We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, reasonably priced clean aprtments”
Review of Meriton Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meriton Suites
Ranked #8 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

In the heart of George Street near to the Thai and Chinese markets, Meriton at Campbell Street was ideally located near the bus stop, train station, massage parlours, bars, restaurants and everything Sydney has to offer. Great apartments at great price. This was my second stay and I would highly recommend. The staff are super friendly and will go out on a limb for you.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank voygr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear voygr,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay.

It is wonderful that this was your second stay with us and you highly recommend our apartments! As you mentioned, our convenient location coupled with our friendly staff and fully equipped apartments makes us a great choice for travellers. It is wonderful that you found both our apartments and the price great.

Voygr, we look forward to hosting you on your next return to Sydney.

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,365 - 3,371 of 5,641 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights in Sydney at the Meriton and what a pleasure it was to find this place.The staff were pleasant and helpful,the studio was spotless and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in.Forgot to check the brand.This is equal to 5 star and I will stay at Meriton again.Lyn M

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Lyn M,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

It is fantastic to read that you found the staff pleasant and helpful. As you can see by the number of positive reviews we receive, customer service really is a focal point for Meriton Serviced Apartments. Attention to detail is something we pride ourselves on; finding our rooms both ‘spotless’ and the ‘most comfortable bedding’ is pleasing to read.

Once again Lyn M, we appreciate your comments and feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I spent two months at the Meriton Serviced Apartments on Campbell Street for work in Sydney with a bit of holiday mixed in . Though my overall rating is "very good", the Meriton does some things better than others. I will try to break it down in specific examples:

Front desk staff: Excellent! Amie, Alex and Sourab were particularly excellent. Attentive, courteous, helpful, knowledgable.

Apartments: Very good. Really not a luxury property but contains all of the amenities needed to be self-sufficient - and these are generally of good quality. Bedding is excellent. Bathroom average. Dishes and utensils a bit lacking. Heating/AC can be awkward to use (e..g, the unit in the main living area blows out a lot of air, even at the "auto" setting and the unit in the bedroom was noisy) but generally do the job. We were on a top floor and had a nice view of the city. But you pay more for this.

Housekeeping: Average. Had to ask for extra towels or even toilet tissue when not enough left in apartment during weekly visits (for long-term stay guests). Weekly visit was fine for us - However, I would recommend to hotel that they ensure that long-term guests have adequate resources for the following week.

Problems requiring service: Average. Meriton service staff are quick to try to solve the problem and very polite, but effectiveness can be somewhat lacking (and they seem rushed). Had to ask for same problem to be fixed on multiple occasions (e.g., shower door) until it was finally repaired. Had sense that problem-solving was not a strength in general of this company (see next comment as well).

Communication among Meriton "Divisions": Poor. I think this was the most problematic aspect of our stay. There appear to be several separate components comprising the Meriton (e.g., specific hotel staff, long-term stay staff, short-term reservations staff, etc.) who do not communicate very effectively with one-another. This led to problems with inappropriate billing and other issues.

Location: excellent (but there are several other Meriton properties close by this one).

Final comment: Be aware of the no-refund policy for long-term stay deposits. We had a serious medical problem and death in the family that delayed our departure by a week. Meriton was unsympathetic. (Though I note that their no-refund policy is clearly stated out in their materials online.)

Overall we would recommend this hotel to guests for whom a property in Sydney CBD is advantageous or convenient for holiday or work.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alreiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Aleram6,

It is pleasing to read such a thorough review. Your comments, feedback, and recommendations are all appreciated.

Overall it is fantastic that you found our front desk team to be excellent. Your comments have been passed on to the team in recognition for their great work. Customer service is a major focus for our brand, and it is great to see you were able to appreciate our efforts in this area.

Meriton apartments are designed for living, so it is a compliment that you found them to be very good overall with a great quality fixtures and fittings.

It is disappointing the read you found our housekeeping service to be average. The points you have made about housekeeping, especially in regard to long stay guests will be taken into consideration. All of your feedback will be handed over to appropriate department heads for quality and training purposes.

Meriton is a large company with many departments which help with the efficiency of the business and customer service. On this occasion it seems we missed the mark in regard to communication and for this please accept my sincerest apologies.

Thank you once again Aleram 6 for posting a review. We hope to welcome you back in the future to one of our properties.

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Have stayed in Meriton Campbell for 12 nights in April and enjoyed my stay,

I have to divide my review in to 2 parts as i stayed in 2 different rooms. I will come back to this a bit later in the review,

We arrived on an early flight from Singapore (started in Amsterdam) at around 6 AM and were in our apartment around 7.30 AM. Key to keep in mind is that these are serviced apartments and not a hotel. Some basic facilties such as concierge, business center etc are missing. However having stayed in Shanghai Marriot apartment thise services were present.For us it was not a big deal at all.

The check-in was funny as they could not locate my reservation from booking.com. Due to the early arrival i had already booked an apartment the day before so we could immeditaly go to the apartment. I had also called ahead and the note would be made to my reservation that i would arrive the next day. Booking.com also informed them about this.

After stating my name and presenting my passport I was asked 3 times if the name on the booking was correct and if i had booked at the Campbellstreet location. Only after mentioning that i had already booked an apartment the day before she could locate the reservation. I always book 1 day ahead and this is the first place they have a system that can't handle that.

The lady that did the check-in was not the friendliest so our first impression was not real good. However during our stay it turned out she was the exception as all the other staff were really friendly, polite and attentive, If we had a question we would wait until a colleague was free else come back..

Now off to the apartment. We had a studio and it was very modern and clean plus we had a nice view. The kitchen was modern and had all the equipment one would need. Very convienent washer and dryer as well.

We did however had some minor issues with this apartment:

1. the bed was placed in a very strange angle which made it impossible to watch tv from the bed. I know that this sound stupid, but we are the types that like to relax after a long day of tourist stuff by watching some tv from the bed and then fall a sleep.

2. The lights in the room were of the Chinese fastfood place at night type e.g. TL lights. Very clinical and not warm at all. The same lights are in the bathroom. First time i have seen these lights in a hotel or apartment. Reading some earlier reviews I am not the only one noticing. Also the bathroom is poorly lit. Also there is no lightswitch near the bedside, only at the front door.

3. Very unlogical bathroom as the floor outside the shower would get completely wet when showering and the main door openend to the inside smashing on to the bathroom shower door. the design of teh floor is not that good. Also there are cabinets behind the mirror and when you stand in front of the sink your view is blocked by the cabinetdoors as the close directly above the middle sink leaving an opening. you would then have to shift to the left but due to the poor lighting this was not nice.


4. not a lot of outlets and if you would need one you would have to shift around some furniture to access one.

All on all not major issues but combined enough to check if there is a room with another layout. Being 15.000 km from home some comfort levels are needed.

Next day there was a new lady at reception and she was very friendly. She did mention that the rooms ending in XX04 have these issues (mainly layout) and i was not the first to mention this. We could move into another studio with a different layout later that day. And so we did and the new studio was a bit smaller but very nice. Good layout, clean, bigger bathroom with good lighting and no water on the floor. Issue with outlets remained and in some parts also the chinese lights. However still an excellent room.

the location is in China / Thaitown area and is 5 min walk to Central station, easy bus access and a 30 min walk to Darling Harbour and the Quay area. It is a busy area especially during weekends

A lot of restaurants, and shops nearby so no issue here. Also for trips to Blue Mountains and Bondi we just took an early train because of close access to Central station.

Taxi's are direct in front of the Meriton so we simply took 1 back to the airport.

Would recommened this property overall.

Room Tip: do not take a room ending in 04
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Imro,

First of all thank you for writing such a detailed review. It is always a pleasure read about a guest’s experience of our property.

Overall it is very positive to read that you enjoyed your stay, found most staff to be friendly and attentive. We really do work hard at Meriton to be of service for our guests, so it is most encouraging to see that we were able to fulfill your customer service needs.

I love that you described our apartments to be modern, clean, and have a nice view! Convenience is something which is paramount to our target market, so it the fact you were able to make great use of the appliances during your stay is perfect.

It is disappointing to read that your first impressions were a little sour, but I am delighted that the rest of your stay was positive. Thank you for your feedback in regards to your arrival. I have spoken to the front desk team to ensure they are efficient and friendly throughout the check in process.

All of your comments about room design, especially in regard to the bathroom have been duly noted. We really value all of the points that were raised, and these will certainly be used in conjunction with future development within the Meriton brand.

Imro, thank you for your recommendations, and we look forward to having you back with us very soon.

Warm regards,

Kimberly R
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

These apartments are first class. The only downside was the reception staff we met 4 and 3 were not very pleasant. They weren't rude but every question was a chore to answer, and they made you feel as if you shouldn't be there. Having said all that the place is well worth visiting as the facilities location etc are great,

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Chris G,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review after your recent stay with us.

It is pleasing to read that you found our apartments to be first class and worth visiting, however it is disappointing to read your comments about the staff. These comments certainly do sound out of character as typically our guests consistently comment on the fantastic service provided by the front desk team. Please accept my sincerest apologies and I appreciate your feedback and have passed your comments onto the front desk team, to ensure that this does not occur in the future.

Chris G, thank you for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back to Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street in the future.

Warm Regards,

Amanda C
Acting Senior Manager on Duty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The apartments are nice and modern with all the services needed. But what really sets this place apart is its staff, from check in to check out they were extremely helpful and polite. They have great knowledge of the area and are an asset to the hotel. The apartment is well place for Darling Harbour, which is a short walk away, and is great for getting the free bus in to Circle Quay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonjon1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear jonjon1971,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay.

Our aim here at Meriton is to ensure our guests feel welcome and comfortable from the moment you walk into our lobby. It is wonderful that you were impressed with our front desk team, finding them extremely helpful and polite. It is feedback such as yours which is used as a motivating tool for our team who continually strive for customer service excellence. It is fantastic that you were able to experience staying in our nice and modern apartments.

jonjon1971, thank you again for your review, we look forward to hosting you on your next return to Sydney.

Warm Regards,

Amanda C
Acting Senior Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Once again Meriton on Campbell - you didn't let us down! Stunning check in - from another Meriton (world tower) early. We stay with these guys a lot and the room was immaculate as usual. Can't fault a single thing. The pool was great, the safe broken but all fixed right away. Looking forward to next time Meriton on Campbell!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vicbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear vicbrett,

Thank you for your five star review.

It is fantastic that you chose to stay with us again and you were not disappointed. I have passed your comments onto the team and they are thrilled that you had an excellent stay and could not find any faults.

vicbrett, thank you again for your review, we look forward to your next return to Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street.

Warm Regards,

Amanda C
Acting Senior Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Meriton Suites World Tower, Sydney
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 180 in Sydney
1,352 reviews
Meriton Suites Zetland
#11 of 180 in Sydney
3,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites

Address: 6 Campbell Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sydney
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#4 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £103 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the feeling of excitement take over as you make your grand entrance into our chic lobby. Be invited into luxury by our exceptional Guest Services staff, onsite 24 hours a day. Check into one of our 247 beautifully designed suites, spread across a remarkable 39 floors, which all feature spacious floor plans, sophisticated furnishings. Promising better value than a traditional hotel, our oversized Studio Suites, larger than the typical hotel room, offer a kitchenette and internal laundry facilities while our Modern Suites feature additional open plan living spaces to boast the extra comforts of home. Our Fortune Suites will give you the opportunity to unwind by watching the city life go by, from the higher floors of the hotel. Indulge in our exclusive spa and sauna facilities, or maintain your fitness with our fully-equipped fitness centre and heated indoor swimming pool. Situated amongst Chinatown, our guests can experience the Asian culture whilst in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Meriton Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing