We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Newtown Darlington Suites
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Sydney
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hotel(Sydney)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Glebe Space(Sydney)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Forest Lodge(Sydney)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
21
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Golden Grove was a delight to stay at. Lloyd was most helpful in showing me around town and pointing out restaurants nearby and places of interest. I had just flown in from the USA and this was the perfect place to relax and recover in - a home away from home! This is not just a bedroom but an entire apartment! One could definitely spend a week or two at Golden Grove while exploring Sydney. King Street is a short walk away and has lots of restaurants to eat at. Public transportation also runs there regularly so it's easy to get out and about. If I ever visit Sydney again I would certainly want to stay at the Golden Grove B & B again! Thank you Lloyd!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We have just returned from a fifteen night stay at the Golden Grove B+B, as we were staying for that amount of time Lloyd picked us up from the airport and took us back.
Lloyds attention to detail is excellent and made us very welcome as soon as we were picked up, on the way back from the airport he drove us through Newtown showing us all the eateries and supermarkets and banks.
The flat we had was the downstairs one so we had the advantage of parking and somewhere to sit as the weather has been unseasonably warm, getting the hire car into to parking area was a bit hairy but to be fair I was upgraded with the hire car but a small hatch back would not be a problem.
The position of the property is perfect for central Sydney, we even walked in to the centre to collect the hire car approx 2km, there is a bus stop at the top of the road or Macdonaldtown station is a short walk, we started to use Redfern which is just slightly longer but a nice flat walk.
The kitchen contains everything you need for self catering, I even cooked a roast dinner ! all in all I would recommend the Golden Grove to anybody staying in Sydney well done Lloyd !!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kirkyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Golden Grove has a 'wow' factor that makes it incredible value and a definite repeat destination. Lovely interiors, original artworks, all mod-cons, ample breakfast provisions and a 2-minute walk to funky King Street yet super-quiet - a winning combination! Lloyd is the perfect host and has put a lot of thought into creating a uniquely welcoming space for his guests.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeeAK73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

A wonderful Oasis in the middle of inner city Sydney. Great for couples and just manages to comfortably house a couple with additional friend :-) Loved the close proximity to Newtown and Enmore theatre. Will definitely be staying in this wonderful and convenient little hide away again. Thank you also to Lloyd for being a very welcoming and helpful host.

Room Tip: Ground floor apartment had the lovely grassed courtyard, was beautiful to have an outside space :-)
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloyd S, Owner at Newtown Darlington Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Hi Sonja, Thanks so much for taking the time to review our place. I'll try to get our message through to other folks taking in shows at the Enmore, Best regards, Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Coming from quiet little Cairns going to the 'Big Smoke' can be daunting but Lloyd and his little tranquil haven- Golden Grove- made it a breeze. A delightful, well appointed place to stay and all the creature comforts. If we need to meander down to Sydney again we have the peace of mind knowing airport pick ups and accomm. is sorted!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloyd S, Owner at Newtown Darlington Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Hi Jennifer,
Thanks for taking the time to review our place. I am really glad our accommodation worked for you and Helen in relation to your visit to the Australian Technology Park. I'll try to get our message to other conference attendees at the Park. Hoping we may see you again some time, Best regards,
Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews