We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant as always...”
Review of Ms G's

Ms G's
Ranked #76 of 5,943 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City East
Description: Modern, decidedly Asian and unlike anything you’ve ever experienced before, that’s Ms.G’s. Enter through a door bathed in pink neon to find four floors of unexpected dining; including a graffiti wall, communal tables and even a veggie garden courtyard. Join Executive Chef, Dan Hong, and Head Chef, Paul Donnelly, as they invent dish after mouth-watering dish. Then, explore the upstairs bar and indulge in kooky cocktails, wine, beer and sake.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Brilliant as always...”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is my 3rd visit to Ms G's - it is always amazing. We had a selection of different mains and entrees. I was disappointed as there were no longer Sunday banquent for 2 people and they removed the 'breakfast' dessert. Overall we always love going to Ms G's.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaSue77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    131
    31
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Probably one of the best meals I've ever eaten”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We went on a Saturday night fully expecting a wait for a table and when we arrived at 7pm, we were told that it would be about an hour and a half. The place was already heaving. We popped down the road for a drink first and then had a couple of cocktails upstairs in the bar at Ms G's - there are lots of amazing choices on offer and the music was absolutely awesome. Some great hip hop tunes from the 90s on offer! We decided not to have any entrees up in the bar (as there wasn't really anywhere to sit) but after we were seated, the food all came out really quickly.

We ordered the chicken katsu sliders - after the first bite, I knew that the food for the rest of the night was going to be absolutely amazing. We then had the corn on the cob (delicious) and then for our mains, we had the barramundi which had the nicest, crispiest skin I've had in a while, the lamb ribs which were out of this world (they tasted like they had been slow-cooked for hours) and the broccoli which was so hot and tasty as it came out, it was like heaven. After having the first round of sliders, we decided to be greedy and have the pork belly ones and while they were good, they just weren't as tasty as the chicken ones. We then ordered the Stoner's Delight because well, you're at Ms G's and that's what you have to do!

Our waitress was so lovely too - really friendly and made us think that all of our choices were the right ones. We were sitting in the front room next to a big party of about 20 people but I think this just added to the atmosphere of the night.

With a carafe of wine, we were both really surprised to only have paid $190 as we were expecting something around the $250 mark. We both thought this was really good value for all of the ridiculously tasty food that we had eaten, with some great service and lively atmosphere as well.

Don't be too uptight about the wait; this is a good restaurant and worth waiting for. Many places don't take reservations on a Saturday night so if you're going to queue, queue here!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silpa101283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Cool, bohemian bar and thai restaurant”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Interior is really cool and the food was fantastic. I ordered king prawns..yum.
The 'Aloe Vera' cocktail was fab.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gf0rce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great fusion Asian food in Potts Point”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Ms G's had a great vibe and really interesting food. The flavours were just a little different to the usual everyday Asian & was a real treat to eat!

You can't book, so I would suggest getting there early to avoid a queue! Good for smaller groups. They also do larger bookings apparently as a friend had a hens night there & said it was great.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ansavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Asian Fusion”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The food here is nice but fairly weird. came across as a asian X western fusion food. good food an great ambiance though. it's a must go if you are new to sydney.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kangrui h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ms G's also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Ms G's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing