We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pizza in Sydney” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lucio Pizzeria

Lucio Pizzeria
Ranked #114 of 5,822 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$23
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Darlinghurst
Description: Lucio Pizzeria, founded and owned by Chef Lucio De Falco, brings the traditional taste of Naples to Sydney. We are a proud member of the AVPN.
Fortuna, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Sydney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We've visited here on previous visits to Sydney and the danger is that it won't be as good as you remember but it was, if anything better. You can really taste the fresh ingredients they use and the calamari is the best I've tasted. You can't book so in busy nights be prepared to wait, it is worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank senoranewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    65
    13
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian pizzas in Darlinghurst”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We ate in Lucio Pizzeria 2 weeks ago. We used an Entertainment Book voucher saving $40.

We hadn't made a booking but on a cold Monday night it was not an issue - even though there were 6 of us - though we did have a backup Italian nearby in case they were busy & there are plenty of small bars in the vicinity. While most of Lucio's is outdoors they have those plastic blinds & plenty of heaters so we were not cold.

Honestly I have to say they had absolutely fantastic authentic Italian pizzas .....supplemented with Italian wine in the $40-$50 bracket - no BYO allowed. Service was very attentive also!

Honest authentic Italian pizzas & we all really enjoyed the atmosphere....as they say its not where you are but who you are with!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bodmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Pizza made with the best ingredients and quality. You can really taste the difference. Delicious pizza but sometime the wait can be a bit long if it's busy.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Taz4183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

After some pizza disasters here in Sydney, Eating a good pizza was nice. Maybe the pizza menu should be increased and the atmosphere in the restaurant should be improved but my friends and I ate very well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jules H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“So overrated.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I don't like to write poor reviews, so usually will give a restaurant a second chance before I do. (unless it is particularly bad). The restaurant doesn't take bookings...... Big black mark .....they have rude staff, who tell you you have a 1 hour wait, when it was closer to 2 hours, with nowhere to wait but stand on the dirt or laneway. They stand over their patrons to make them eat and leave quickly. they pressure you to order dessert and coffee when you haven't even got your pizza yet. And all of that for average food. I was left wondering why this place is rated as best pizzeria. Def won't be going back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank princessbuttercup66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lucio Pizzeria also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Lucio Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing