We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Ranked #45 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Hotel is in a fantastic location just a short stroll from the harbour bridge and opera house. Room was very light and spacious with everything you could need. Beds were extremely comfortable. Had views over the city. Only crticism is the bathroom was a little dated and could do with a facelift but that really is being hyper critical. Foyer and bar area was nice and a great meeting point. The highlight of this hotel is the rooftop terrace complete with pool and stunning views over the harbour and the opera house. Excellent location - would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIOldSydney, Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear Gemma W,

I appreciate your valuable comments from your stay here at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the fantastic view from our hotel rooftop and that you were able to visit some of Sydney's famous attractions. We look forward to your return stay with the hotel.

Regards,
Mariusz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    734
    1,120
    361
    89
    40
See reviews for
551
1,074
133
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
des moines, iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I stayed here for five nights in July 2011. Th e location is wonderful, easy to get to places, great pubs and restaurants around. The staf was incredibly helpful: told us about the free hop on bus,made recommendations for dining and shopping,helped with printing out boarding passes.
I loved it.
Would stay again . Room was medium sized, clean had coffee and tea facilities in the room One day after lots of walking, I used the spa on the roof. Great for my back and the view was delightful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beatraveler51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIOldSydney, Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear beatraveler51,

Thank you for your positive comments from your stay in July 2011. Our staff pride themselves on their service and it is great to hear you received incredible service. Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney and we look forward to your return stay.

Regards,
Mariusz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Just returned from a trip to Australia and would reccommend the Old Sydney Holiday Inn.
The rooms were comfortable but the location at the Rocks was ideal. Right by the Bridge and Circular Quay. Great views from the hotel roof.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIOldSydney, Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear TF3,

Thank you for your comments from your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that the accommodation rooms were comfortable and the location suited your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Mariusz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
440 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I had read some of the reviews about this hotel and was somewhat worried about making a booking. However, nearly all of them turned out to be unfounded.
The location of the hotel cannot be faulted. You are in the beautiful area of The Rocks (the oldest part of Sydney) so you can explore the alleyways full of eateries and shops, plus there is the excellent market on Saturday's and Sunday's. Circular Quay for the ferries, buses and trains is less than 5 minutes walk away.
Our room was adequately sized plus they have been recently refurbished. While we were there, you could see other rooms being re-carpeted and worked on, so things are improving at this hotel. The open central atrium did not create a problem for us with hearing doors close or noisy kids. The buffet breakfast was very good, the in room TV's were huge, storage was good, and the views from the roof of the Opera House and Harbour Bridge are spectacular.
Now for the faults. The swimming pool is small and only suitable for 'a dip' and not lengths. The bathroom was compact and the quality of tiling in our room was dubious. The aircon was ridiculously noisy and fortunately Sydney was cool enough in August that we could leave it off.
However, the biggest problem we had was external noise, hence you need your earplus. We stayed 3 nights (Sat, Sun & Mon) and was on the 4th floor. On the Saturday night the bar across the alley was very noisy through to 2am. Fortunately there was no noise from the bar on Sunday and Monday night. But if you are staying a weekend, bring your earplugs.
One other complaint:- the bed was very hard!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Superpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIOldSydney, Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Dear Superpear,

Thank you for your comments and choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney. The hotel is centrally located and is within walking distance to some great restaurants and attractions. I appreciate your comments on the noise of the air conditioning in your room which has been passed on to our maintenance team. Once again, thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney adn we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Mariusz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed here for four nights at the start of our Australia trip. The best thing about this hotel is its location. Old Sydney has some excellent restaurants and many of the City's attractions are within walking distance. Circular quay is 2 minutes walk, the bridghe 5 minutes the opera house and botanic gardens 10 - 15 minutes. The hotel itself is standard holiday inn, well laid out, clean and comfortable. We only used the restaurant for breakfasts which were very good. The staff were all helpful and friendly. A great City break can be had from here as a base. We enjoyed relaxing on the roof top but as this was Aussie winter the pool was too cold to risk! The views from here are good too.

Room Tip: Try for a corner or front facing room for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ke1thred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIOldSydney, Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Dear Ke1thred,

Thank you for your positive comments from your recent stay. The Holiday Inn Old Sydney is located in the heart of Sydney near attractions such as the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Mariusz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I stayed briefly at this hotel whilst attending a wedding in Sydney with my daughter and 2 week old grand daughter. The hotel was very handy (walking distance) to "The Garrison Church" where the wedding was held and followed by the Reception (walking distance again) at "The Waterfront" restaurant.
The hotel itself is clean and tidy, the room that we had was on the 3rd floor so the view was looking between 2 buildings towards the water, smallish in size but serviceable for what we required. The furnishings in the room are modern, the bathrooms are showing a little wear and tear now but still very nice - all white, the baths could be replaced as they have lost all their shiny enamel from them. The room contained a fridge, electric kettle, 2 coffee mugs, 2 teaspoons, 2 wine glasses, 2 drinking glasses, various tea and coffee condiments but only 1 packet of biscuits containing 2 cookies) Come on Holiday Inn, if the room caters for 2 guests provide 2 packets of biscuits - a little stingy I thought.
The walls are thin in the rooms as we could hear the people in the next room talking and laughing.
Also I would like to point out to management was we received a knock at the door in the afternoon from one of your staff wishing us a welcome to the hotel and a Happy Birthday greeting. Wrong room, wrong person, she had been instructed that a Mr Hogwart was staying in our room (was someone from Harry Potter visiting). Your staff member did apologise and was very embarrassed by it all, and needed to check with services to find the true Mr Hogwart. He was not traveling with us I can tell you that.
The main foyer (atrium) is very light with plenty of lounges in pocket areas around to sit on and a lovely fireplace area that was very popular to sit by. Please remove the fake library books from the foyer area they look very tacky. All of the rooms open from this main atrium so it looks like verandahs on the inside looking down.
When my daughter made the initial booking through the hotel she did advise reservations that she was traveling with a 2 week old infant but unfortunately we were given a corner room that required getting up and down 6-8 stairs; very impracticable when you have a pram which is kind of necessary with a 2 week old infant.
Checking in to this hotel if you arrive by car is difficult as they only have 2 x 15min parking bays at the front. And if these 2 spots are taken good luck with checking in. Parking was another issue we were advised to arrive early to secure parking space at the hotel and were advised at the time of booking that as long as we arrived by 2pm we should be able to secure a spot. We arrived early at 1pm and parking was all booked out. We were given a map of the closest Wilson parking station which was around a 200m walk from the hotel at a reduced overnight rate of $25. Inconvenient when you are traveling with an infant and so you could not come and go to your vehicle with ease.
All staff at Reception were friendly and courteous.
I did not eat breakfast here so cannot comment on that experience, nor did I visit the pool area.
The hotel is handy to the Rocks area, but advised don't bring your vehicle to this hotel especially if you need to use it during your stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 84Cedarhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
197 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The staff were fantastic and were very accomodating to my many demands. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom needs renovating.

The views from the roof are outstanding. This is a great hotel for anyone wanting to experience The Rocks and old Sydney.

The large choice of restaurants within walking distance made up for the lack of one in the hotel iteslf. Breakfast was very good. Friday and Saturday nights in The Rocks is very crowded and noisy. The rest of the time is it relitively quiete for a city location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIOldSydney, Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Dear Wolin,

I appreciate your valuable comments from your stay here at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney. The staff here at the hotel are always helpful and accommodating and I am glad that you enjoyed their service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Old Sydney.

Regards,
Mariusz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#37 of 178 in Sydney
904 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
1,271 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 178 in Sydney
4,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Property: Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#43 Family Hotel in Sydney
#43 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing