We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Paju BBQ - CLOSED

Paju BBQ
Cuisines: Barbecue, Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Newtown
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

I have been to Paju 3 times now and have always enjoyed the food, Value for money, the quantity per service is always plentiful and we can never finish off the meals, everything looks good and its fun for the kids to cook the food, Paju has a bar and is BYO which is fantastic, my only real advice is check your BILL, All 3 times we have been they have incorrectly charge either for Corkage (instead of corkage for 3 was charged for 12) or the meal, staff a happy to fix the incorrect charges, just keep an eye out..

staff are always friendly

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Micheal1788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cronulla, Australia
Level Contributor
382 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
“Newtown try something different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Loved this restaurant in Newtown my daughters took me here for a birthday treat and it certainly was unusual.

We always try to come up with new ideas and restaurants for each others birthdays
In this restaurant you can cook your own meats and prawns it was fun and there was plenty to eat

The meats we chose were chicken, beef and some prawns after selecting from the menu it all arrives on a tray-mobile along with a small gas cooker, 3 or four different sauces for dipping and side salads crisp and fresh with salad dressing

we decided to ask for some scissors to cut the meat smaller so it would cook quicker
Everything was juicy, tender, and good quality

The restaurant is upstairs from the main street in Newtown

Staff were very nice nothing too much trouble

If you are looking for something different, try this place it is well worth it
there is also a menu with ready cooked meals if you prefer to not cook your own

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sassafraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Finally Korean BBQ in Newtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

Just a very short comment, they are apparently new and I was not even sure they were there because there were hardly any reviews... So, yes the place does exist and does a very decent Korean BBQ! Definitely good enough to keep us in Newtown instead of going to the CBD if the Korean BBQ hunger strikes. Prices are moderate to expensive. It is a large upstairs room, which is a bit to hall-like for me taste. Staff is usually nice. Good, not great (hence 4 stars).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank schlgwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“K BBQ in Newtown”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is probably my 3rd or 4th time at a Koran BBQ joint in Sydney and it wasn't too bad, with three friends and a bottle of shared shoju we polished a bbq set for around $86 total. A nice touch was that you got a side of salad refills with your meat plate and the usual little assorted condiments. I recommend the pork or beef ribs, the marinade on those were really deliciious!

The amount of meat received was well portioned and not stingy as opposed to other joints.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Koean Food outside Korea!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Paju is relatively new in Newtown and you have to climb a flight of stairs to get to it. It's worth the effort! We had a feast of wonderful food that made me think I was back in Seoul or Busan. Warning my local friends about Kim Chi and the spicier dishes didn't deter them and thay loved it, too.
Friendly staff, great food, excellent value!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marco_Publico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paju BBQ also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing