We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standards Slipping Slightly But Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
Ranked #8 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Standards Slipping Slightly But Excellent”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Located within 5 minutes walking to Central Station metres from main drag George Street surrounded by Chinatowan and Koreatown this is great for those wanting more than a bed. Good living areas including kitchen and laundry and other in-room facilities makes for an easy stay. Lower floors can suffer from noise from outside so ask for floors above 10th (lobby is the SIXTH floor!).
Stayed here often and beginning to notice wear and tear and maintenance issues. Passage / entry lights not working on this stay.
If you can score a "special" rate this is excellent value for money in a great location within easy walking distance of anything worthwhile in the CBD / Darling Harbour area.
Good pool and gym facilities.
Beds a little too soft for me but huge pile of pillows provided.
Friendly and helpful reception staff.
Always a good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for room above 10th floor (reception / lobby is on 6th) and preferably away from street frontage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Ken G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

Meriton designs our apartments for comfort and living, with each apartment containing a fully equipped kitchen and laundry within each of our spacious apartments makes you feel at home while travelling away from home. It is wonderful that you have experienced staying with us and our convenient location.

We value all our guests’ feedback and use it a valuable tool to help improve on our image. Thank you for your comments about the lights in the passage way needing to be fixed. Your comments have been passed over to our maintenance department who have since fixed the lights that were not working.

Ken G, thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Warm Regards,

Amanda C
Acting Senior Manager on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,966
    1,229
    124
    32
    25
See reviews for
763
2,813
404
666
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I spent a night at these Meriton Apartments last weekend and were sorry our stay wasn't longer. We had booked a one-bedroom apartment and were given an upgrade to one with a study as well. It was huge and exceptionally clean and well equipped. The staff at check in were very polite and helpful - special thanks to Shawn who looked after us and gave us an additional hour's check out the next day.

We were in Sydney for the Film Festival, however if you were going to see the Lion King at the Capitol Theatre, it is just across the road. The apartments are also one block away from a larger shopping centre, with a Coles supermarket. There is a taxi rank immediately outside the apartments as well. As the location is Haymarket, there are many Asian restaurants nearby to tempt you.

Location for us was perfect, however you are still within an easy walk of Sydney city and its attractions.

Would highly recommend and we will definitely be choosing these apartments when next we are in Sydney - hopefully a little longer next time.

Thank you for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear DiR46,

Thank you for your five star review.

It is pleasing to read that you spent one night in our clean and spacious apartments and you were able to enjoy a complimentary upgrade during your stay. Our aim at Meriton is to provide our guests with first class service to ensure everyone has a comfortable stay. Comments such as yours motivate our team to continually strive for customer service excellence! I have personally passed on your feedback to the team with special mention to Shawn.

As you mentioned, being conveniently located within the CBD allows you to see and do something exciting each day whilst staying with us whether it is hoping on the free city shuttle bus 555 or dining out at the abundance of restaurants located close to our apartments. It is fabulous that you got to experience staying with us.

DiR46, thank you for your review and recommendation we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Amanda C
Acting Senior Manager on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

There is a reason why I always bring a bottle of rubbing alcohol with me every time I travel - housekeeping agents usually do not care about the cleanliness of the rooms they clean, but I'll get to this later.

Here's what I loved:

1. There are literally tons of great eating options within walking distance from the hotel starting with Chat Thai just two doors down.
2. Darling Harbour is 15 to 20 minutes away depending on how fast you walk.
3. The free shuttle bus (route 555) stops practically beside the hotel.
4. Free wifi.
5. World Square Shopping Center is at the next block and it has two supermarkets.
6. Capitol Theater is right across the street.

Here's what I didn't like:

1. Leftover poop on the toilet seat cover. I had never encountered this before in the other hotels we've stayed at.
2. Another first is the huge cockroach that greeted me on my second night at the Meriton. I didn't want to squish it because of the carpet, so I emptied a tissue box and trapped it with one of the hotel information cards. I then hurriedly brought it out to the balcony and left everything there.
3. The carpet (either in the room or the hallway) wasn't clean as every time I took a shower, the water beneath my rubber slippers turned black. I've never used my flip flops outside so I can't think of anything else to account for the dirt. This also hasn't happened before.
4. The soap rack in the shower had soap scum from previous guests.
5. Dust under the swivel TV mount and the window shades. It was so thick I wrote a note for the housekeeping agent and it never disappeared during the four nights we stayed there.

I told the duty manager about the toilet problem and he offered to let housekeeping go back and clean it. I declined by saying that since they couldn't get it right the first time, I'd rather do it myself. He also offered to give us late check-out, but I told him that we didn't need it as our flight was early in the morning.

Tip: Unless you want water dripping all over the place, bring your own soap dish because the one they have is a wire basket that's located on a ledge away from the sink.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ConstantPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Administration Coordinator at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear ConstantPlanner,

Thank you choosing to stay at Meriton Campbell Street and for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review us.

As you discovered, Meriton Campbell Street is in a key location at the Southern end of Sydney’s business district and the heart of the entertainment quarters. Positioned opposite the Capitol Theatre and just moments away from Chinatown, Paddy’s Markets, the Sydney Entertainment Centre, Central railway station, the University of Technology Sydney and Broadway makes our property your ideal base.

It is very disappointing to read your comments about our housekeeping and please accept my sincere apologies as this is certainly not acceptable for any reason. Our housekeeping team do work extremely hard to ensure our rooms are up to the highest of standards prior to check in, thus please be assured that relative management are aware of this and are investigating it further.

I understand our senior manager on duty is contacting you directly to discuss this further, thus we encourage your cooperation to ensure this does not occur again for any guests in the future.

ConstantPlanner, thank you very much for sharing your feedback and bringing your unfortunate situation to our attention. It is feedback like this that continuously allows us to improve on our products and services to be the number on leader in accommodation.

We look forward to hopefully accommodating you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Carol N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I had to spend a week in Sydney for a conference and I could not have wished for a more perfect base than here. So they are serviced apartments, so no concierge etc etc. The front counter staff were extremely helpful and could answer any question thrown at them. I had booked a studio and it was the biggest studio I had ever stayed in. It was fully self contained and had ample space., even the bathroom was a decent size. It was very clean and housekeeping did an awesome job every single day. There is an onsite Gym, Sauna, swimming pool and spa(cold not hot). The location is perfect and if you are a keen walker then its in walking distance to most attractions. I will be back again. My only gripe is that the spa is not heated, its cold and very cold at that.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank scooter2273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Administration Coordinator at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear scooter2273,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Meriton Campbell Street!

It always brings us great joy when we read of how well suited our spacious studios were to your travel needs. All our spacious and modern apartments at Meriton Campbell Street are self-contained and well equipped with kitchen and laundry amenities that provides our guests with the comfort of home when away on business.

Furthermore as you discovered we also offer pool, spa, sauna and gym facilities for any guest staying as well as complimentary 1GB of WIFI making it ideal for any type of traveller whether it be for business or leisure.

Located for convenience provides easy accessibility to major public transport options such as bus services, Central Railway station, ferries and taxis. As you mentioned, if guests prefer walking, there are plenty of attractions such as Chinatown, Darling Harbour, Hyde Park, IMAX theatre, the Capitol Theatre, and an abundance of cafes, restaurants and shopping outlets all within walking distance of our property.

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We very much look forward to your return.

Best Regards,
Carol N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had moved to the Meriton on Campbell after a conference stay at a luxury hotel... Well the Meriton team do it well. Bear in mind this is an apartment hotel, so no concierge, bell boys, onsite restaurants etc.
Our room was a studio. No not a pokey studio, it was spacious and had all we needed for a 2 night stay. Check in easy, and we were given the key card to a spotless, beautifully furnished well laid out room. Best thing was how quiet the corridors were once jnside the room. The pool was just up the corridor and was a goodsize.
We were greeted each day by the reception staff. In particular Anna who was on all weekend. She was an asset.Just off George St, the hotel is within a short walk of Chinatown and Darling Harbor. There is a free bus 555 which runs along George st to Circular Quay It stops a QV building for shopping in the Pitt St Mall area.
The other great thing is that it is in Thai Town. Great little local cafes around.
This is the 3rd Meriton we have stayed at. The standard and value for money would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helsie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Administration Coordinator at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear helsie57,

Wow five stars! Thank you for taking the time in writing us such an amazing review!

We are so pleased that you found our spacious studios convenient and useful to your needs! All of our comfortable, spacious and affordable apartments feature gourmet kitchens, internal laundries and modern bathrooms purely for your comfort.

As you discovered our location is fantastic being situated in the Southern end of Sydney with a vast variety of shopping outlets, restaurants and cafes right on our door step. If our guests are feeling a little more adventurous, exploring Sydney is very convenient with so many public transport options such as the ferry, multiple bus services and central train station just moments away.

We really appreciate your fantastic feedback about our product and our team specifically Anna, as it is feedback like this that motivates our team to aim for even higher performance.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back at any of our Meriton Serviced Apartments for your fourth stay!

Kind Regards,
Carol N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Relatively new apartment, big room, comfy bed and very clean. It is close to Thai town so there are plenty of restaurant to choose from.

Approximately 15 minutes walk to Westfield shopping centre in the city. Overall, very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Asoetanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Administration Coordinator at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Asoetanto,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

All of our modern, clean and self-contained apartments are designed purely for the comfort of our guests.

More so offering complimentary 1GB Wi-Fi per day as well as providing pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium facilities to all our guests is ideal for any traveller.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay at Meriton Campbell Street. We very much look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,
Carol N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We came for a show at the Capitol Theatre. This apartment complex is directly across the road from the theatre and within walking distance to dozens of restaurants. There is a free bus a few hundred metres from the apartment that takes you to Circular Quay to experience the harbour and its environs. You can be picked up from the apartment for airport transfers, or take the train from Central Station. Perfect for a quick weekend in Sydney or a longer stay as you can self cater in the apartment.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank RobynDavid14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSACampbellStreet, Administration Coordinator at Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear RobynDavid14,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and the Trip Advisor community.

We are thrilled that you found our location ideal to your needs. Being situated where we are means our guests can easily explore the city by walking or using the many public transport options nearby such as the free city bus shuttle down to Circular Quay and The Rocks, train stations, and other bus services to surrounding suburbs. Furthermore as you discovered we have an ample variety of restaurants, cafes and shopping outlets right outside our doors for your convenience.

Thank you once again for taking the time in reviewing your recent stay and we look forward to your return.

Warm Regards,
Carol N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Meriton Suites Zetland
#11 of 178 in Sydney
2,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments World Tower
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 178 in Sydney
5,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street

Property: Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
Address: 6 Campbell Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#1 Business Hotel in Sydney
#4 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#15 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the feeling of excitement and wonder take over as you approach our revolving doors and make your grand entrance into our chic and stylish lobby. Be invited into luxury by our professional porter assistance and a team of exceptional Guest Services staff. Check into one of our 247 beautifully designed suites, all of which feature spacious floor plans, sophisticated furnishings and modern facilities that will promise a comfortable stay in style. For the basic necessities, our Classic Studios offer plush king sized bedding, a kitchenette and internal laundry while our Modern Suites feature additional open plan living spaces to boast the extra comforts of a suite apartment. Our Fortune Suites will give you the opportunity to relax and unwind by watching the city life go peacefully by. Treat yourself to a relaxation session in our first class spa and sauna facilities or maintain your fitness regime with our fully-equipped fitness centre and 20 metre heated indoor lap pool. Soak your muscles in reinvigorating designer bathroom amenities and put your feet up to a daily serviced suite. Make the most of our complimentary Wi-Fi and keep connected from all areas of the hotel, including your suite. Situated amongst the vibrant atmosphere of Chinatown, our guests are able to experience the local Asian culture whilst staying in the heart of the city. Explore the delicious cuisines, markets and stalls found in the masses along the neighbourhood. Venture along the bustling streets to reach World Square Shopping Centre only a block away and find all the specialty retailers you can imagine at Pitt Street Mall only moments further. Our prime location in the heart of Sydney's entertainment precinct means our guests are spoilt with boundless entertainment options. Guests are able to cross the road and catch the latest live show in town at Sydney's Capitol Theatre or visit the IMAX theatre, home to the world's largest cinema screen. Discover something unique at Paddy's Market, located only moments away in Haymarket. At the markets, you'll find an array of fashion, accessories, homewares, souvenirs, fresh flowers and fresh produce from hundreds of stall holders all under the one roof. The market's fresh produce is the best place to purchase delicious fruit and vegetables, perfect to snack on whilst sightseeing in Sydney, or even take back some ingredients and cook up a storm in the luxury of your suite. See all the sights around Sydney, including Circular Quay, the historical Rocks area and Darling Harbour with our convenient location only minutes away from public transport. Central Railway station is also the main terminus for intercity lines, transporting our guests to Sydney's surrounds such as the magical Blue Mountains, the Central Coast and Newcastle as well as Bondi and the scenic South Coast. With top quality and better value, travellers will find ultimate luxury when they choose to stay at Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing