We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury”
Review of The Darling

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Darling
Ranked #5 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Exmouth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxury”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

First time in Sydney was complimented by the wonderful staff at The Darling. The Concierges were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The rooms were luxurious and the showers were like waterfalls. Loved our stay at this glorious hotel and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: I booked a room as a surprise for my niece who had just got engaged and they upgraded it to a King S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    155
    46
    10
    19
See reviews for
58
442
44
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The Darling is located within the star casino precinct. The hotel is modern chic as with the rooms. The decor is a pale purple which adds a different dimension than the usual white sheets. An espresso machine is located in the room as with a large LCD TV. The rain shower is perfect though the lighting in the bathroom is a little dull when putting on makeup. The bed is exceptional - soft and very comfortable. One of the best nights sleep I've had in a hotel room. Staff are attentive. The location of the Darling is within walking distance to Darling Harbour and the city. Do not waste your money at the Garden Buffet. It is appalling. The food is tasteless. Eat in the food court where it is fresh and made to order and certainly a lot cheaper than the terrible buffet. Overall the hotel is classy and a must. The casino is a hit or miss location though the restaurants - BLACK or Sokyo are exceptional choices for dinner. A must.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KADenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Star_Management, Manager at The Darling, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi Kylee D

Many thanks for sharing feedback following your stay. It was lovely to hear that your stay was enjoyable and you enjoyed the small touches that make our property unique to other five star hotels.

It was however disappointing to hear about your experience at Garden Buffet in the nearby casino complex. Please be assured your feedback has been passed on to the culinary team. Room service is also available for breakfast in The Darling, which offers a lovely A La carte alternative.

Please do not hesitate to contact me on jayson.coker@echoent.com.au directly should you wish to discuss your stay.


Jayson Coker

Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Love this place. Its one of those hotels that you just want to go back to over and over again. The decor is just so modern and bright and beautiful. It makes you happy just to sit in your room and look around. Art is everywhere here. Big comfy beds. The bathrooms are all shiny and new and they have fantastic Molten Brown products for you to use for free!!! The pool is outside which is beautiful in the summertime but not so good in the chillier months. Located right at the casino if you feel like a flutter.

I had to conduct some job interviews in Sydney and needed a place to do it. The staff happily opened one of the closed lobby bar area's just for me so that I could have some privacy and quite whilst doing my interviews. No charge. Happy to help. WONDERFUL!!

Book and enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iSparkle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Star_Management, Manager at The Darling, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear iSparkle81,

Thank you for the lovely comments following your stay at The Darling. We particularly enjoyed reading about how the Darlings assisted you with a space to work in. Five star service is all about detail and we always want our guests to feel WONDERFUL.

We are glad you noticed all the little details that make us unique. Next time you must check out our spa on level two. Equipped with 16 treatment rooms, it is simply divine.

Until We Meet Again

Dx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Here for a city wedding and stayed st The Darling. Service was great and the amenities of Molton Brown were lovely.
Beware of the mini bar prices though! Can of half soft drink was $4.50 and I didn't even touch the chips and nuts.
Great to spoil yourself though!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AhBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Star_Management, Manager at The Darling, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear BeaDa,

We are all glad to hear you enjoyed your Darling stay. Lovely to hear you mention our amenities also, they are very indulgent.

For future stays may we recommend dinner or drinks in our modern Japanese restaurant Sokyo? It is extremely popular with Sydneysiders.

Until We Meet Again

Dx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The Darling is by far one of the best in Sydney.

The service is spectacular - for example I requested a microwave (last minute) to heat my sons dinner/bottles etc and this was I the room waiting when we arrived.

The breakfast is great and the restaurants sensational!

We will keep coming back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Star_Management, Manager at The Darling, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear WillP81,

Thank you so much for the Five star review following your stay!

We are always trying to better our service to create spectacular stays. It was great to read how the Darlings looked after you.

Until We Meet Again

Dx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed overnight with my partner for his birthday celebration. The hotel provided a champaign to celebrate his birthday.

The services is great and one of the best hotel to go around Sydney tourist attraction.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrevelPlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Star_Management, Manager at The Darling, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi TrevelPlan,

Many thanks for your review in regards to your recent stay.

We hope you had a great birthday and thanks for choosing to celebrate with us here at The Darling. Trust you enjoyed the bubbles!

Until We Meet Again

Dx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shellharbour
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Very modern and luxurious hotel, exceptionally friendly and accommodating staff and super modern room, Nespresso coffee machine is a nice touch that I have only seen in 5 star Dubai hotels, Astral Tower rooms look very dated in comparison, highly recommended, will stay here again definitely.

Room Tip: Higher you go the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimbaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Star_Management, Manager at The Darling, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi KimbaAustralia,

We were glad to read you enjoyed your stay and that the modern ambiance appealed to you. Thank you for acknowledging our staff who try so hard to make an impression on our guests.

We continuously strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and have scheduled plans for an exciting refurbishment of the Astral Tower and Residences commencing in the next few months.

Until We Meet Again

Dx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darling

Property: The Darling
Address: Star City Casino Entertainment 80 Pyrmont St | The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Darling 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Darling. 171 rooms and views from the Sydney Harbour to the Blue Mountains, Sydney's most lovingly detailed hotel is now open at The Star.***Named one of the Top 60 Best New Hotels in the World by Condé Nast Traveller*******Winner of Best New Hotel Construction and Design 2012 at the Asia-Pacific International Hotel Awards***DISTINCTIVELY DARLING FEATURESFloor-to-Ceiling GlassOur rooms feature floor-to-ceiling glass and windows that open to showcase what are possibly the best views in Sydney.The Darling BedOnce you've slept on a Darling bed, you'll be reluctant to leave it. Every one features a customised 1000 spring mattress, 400 thread count 100% Egyptian cotton bed linen and a goose down comforter. A menu of 12 luxury pillows is offered for your comfort.Molton Brown ProductsEvery bathroom contains a range of Molton Brown products, exclusive in Australian hotels, to The Darling.Rain ShowerheadsEvery bathroom comes with a relaxing rain showerhead and a European wand.Control Four Integrated SystemComplete control is at your fingertips. One touch of a button and you can do anything - from lower your blinds to adjust the air temperature.EXPERIENCE THE SPA AT THE DARLING Our spa has 16 private rooms - including an intimate couples suite - and every one of them is devoted to making you look incredible, and feel even better.We offer signature Asian and European treatments, a hamam and a level of pampering that is unparalleled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Travelbag, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Darling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing