was the reception staff we met 4 and 3 were not very pleasant. They weren't rude but every question was a chore to answer, and they made you feel as if you shouldn't be there. Having said all that the place is well worth visiting as the facilities location etc are great,

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Chris G,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review after your recent stay with us.

It is pleasing to read that you found our apartments to be first class and worth visiting, however it is disappointing to read your comments about the staff. These comments certainly do sound out of character as typically our guests consistently comment on the fantastic service provided by the front desk team. Please accept my sincerest apologies and I appreciate your feedback and have passed your comments onto the front desk team, to ensure that this does not occur in the future.

Chris G, thank you for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back to Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street in the future.

Warm Regards,

Amanda C
Acting Senior Manager on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The apartments are nice and modern with all the services needed. But what really sets this place apart is its staff, from check in to check out they were extremely helpful and polite. They have great knowledge of the area and are an asset to the hotel. The apartment is well place for Darling Harbour, which is a short walk away, and is great for getting the free bus in to Circle Quay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonjon1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear jonjon1971,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay.

Our aim here at Meriton is to ensure our guests feel welcome and comfortable from the moment you walk into our lobby. It is wonderful that you were impressed with our front desk team, finding them extremely helpful and polite. It is feedback such as yours which is used as a motivating tool for our team who continually strive for customer service excellence. It is fantastic that you were able to experience staying in our nice and modern apartments.

jonjon1971, thank you again for your review, we look forward to hosting you on your next return to Sydney.

Warm Regards,

Amanda C
Acting Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Once again Meriton on Campbell - you didn't let us down! Stunning check in - from another Meriton (world tower) early. We stay with these guys a lot and the room was immaculate as usual. Can't fault a single thing. The pool was great, the safe broken but all fixed right away. Looking forward to next time Meriton on Campbell!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vicbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear vicbrett,

Thank you for your five star review.

It is fantastic that you chose to stay with us again and you were not disappointed. I have passed your comments onto the team and they are thrilled that you had an excellent stay and could not find any faults.

vicbrett, thank you again for your review, we look forward to your next return to Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street.

Warm Regards,

Amanda C
Acting Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We spent four nights in the Campbell Street Meriton apartments. The property is based in Chinatown area which is a busy district and not as pristine as the central business area. Having said that, the apartment is very well placed - only short walk to Darling Harbour in one direction and the high end shops, QVB and cafés,restaurants etc in the other. The staff were efficient and the apartment itself was immaculate. We had a studio apartment which was compact but had excellent amenities. We did not have a view of the city from our room as our room faced inwards toward other apartments. There is a small gym and pool (no scales!) for those of us with the energy left after a day of sight seeing!

Room Tip: Always ask for high floor and room facing away from street cos it's a noisy area at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cae47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear cae47,

Thank you for choosing to stay here at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street.

It is wonderful that you had a great four night stay. Being situated where we are means our guests can easily explore the city and surrounding suburbs with ease, whether it is to dine at the abundance of restaurants or see the sights of Sydney. It is great that you were able to experience all of this including our clean and spacious apartments.

cae47, thank you again for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Amanda C
Acting Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Immaculate premium well equipped apartment in great location in China town perfect for sight seeing in Sydney. Loved the washer and dryer so we could return home with clean clothes no washing :-) would recommend

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Pix99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Pix99,

Thank you for leaving a five star review!

It is very pleasing to read that you have enjoyed our property so much. It really is great to have everything on hand when you are away. As each apartment contains a fully equipped kitchen and laundry this mean our guests can travel with peace of mind. No one will ever have to bring their dirty washing home again!

Pix99, thank you again for your recommendation, we look forward to having you stay with again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I have stayed at Meriton in CBD Sydney, Zetland and QLD.
Meriton is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed at and always try to stay at one wherever I travel. Great service, facilities and AMAZING rooms.
We also got a complimentary additional hour to check out too which is great after a night out in Sydney.
Their prices are very reasonable for the quality and I would recommend them to anyone.

Room Tip: I have stayed in both a studio and a 2 bedroom apartment at the Meriton. The studios are huge in com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Christina L,

WOW! It is always lovely to hear from a repeat visitor, especially someone who always tries to stay with us.

Thank you for your comments; we do pride ourselves as market leaders in the serviced apartment industry. Thank you for acknowledging the great facilities we offer with 24 hour reception, complimentary Wi-Fi, heated indoor pool, gym, and saunas!

I love that you were able to take advantage of a complimentary late checkout; it really can make all the difference to your stay at Meriton. We also offer value for money at Meriton by offering competitive rates all year round.

Chrisitina L, we really do appreciate your comments and feedback. We look forward to hosting you again in the not too distant future!

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Meriton Suites Zetland
#11 of 178 in Sydney
2,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments World Tower
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 178 in Sydney
5,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street

Property: Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
Address: 6 Campbell Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#1 Business Hotel in Sydney
#4 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#15 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the feeling of excitement and wonder take over as you approach our revolving doors and make your grand entrance into our chic and stylish lobby. Be invited into luxury by our professional porter assistance and a team of exceptional Guest Services staff. Check into one of our 247 beautifully designed suites, all of which feature spacious floor plans, sophisticated furnishings and modern facilities that will promise a comfortable stay in style. For the basic necessities, our Classic Studios offer plush king sized bedding, a kitchenette and internal laundry while our Modern Suites feature additional open plan living spaces to boast the extra comforts of a suite apartment. Our Fortune Suites will give you the opportunity to relax and unwind by watching the city life go peacefully by. Treat yourself to a relaxation session in our first class spa and sauna facilities or maintain your fitness regime with our fully-equipped fitness centre and 20 metre heated indoor lap pool. Soak your muscles in reinvigorating designer bathroom amenities and put your feet up to a daily serviced suite. Make the most of our complimentary Wi-Fi and keep connected from all areas of the hotel, including your suite. Situated amongst the vibrant atmosphere of Chinatown, our guests are able to experience the local Asian culture whilst staying in the heart of the city. Explore the delicious cuisines, markets and stalls found in the masses along the neighbourhood. Venture along the bustling streets to reach World Square Shopping Centre only a block away and find all the specialty retailers you can imagine at Pitt Street Mall only moments further. Our prime location in the heart of Sydney's entertainment precinct means our guests are spoilt with boundless entertainment options. Guests are able to cross the road and catch the latest live show in town at Sydney's Capitol Theatre or visit the IMAX theatre, home to the world's largest cinema screen. Discover something unique at Paddy's Market, located only moments away in Haymarket. At the markets, you'll find an array of fashion, accessories, homewares, souvenirs, fresh flowers and fresh produce from hundreds of stall holders all under the one roof. The market's fresh produce is the best place to purchase delicious fruit and vegetables, perfect to snack on whilst sightseeing in Sydney, or even take back some ingredients and cook up a storm in the luxury of your suite. See all the sights around Sydney, including Circular Quay, the historical Rocks area and Darling Harbour with our convenient location only minutes away from public transport. Central Railway station is also the main terminus for intercity lines, transporting our guests to Sydney's surrounds such as the magical Blue Mountains, the Central Coast and Newcastle as well as Bondi and the scenic South Coast. With top quality and better value, travellers will find ultimate luxury when they choose to stay at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing