We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best city tour we have ever experienced!”

My Detour™ - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$191.80*
and up
Private Tour: See Sydney Like a Local
Ranked #91 of 339 Tours in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Type: City Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our Detours. Sharing Sydney’s untold stories. Since launching in 2008 with little more than a 1964 vintage Holden, our approach to tourism has always been offbeat. Today, as a family-run cultural tourism enterprise, we pride ourselves in offering authentic, thrilling and intimate insights into the city we love and call home. We want you to become a local in a day! With a Detour for everyone, we draw on imagination and community to weave captivating narratives and unforgettable experiences. Join us today and gain exclusive access to our local network of indigenous elders, contemporary artists, iconic buildings, world-class museums, rare artefacts and so much more. It’s time to come with us on the adventure of a lifetime! Berangere & Richard Graham Founders/Tour Guide Extraordinaires
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best city tour we have ever experienced!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We spent three hours with Richard exploring Sydney - the city, the beaches and the bush. It was an absolutely fantastic experience... a must do for anyone wishing to get to know Sydney. A little history, a little philosophy, a number of beautiful vistas, and a lot of great conversation. We could have talked to Richard all weekend. We wish we had taken the full-day tour. One of our best city tours ever.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Owner at My Detour™ - Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 October 2015
Wow! What a review! Thank you so much! Since your visit I have been playing multiple games of hide and seek for the car keys to our vintage vehicle! Our little girl, Eleanor, likes to hide them! I look forward to welcoming you back again soon and continuing the conversation! Best wishes from Sydney, Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HIGHLY recommended!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I REALLY enjoyed My Walking Detour! Bérangère, our guide, took us to such beautiful hidden treasures in Sydney that i have never been before and i'm a local! The views were incredible, her home-made Muesli bars were to die for, and i highly recommend this tour for not just tourists but locals. It was great to have such an intimate and relaxing get away for a day! Thank you so much!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank herdaisychain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Owner at My Detour™ - Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 October 2015
Hi there Elise,
A short note to thank you for your review. I still have many fond memories from the day and share them with Richard often. Thanks for sharing your day with us! It is wonderful that we are able to explore our wonderful harbour with guests and locals! Warm Wishes, Bérangère
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A local's walking view of the city!”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Our host Bérangère was so knowledgable, and catered her commentary to our interests. She planned a great day combining nature, light exercise, city history, and most importantly, good food. I'd recommend this tour to any of my friends visiting Sydney.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley H G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Owner at My Detour™ - Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 October 2015
Hi Ashley, thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure spending the time with you during your Sydney visit. We hope next time you visit you’ll also get to meet our baby girl Eleanor – she’s kept us busy recently hence our delay in getting back to you! Best wishes, Bérangère
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My first detour experience”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

(Sorry for my late review.)

This was actually my first detour experience. I happen to find it when I felt like to do some hiking around some area I haven't been in Sydney. I was so lucky that the day I booked had no other guest. But the host Berangere still did the tour for me. Berangere was a very sweet and kind lady who made my trip a lot of fun. She made very delicious energy desert for every guest, which was nicely wrapped like a delicate gift.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TulipeLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Owner at My Detour™ - Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 October 2015
Hello again! Thank you so much for your My Walking Detour review! I trust that you still have fond memories of your day! Since your visit to Sydney Richard & I have welcomed little Eleanor into our lives. She has kept us busy! Be sure to come back and visit us – perhaps Eleanor may be your next guide!
Warm Regards, Bérangère
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Brilliant and away from the norm”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

This walk was arranged at the last minute to do something different to the norm. We were met at Circular Quay by a French speaking young lass and thought that this will be interesting. Berangere was full of information that would most probably make the most hardened local wonder how she new all this. The guided walk was great even if you are not real fit. The healthy home made bars she gave us to eat part way through the tour were absolutely brilliant. The maximum on the tour is 8 people and there was only 4 of us. Lunch was at Doyle's on the wharf. Do yourself a favour and do this tour. check out www.mywalkingdetour.com you will not be disappointed

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Owner at My Detour™ - Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 October 2015
Dear Ian,
A short note to thank you for taking the time to write your review on your My Walking Detour. It was a delight that you enjoyed the experience and muesli bars (which I'm still making!). I hope next time you visit you’ll also get to meet our baby girl Eleanor – she’s kept us busy recently hence our delay in getting back to you! Regards, Bérangère
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed My Detour™ - Day Tours also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to My Detour™ - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing