We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent stay”
Review of The Darling

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Darling
Ranked #6 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Recent stay”
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed for 2 nights in one of the suites, very cool room finishes, superb concierge and great location. Was let down though by the door to the walk-in wardrobe being on the wrong side so you couldn't really get in and 3-star front counter service (usually only one person on and not very helpful/experienced - not what you expect for 650/night).

Concierge was excellent - nothing was a problem, very friendly and professional - well done.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    157
    47
    10
    19
See reviews for
58
446
45
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

The Darling is fabulously stylish with very attractive helpful staff. Great location on the harbour, it really is almost perfect... The only thing I didn't enjoy was breakfast in the Garden Buffet, it's like a canteen! Not what I expected of a 5 star hotel. I don't know why it's called the Garden, there is no view. I would recommend taking breakfast at one of the many places at the Harbour, much nicer.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayplanner027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

we booked the jewel suite and received an upgrade to the stellar suite. it was out anniversary and so perfect and beautiful that we never wanted to leave. the entire establishment was modern, classy and elegant. staff were all friendly and polite. i can't wait to go back - the darling makes me proud to be a sydney-sider.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nabila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Having stayed at a few city based hotels around the world, I can say that The Darling is up there with the very best,
My stay from the extremely efficient and friendly staff when booking in, to the stunning rooms, the detail such as Adriano Zumbo macarons on the bed in the evening, molton brown bathroom goodies, smart tv, mood lighting......everything you would desire in a chic hotel room was there for you...and more !
Very impressive rooms, an outside pool worthy of being called a pool as you can actually swim in it, a great gym.......superb location......
I think I may be running out of superlatives...

But to everyone associated with the Hotel, can I just say thank you and well done, I look forward to another trip there in the not too distant future.....

Room Tip: if you can get an upgrade to a suite, they are fantastic....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Friendly staff of The Darling greet you when you walk into the foyer and you feel an element of designer chic appeal... but once you recieve your key and open the door to your room/suite it's a whole other feeling. You turn the key, the lights turn on to reveal mood lighting with the ceiling high curtains opening up to your view of Sydney, while your tv welcomes you personally with options to control the rooms composition.... and thats just after you've put the key in and taken a step into the door. AMAZING! The directional furniture and style of the rooms interior are like you're on the set of Vogue Living and the bath products, purple and camel robes and thick bath slippers get you ready for relaxation, especially after your vichy shower experience. The best moment comes when you lie in the most comfortable bed and pillows you have ever experienced in your life... and dont forget that you can design how you want to wake up all through your tv... windows to open at 6am with specific lights coming on over a 10 second time period and the tv turning on at the same time to reveal your morning news program... no worries!!! This is Luxury, and with Adriano Zumbo's dessert station open late (that's right like a sushi station but with dessert) and the 24 hour casino with boutique shops like chanel and gstar and delicious restaurants at your door step, I cant think of anywhere else in Sydney to stay! I had an amazing stay! xx

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDreamKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
477 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Fabulous bed and so quiet.... Usually hotal rooms have some sort of white noise from air conditioning or the mini bar... Our room was silent. Price for weekend stay pricey... Better value during the week. Really nice to pair a stay here with going to a show at the Lyric followed by dessert at Adrian Zumbo's.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linbinpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

I came here to escape life for a few nights, it did the trick perfectly! From greeting me by name as I arrived to being able to control most things in the room from my bed, my stay was wonderful.
Room is tastefully designed and decorated, nice touch including indigenous art into the rooms. It was clean, bed was comfortable, I love the bench seat and table at the end of my bed.
The service was fast, professional. Room service was very pricey for what I got, so just pop downstairs to the food court...or book in to one of the lovely restaurants.
The view wasn't amazing, but I still enjoyed what I could see.
I love jumping on the ferry to head across to the Harbour.
The lobby was amazing, I sat there a few times for rest between adventures. Fantastic furnishings.
Do yourself a favor and just stay here, stop looking for the best hotels and just book this one!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kello4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
The Langham, Sydney
#7 of 177 in Sydney
1,725 reviews
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 177 in Sydney
2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 177 in Sydney
1,172 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darling

Property: The Darling
Address: Star City Casino Entertainment 80 Pyrmont St | The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Darling 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Darling. 171 rooms and views from the Sydney Harbour to the Blue Mountains, Sydney's most lovingly detailed hotel is now open at The Star.***Named one of the Top 60 Best New Hotels in the World by Condé Nast Traveller*******Winner of Best New Hotel Construction and Design 2012 at the Asia-Pacific International Hotel Awards***DISTINCTIVELY DARLING FEATURESFloor-to-Ceiling GlassOur rooms feature floor-to-ceiling glass and windows that open to showcase what are possibly the best views in Sydney.The Darling BedOnce you've slept on a Darling bed, you'll be reluctant to leave it. Every one features a customised 1000 spring mattress, 400 thread count 100% Egyptian cotton bed linen and a goose down comforter. A menu of 12 luxury pillows is offered for your comfort.Molton Brown ProductsEvery bathroom contains a range of Molton Brown products, exclusive in Australian hotels, to The Darling.Rain ShowerheadsEvery bathroom comes with a relaxing rain showerhead and a European wand.Control Four Integrated SystemComplete control is at your fingertips. One touch of a button and you can do anything - from lower your blinds to adjust the air temperature.EXPERIENCE THE SPA AT THE DARLING Our spa has 16 private rooms - including an intimate couples suite - and every one of them is devoted to making you look incredible, and feel even better.We offer signature Asian and European treatments, a hamam and a level of pampering that is unparalleled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Prestigia, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Darling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing