We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and Great Service”

Bona Fides Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #456 of 5,900 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing food and Great Service”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Went for dinner on Saturday with my wife. This restaurant is on Druitt Street which is very easy to find from town hall (sydney) station. Its a small and boutique style restaurant. Waitress named Amy was outstanding she made our experience at this restaurant unforgettable (one of the best waitress i have come across). food was delicious had bruschetta and prawns for entree it was just amazing. mains we had chicken risotto and steak. everything was just perfect. only thing i felt kitchen staff was trying to push the meals out very fast to patrons which make you feel bit uncomfortable. restaurant size is small so table setting are quite close to other table. overall food and service wise this place gets 5 stars.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tygr22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    71
    18
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A friendly welcome and a lovely dinner”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I had such a lovely dinner at Bona Fides. It has such a lovely, warm atmosphere and we were so pleased that we ventured in. Our meals were absolutely beautiful and such good value for money. We had the calamari and bruschetta for entrees and then steak for our mains. We could not fault a thing! The staff were so friendly and attentive and we didn't have to wait long for our food. We were so impressed. We'll definitely be back!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catesbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small but welcoming. Good food”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Had family dinner here a couple of weeks back. Good selection of entrees and mains on the menu. The food was above average relative to other small restaurants. The Cudo voucher makes it value for money. Small area with tables close to each other. Friendly service though a little rushed. The staff could hardly hear us as it was quite noisy with all the tables occupied and a large group across a few tables.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 11ALpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Excellent food with lovely atmosphere and good service”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Enjoyed a lovely meal with my partner in this city café close to the QVB. I had the duck for entrée. Really delicious in a sweet but light syrupy glaze. I highly recommend this dish. My partner had the seafood chowder which was creamy and flavoursome. I had the prawn linguine for main. It was very tasty with a slight hint of chilli and the pasta was absolutely delicious. Cooked to perfection. My partner said he thoroughly enjoyed the risotto. I will definitely go back to this café. The waitress was friendly and attentive as well. Lovely relaxed ambiance for a tiny café.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forster, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant, second visit”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Second visit just beautiful fresh food took 6 people this time with a voucher and all were impressed and will be back again, voucher great value

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julesmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bona Fides Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Bona Fides Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing